Delaware Online Driver Education and Online Driver Ed Courses
DriverEdToGo.com is a well-known educational course for drivers residing in Delaware. This curriculum is exclusively online and set up to help you receive your learner’s permit from the DMV.
- Course offered in various settings
- Completing the course will result in immediate certification
- No payment necessary if you leave the course early
- Automated narration – course read audibly to students
- May be eligible for reduced insurance rates
- Customer and technical assistance available at all times
Delaware Licensing Requirements for the Delaware Online Drivers Education Course
Compliments to every person making the decision to obtain a Delaware learner’s permit or driver’s license. The Delaware course is for motorist between the ages of 16-18 living in the state of Delaware. Before you start the application process, you must go over a few matters so you can receive your driver’s license in an efficient manner. Let’s begin.
Delaware Instructional Permit – Delaware Learner’s Permit
At the age of 16, you are eligible to apply for the Delaware Instructional Permit, also known as the level-one Delaware learner’s permit. Before you can submit an application, you must meet these mandatory conditions:
- 16 years or older
- Successful completion of a Delaware-approved driver instructional course
- Present a small photo suitable enough for a passport
- Proof of residency – Identification issued by the state of Delaware
- Valid Social Security Card
- A fee of $12.50 to cover application processing and the cost of the driver’s license course
Delaware’s division of the Department of Motor Vehicles has a website for Teen Drivers with a wealth of information.
The sponsor program organized by the state of Delaware requires teenagers to find a parent or guardian to accompany them while they are learning to drive. This guardian or sponsor must sign the primary driver’s license application.
This person is also responsible for supervising you for six months after receiving your permit. You need to complete 40 hours of driving during the day and 10 hours of driving at night while you are under your sponsor’s supervision. Once you complete these requirements, your sponsor must confirm by turning your form in to the Department of Education.
Twelve months after obtaining your Delaware learner’s permit, you can submit your application for the Delaware licensing examination.
Obtaining a Delaware License for the First Time
Successfully complete the driver instructional course along with 50 hours of motorway driving as well as:
- From the 50 driving hours, 10 driving hours must be at night
- A valid Delaware learner’s permit that is 12-months old at minimum.
- Certification from your sponsor or guardian verifying the successful completion of your obligations.
Once you set up an appointment with the DMV, you must pass these tests successfully.
- Vision Test – 20/40 vision required in order to pass with glasses on or off
- Written Exam – A score in the 80% range is passing. (Use the Delaware Drivers Manual as a guide)
- Road Testing – Drivers who had no incidents for at least one year will automatically receive a class D driver’s license.
Teen Driver Restrictions and Penalties for Delaware
Drivers with Delaware learner’s permits must obey the following rules:
- Licensed guardians and instructors must accompany you during your first driving year.
- Avoid using cell phones and text-messaging devices while operating vehicles.
- Driving between 10pm and 6am is strictly prohibited unless you are traveling to and from school or church.
- You may only transport one passenger in addition to your supervisor.
- Your seat belt must be on when you are operating the vehicle.
- Driving without supervision is prohibited for six months after obtaining a permit (only one passenger is allowed).
These rules are not applicable to family members.
A violation of these rules can result in a suspension lasting two months for a first offense and four months for a second offense.
Delaware Financial Responsibility Laws for Auto Insurance
Drivers in Delaware must obtain liability insurance. At minimum the coverage must amount to $15,000 for personal injury and $30,000 for additional injuries. Property damage must amount to $10,000. Motorists who drive without insurance may incur severe fines and/or a license suspension.
Text Messaging and Drunk Driving Laws for the State of Delaware
Drivers convicted of DUI’s can face harsh penalties. Law officials base suspensions on the drivers Blood Alcohol Content (BAC):
- BAC .08 to 015 – 1 year revocation
- BAC .15 to .19 – 18 month revocation
- BAC .20 or more – 2 year revocation
Additionally, an individual can receive a $500 to $1500 fine. They can also receive an extensive amount of jail time if the case is very severe.
Motorists cannot use any mobile devices while driving a vehicle. Delaware law also prohibits texting while driving and using a cell phone while driving can result in a month-long suspension. Multiple offenses will lead to a three month suspension and a $25 fee for re-instatement.
Delaware Online Drivers Ed Instructional Course
Drivers wishing to obtain a learner’s permit must enroll in a course approved by the state of Delaware. The Department of Motor Vehicles has a list of the official courses for aspiring drivers.