Mississippi Online Driver Education and Online Driver Ed Courses
DriverEdToGo.com is home to the most popular online drivers education course in the state of Mississippi. Our course is an online course, and it provides you with everything that you need in order to obtain your DMV learner’s permit.
- You can take the course in different/multiple settings
- Your certificate is actually processed the same day as you complete the course
- Your satisfaction is guaranteed and you only pay if you decide to stay
- The course can be read aloud to you via audio narration
- You could qualify for lower rates on insurance
- You have access to 24/7 customer, as well as technical support
Mississippi Online Driver Education and Licensing Procedures
First, congrats on taking the first step and starting the process of applying for your state’s driver’s license. The state has a program called the Graduated Driver License Program, and it is designed for teen drivers, but there are a few things that you can keep in mind if you want to make sure that the application process goes as smooth as possible.
The State’s Instructional Permit and Learner’s Permit
In order to qualify to apply for a learner’s permit, a person will need to be 14 and a half. This permit will only allow you to practice driving as part of a driver’s ed program, which has to be approved by the state. Once a person has turned 15, they can go ahead and apply for a regular learner’s permit, but they will need the following:
- Application signed by your parents, and it needs to be notarized
- A copy of your social security card
- A copy of your state-issued birth certificate
- $4 in cash, in order to pay the fee
- A certificate of school attendance, and this needs to be signed
You will want to bring all of these materials to the driver service center, and then you will take some vision and written tests which you will need to pass. Once you have passed, you will receive your Instruction Permit.
It is important to note that in order to practice driving, you will need to have your parent or guardian, or with a licensed driver who is at least 21. Teen drivers are also not allowed to use their cell phone while driving, or send any text messages. Passengers who are in your vehicle will need to have their seatbelts fastened. Once you have had your permit for a period of 6-12 months, then you can take the next step.
The State’s Intermediate License and Full License
You will need to follow Mississippi state requirements before you go to the driver service center to apply for your state’s Provisional driver’s license. You will need to:
- Have a learner’s permit for 6-12 months without any incident
- Bring all of the information that you brought in order to obtain the state’s learner’s permit
- Bring $6 in cash to pay the fee
Once you have completed all of these, then you can head to the local driver service center, and pay the fee. After the fee has been paid, you can submit your Intermediate License application. The next step will be the road test, and if you pass it, then you will earn your intermediate driver license. There are still a few restrictions that will be put in place.
Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
The restrictions that relate to your provisional driver’s license are as followed:
- Every passenger needs to wear a seat belt
- Using cell phones or texting while driving is prohibited
- You cannot drive unsupervised between 10PM and 6AM, Sunday through Thursday
- Unsupervised driving between 11:30AM and 6AM, Friday and Saturday is prohibited
- The only exception is if you are going to or coming from work
Mississippi Auto Insurance Mississippi Financial Responsibility Laws
Your vehicle will need to be covered by liability insurance, and the minimum coverage you need is:
- $25,000 per person for one accident
- $50,000 bodily injury per accident that you are involved in
- Property damage is $25,000
If you do not have liability insurance and you are caught driving, then your Intermediate license could end up being suspended and you could end up being faced with a fine.
Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
You should understand the laws pertaining to drunk driving, as well as cell phone use and text messaging. The following penalties will be faced if you are convicted:
- Sentenced to jail for 48 hours
- A fine of $250 to $1,000
- Have your license suspended for 90 days
- Required to attend an alcohol safety education program
Mississippi Online Drivers Ed
If you want to find out more about approved online driver education courses, then you can visit the Mississippi Department of Public Safety’s website.