Explore features

See why over 4 million students picked us as their number one choice

Pennsylvania Online Driver Education

Learn the rules of the road with DriverEdToGo. We make earning your license EASY!

*Some exclusions may apply

Traffic school designed with you in mind

When teens are first learning to drive, they are highly receptive to important messages about the dangers of unsafe driving and driving while intoxicated. That is why it is so important for parents to get involved at this initial stage to ensure proper and thorough education to help set ground rules and instill good driving habits, as their teen takes on the responsibility of operating a motor vehicle.

Enroll Now

Course Syllabus

Course Duration

This 30-hour online course is not a requirement to obtain a driver's license or take a driving test. However, if a student completes this online course plus 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training he or she may be eligible for an insurance discount and a senior (unrestricted) driver's license at age 17 1/2.

Final Exam

Students will have an unlimited number of attempts to score 85% or higher on the final exam.

Delivery

The certificate of completion is sent directly to the student. This certificate must be presented to the DOE along with a certificate proving completion of 6 hours of in-car training in order for the student to qualify for an insurance discount and a senior license.

Chapters

  1. 1
    1.1 Course Introduction
    1.2 The Common Sense of Driving
    1.3 Driving Is A Privilege
    1.4 Things To Remember
  2. 2
    2.1 Laws and Rules of the Road
    2.2 Video Intersection
    2.3 Things To Remember
  3. 3
    3.1 Safe Parking Practices
    3.2 Video
    3.3 Things To Remember
  4. 4
    4.1 Sharing the Road
    4.2 Hazardous Driving Conditions
    4.3 Things To Remember
  5. 5
    5.1 Mobility and Gridlock
    5.2 Video
    5.3 Things To Remember
  6. 6
    6.1 Health and Safety
    6.2 Things To Remember
  7. 7
    7.1 Alcohol and Other Drugs
    7.2 Video
    7.3 Things To Remember
  8. 8
    8.1 Actions Resulting in License Loss
    8.2 Things To Remember
  9. 9
    9.1 Texting While Driving
  10. 10
    10.1 Defensive Driving
    10.2 Speed and Distance
  11. 11
    11.1 Final Exam

 

Pennsylvania Online Driver Education and Online Driver Ed Courses

Taking Driver’s Ed is not difficult now with DriverEdToGo.com. With an online driver’s education system like us, you can simplify the process of learning the theory of driving. We offer everything related to driving theory and when you enroll with us for your DMV learner’s permit, you get a whole range of useful amenities.

  • You can take the course at your convenience at any time, as it is an online course.
  • When you complete the course, you will be sent a certificate on the same day as completing the course.
  • You only have to pay us if you are satisfied with the course. Most of our students are very happy with what they learn, and they pass their drivers ed course quickly.
  • We have an automatic audio narration that will teach you without the need to read the content.
  • With our comprehensive teaching, you have a higher chance of qualifying for a lower insurance rate.
  • To help you out, you can get in touch with us 24/7 for technical support or help of any kind.

Why We Should Be Your First Choice?

It’s a good idea to apply for your license as quickly as possible in Pennsylvania. You can apply for your Learner’s Permit first and then hone your skills. Once you’ve become an expert, you can easily apply for the Pennsylvania Driver’s License. Of course, if you are confident, you can easily apply directly to the Pennsylvania Driver’s License and with our help, you will get your license that much quicker. Pennsylvania also has a special Graduated Driver License Program for teen drivers to make it easier for them to get their license quickly. To help you out, take a look at our short guide.

Applying for the Pennsylvania Instructional Permit or Pennsylvania Learner’s Permit

Step #1 — When you turn 16, you can apply to the Pennsylvania online drivers education program through us to prepare for the Learner’s Permit. You will require a Pennsylvania manual of driving to prepare for the theory test. After this, you are also required to complete a physical examination and preparation form. Your legal guardian or parent has to fill in and sign a DL-180TD for your application. Along with this, you will also have to submit an ID proof, Residency Proof, and your Social Security Card. The driver’s permit application also has a nominal fee. Make sure you have the check or money order ready for submission.

Step #2 — Head on down to the closest Pennsylvania Driver’s License Center with your legal guardian or parent and provide the forms to a staff member. You will have to take a vision test again and a theory test. Once you pass these two tests, you will be issued your Learner’s Permit almost immediately. This is valid for one year.

Step #3 — Practice driving with an adult who is already 21 years of age to gain practice and skills. All learners have to wear seatbelts, and they have to carry their Learner’s Permit with them at all times. Once you have completed six months of training and have at least 50 hours of behind the wheel experience, you can apply for your permanent license.

Step #4 — Once you fulfill these requirements, you have to visit the local Driver’s License Center and take the test again. If you pass, you will get your Pennsylvania Teen Driver License. However, there are a few restrictions like not being able to drive between 11PM to 5AM unless accompanied by an adult. The only exceptions are for volunteer activities, charity cases, and gainful employment. Any violation of these rules will mean that your temporary and permanent license will be suspended for 90 days. After you have driven on the Teen License for one year, you can apply for a regular license. Ideally, you should have no traffic violations or accidents in this one-year period.

Your Responsibilities as a Driver

After getting the license, it is your duty to get insurance to protect yourself and other people. Pennsylvania has a minimum requirement of $15,000 bodily injury coverage for one person, $30,000 bodily injury coverage for two or more people, and $5,000 for property damage per accident. Please note that even after getting insurance the state has strict drunk driving, cell phone usage rules while driving, and text messaging laws. If you are convicted of a DUI or a DWI, you will have to face a fine of at least $300 and may include jail time. This may be postponed in the form of probation of 6 months. In case these mistakes are repeated again, jail times and fines are stricter. It is also possible that the person’s license will be revoked or suspended indefinitely.

Pennsylvania encourages applicants to complete their driver’s education theory through Pennsylvania online drivers education. To ensure that you are up to code, get in touch with us and we will make sure your Pennsylvania online drivers ed is up-to-date.

Still not convinced? See what people just like you think about our course.

See testimonials from people who took our online traffic school course.

  • 5
    Brilliant! Everything I needed in a quick and accessible format. Not too long, not too restrictive, and very very educational! Thanks a million!
    Azad M.
  • 5
    Your course is already very well done and I found the experience enjoyable with the games, gifs and visual aids you have provided. Thank You.
    Samantha P
  • 5
    The course was easy to navigate and had a lot of information to get me started on driving. Good system of quizzes, exams, and information.
    Andy H.
  • 5
    Thanks! I learned a lot more than I did on my own. The videos and simulations made it extremely helpful and much more entertaining.
    Lydia L.