Alaska Online Driver Education and Online Driver Ed Courses
The online driving site DriverEdToGo.com welcomes you to their popular driver education course within the state of Alaska. The entire course is available online and has all the essential content necessary to ensure you get your DMV learner’s permit.
- You can take the entire course a number of times
- Your certificate will be processed on the same day you complete the course
- We guarantee your satisfaction, so only pay if you like the program
- The course is read out loud to you with audio narration
- With this course, you will qualify for much lower auto insurance premiums
- We provide customer services on a 24 hour basis
A Look at the Online Driver Education and Licensing Process in Alaska
We commend you on beginning the process of earning your learner’s permit in Alaska or your first driver’s license. There is a specific program designed by the government for state teen drivers known as the Graduated Driver License Program. In order to apply to this course, there are a couple of things you need to be aware of.
Instruction and Learner’s Permit in Alaska
As soon as you turn the age of 15-years-old, you will be eligible to submit an application for the state instruction permit. This is so long as you have attended and completed a state approved driver’s ed course. The following are some of the documents you need to present at the Bureau for Motor Vehicles:
- An application form
- Driver education completion certificate
- 2 distinct types of identification
- A $10 fee payable to the Secretary of State
- Your original birth certificate
Even after submitting all these documents and making your payments, you will still need to pass a vision screening and pass a written exam. These are some of the aspects relating to Alaska online drivers ed and to be successful you simply need to pay attention and follow all the instructions.
Congratulations to you if you were successful because you have now earned your Alaska instruction permit. However, in order to proceed with your driver’s practice, you will need to drive in the presence of a driver who has had a license for at least two years and is at least 20 years of age. This permit is valid for a maximum of only 18 months after which you will be expected to proceed through the graduated license program.
Alaska Intermediate Driver’s License
To apply for this license, an applicant will need to meet the mandatory state requirements for this license before submitting an application to the local Bureau of Motor Vehicles.
- Have a learner’s permit that’s been in use for at least 6 months and in good standing
- Have logged at least 35 driving hours
- Of these logged hours, at least 5 hours need to be night driving
Once these are all fulfilled, you will need to head down to the local Bureau of Motor Vehicles and undertake the dreaded and loathed road test. Should you be successful in this test, then you will have earned your intermediary driver’s license which is quite an achievement. Even then, you will still drive under some restrictions until after your intermediary license has been in good standing for over 180 days.
There are certain penalties and restrictions pertaining to the teen driver’s permit. One of these is prohibition against carrying family members unless you are accompanied by an adult 20 years or older with a driver’s license of good standing for at least 2 years. Driving is prohibited between 12 midnight and 5 am in the morning. You may also not use your cell phone as you drive. These restrictions will be in place for the next 180 days after which you will be free to apply for a license. These all relate to Alaska online drivers education.
Any vehicle you intend to drive in the state of Alaska needs to be adequately insured. There is a minimum insurance requirement, usually set by the state. These set limits include:
- $50,000 per person for bodily injury
- $100,000 per accident for any injuries
- $25,000 for any damage to property
- $2000 which is mandatory coverage for medical payments
Is Alaska Online Drivers Ed For You?
You risk some hefty fines and suspension of your license should you be caught without the mandatory insurance coverage. Should you get convicted for a DUI, then you face some serious consequences. These include serving some jail time of up to 30 days, a fine of $500 and license suspension for up to 90 days.