Welcome to DriverEdToGo.com, the most popular driver education course in
See why over 4 million students picked us as their number one choice
Our course is 100% online and you can take drivers ed at your own pace. You even have the option to step the course and start again at a more convenient time.
Transcripts will be issued by our partner Orion High School. Therefore, Orion High School will issue 2.5 credits towards your high school graduation.
Once you have passed the course and received your Certificate of Completion, you must pass the DMV written exam in order to get your learner’s permit.
Our read-along feature is an audio narration track that reads the course aloud as the student follows along with the text.
Learn the rules of the road with DriverEdToGo. We make earning your license EASY!
*Some exclusions may apply
When teens are first learning to drive, they are highly receptive to important messages about the dangers of unsafe driving and driving while intoxicated. That is why it is so important for parents to get involved at this initial stage to ensure proper and thorough education to help set ground rules and instill good driving habits, as their teen takes on the responsibility of operating a motor vehicle.
The course consists of 10 modules of instruction. These modules include 32 hours of classroom and 14 hours of behind-the-wheel driving instruction. Under Texas law, students are not permitted to spend more than 2 hours per day on the classroom portion and not more than 1 hour per day on the behind-the-wheel portion. Therefore, the entire course cannot be completed in fewer than 26 days.
Texas Online Driver Education and Online Driver Ed Courses
If you are looking for Texas Online Drivers Education, you do not need to go any further than DriverEdToGo.com. This is a 100% online course and is also the most popular one in Texas. You will get to learn all the things you need to know to secure your Texas DMV learner’s permit.
Texas Licensing Procedures
If you want to start driving at a young age, your first license in Texas should be a Texas learner’s permit. Teen drivers will need to follow through a Texas Driver License Program designed specifically for them. However, there are a few things you need to do to ensure that you qualify for the program and can get your license without a hitch. Let’s see how.
The Texas Learner’s Permit or Texas Instruction Permit
Once you have turned 15, you can apply for this permit. The following are the things you will need when you are applying:
Once you have all these things handy, you just need to turn up at your local Driving License Office and submit your application. Make sure you take your guardian along. Once the application is submitted, the applicant will need to take a written exam and a vision test. If he can clear them, then voila! He is now the proud holder of his Texas Instruction Permit. The permit will remain valid one year from your next birthday. However, keep in mind that you will have to practice with your guardian, parent, an instructor, or a driver who must be no younger than 21 years and should have at least one year of driving experience.
Now once you have held your permit successfully for 180 days, you will be eligible to apply for your Texas Provisional License.
The Texas Intermediate License or Texas Provisional License
You are eligible to apply for the Intermediate License once you have:
If you meet the above criteria, show up at the License Office with all the necessary documents along with your Texas Instruction Permit. Now is the time to take the Texas road test. This is not going to be a cakewalk, so prepare well before you apply. However, if you do manage to clear the test, well then you now become a proud holder of a Texas Provisional License. Congratulations! However, remember that you will still have to observe a certain set of restrictions.
Restrictions and Penalties
Once you have earned your provisional license, you will still have to observe the following restrictions for the next six months:
Texas Auto Insurance Laws
You are not quite yet ready to drive away as soon as you receive your Provisional License. Because you will also need to carry the minimum liability insurance as specified by Texas Auto Insurance Laws. The minimum coverage is:
If it is found at any time that you were driving without mandatory insurance, you would be in for steep fines, and run the risk of getting your Provisional License cancelled.
Texas Cell Phone, Text Messaging, and Drunk Driving Laws
Zero tolerance is the norm for underage drinking in Texas, as is the case in most states. So the first time you are booked of a DWI, your permit gets suspended for a period of 30 days. The second time they catch you, the period is 60 days, and a third offence will get it suspended for 180 days.
The other penalties that may result from a DWI conviction include:
And needless to say that any further conviction will result in added jail time, fines, community service, and license suspension/revocation.
Texas Online Drivers Ed
For more information on Texas teen driving laws, please visit the website of Department of Public Safety, Texas.
See testimonials from people who took our online traffic school course.
Brilliant! Everything I needed in a quick and accessible format. Not too long, not too restrictive, and very very educational! Thanks a million!
Your course is already very well done and I found the experience enjoyable with the games, gifs and visual aids you have provided. Thank You.
The course was easy to navigate and had a lot of information to get me started on driving. Good system of quizzes, exams, and information.
Thanks! I learned a lot more than I did on my own. The videos and simulations made it extremely helpful and much more entertaining.
Join our mailing list to receive special offers and promotions.
Learn and discover why DriverEdToGo is the smart choice for online drivers ed
When you purchase a course on DriverEdToGo.com