Pineville Louisiana Online Driver Education and Pineville Louisiana Licensing Procedures
Congratulations on starting the process of applying for your Pineville Louisiana learner's permit or first Pineville Louisiana driver license. Pineville Louisiana has a Graduated Driver License Program for Pineville Louisiana teen drivers, and there are a few things to keep in mind to make sure that applying for your Pineville Louisiana driving license goes as smoothly as possible. So let's get started.
Pineville Louisiana Instructional Permit or Pineville Louisiana Learner Permit
When you're 15-16, you can apply for a Class E Pineville Louisiana Learner's Permit. You'll need to make an appointment at your local Pineville Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) and bring the following:
At your local Pineville Louisiana OMV, you'll take these materials and then have to pass a Pineville Louisiana written exam, a vision screening, and a traffic signs test. If you survived, then congratulations! You just earned your Pineville Louisiana learner's permit. Remember that with your Pineville Louisiana learner's permit, you can only practice driving with another licensed driver over 21 or a licensed sibling who is at least 18. After you've had your Pineville Louisiana learner permit for 180 days, you'll be ready to apply for your Pineville Louisiana intermediate driver's license.
Your Pineville Louisiana Intermediate Driver's License
In order to apply for your Pineville Louisiana intermediate driver's license, you'll need to make sure you follow a few Pineville Louisiana State requirements before heading down to your local Pineville Louisiana OMV.
- Have your Pineville Louisiana learner's permit in good standing for 180 days
- Bring the proper identification
- Don't forget proof of insurance for your vehicle
- Remember that your vehicle inspection sticker, license plates, and registration need to be up-to-date
- The road test fee (which varies depending on your local OMV)
If you pass the dreaded road exam, then congratulations again. You've just earned your Pineville Louisiana intermediate driver license! However, you'll still have to drive with a few restrictions until you've held your Pineville Louisiana intermediate driver's license for another 180 days in good standing.
Once you turn 17, you can return to your local Pineville Louisiana OMV, bringing all of your documentation, and apply for your Pineville Louisiana full license!
Pineville Louisiana Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
There are also several restrictions you need to keep in mind regarding your Pineville Louisiana learner's permit:
- You can drive only with a licensed parent/guardian or adult over 21
- You are also allowed to drive with a licensed sibling over 18
- You can only take family members in your car unless your passenger is a driver education teacher
There are also several restrictions you need to keep in mind regarding your Pineville Louisiana intermediate driver's license:
- You can't drive from 11PM to 5AM unless accompanied by a licensed driver over 21 (until 17) or a licensed sibling 18 or older
If you've driven without incident for 180 days, then congratulations. You can now apply for your Indiana full license.
Pineville Louisiana Auto Insurance Pineville Louisiana Financial Responsibility Laws
Once you receive your Pineville Louisiana drivers license, you're ready to drive--or are you? Any vehicle registered in Pineville Louisiana must be covered by liability insurance. The minimum coverage is:
- $10,000 per person for bodily injury
- $20,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $10,000 for property damage
If you are found to be driving without Pineville Louisiana mandatory liability insurance, your Pineville Louisiana learner's permit or Pineville Louisiana restricted driver license could be suspended and you could be fined.
Pineville Louisiana Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
As a new Pineville Louisiana driver, it's important for you to learn the Pineville Louisiana drunk driving, cell phone, and text messaging laws. First of all, Pineville Louisiana has a zero tolerance law, so if you're under 21 and caught with a Blood Alcohol Content of .02, you'll face stiff fines as well as Pineville Louisiana driver's license suspension.
Upon your first conviction of a Pineville Louisiana DUI (0.08), you'll face the following penalties:
- Jail sentence of up to 6 months
- license suspension of 6 months (if under 21)
And of course, further Pineville Louisiana DUI convictions will result in increased jail time, community service, fines, and Pineville Louisiana license suspension or even Pineville Louisiana license revocation.
Currently, Pineville Louisiana prohibits teen drivers who hold a Class E Pineville Louisiana learner's license from using cell phones while driving unless the device is a hands-free device. The fine is $175 for a first offense and $500 for subsequent offenses.
Pineville Louisiana Online Driver Education
For information about approved Pineville Louisiana online driver education courses, you can find more information here.