Utah Online Driver Education and Online Driver Ed Courses
Welcome to the most popular Utah online drivers education course – Welcome to DriverEdToGo.com. This course is totally accessible online and will provide all the information required to obtain your DMW learner’s permit.
- Take the course in multiple settings
- Certificate is processed on the same day of completion
- Satisfaction guaranteed. Pay only if you stay!
- Audio narration reads course aloud to you
- Qualify for lower insurance rates
- 24-7 customer & technical support available
Utah Online Driver Education and Utah Licensing Procedures
Congratulations on starting on the path to apply for your Utah Learner’s Permit or your first Utah driver’s license. There is a Graduated Driver License Program in Utah for teen drivers, and there are some things that need to be kept in mind while you go through the application process for your first Utah driver’s license. This will make the process much smoother, so let us begin.
The Utah Learner’s Permit or Utah Instruction Permit
At the age of 15, you can apply for your Utah Learner Permit, which is also referred to as a Utah Instruction Permit. You will need the following things in order to submit your application:
- Valid identification documents
- Social Security card or SSN proof (W-2 form, for example)
- Utah Residency Verification
- Proof of Driving Experience
- Non-refundable fee of $15
As soon as you are ready, visit the local Utah Driver License office, accompanied by your parent or guardian, to submit your completed application form. A medical and eye exam is involved, and you will also have to take a written exam. Congratulations if you happen to be successful at gaining your Utah Learner Permit. You can only practice driving once you are accompanied by your parent or guardian, a driving instructor, or a licensed driver who is 21 years or older. It is imperative that all passengers wear seat belts, and at all times, you need to be in possession of your Utah Learner Permit.
After six months of holding your Utah Learner Permit and having met any additional requirements, then you can take the next step in the Utah Graduated License Program, which is the Utah Minor License.
The Utah Minor License or Utah Intermediate License
After you have reached the age of 16 and have held your Utah Learner Permit for a period of 6 months, you can apply for your Utah Minor License. There are some requirements however that you must first meet:
- Hold a Utah Learner Permit for at least 6 months
- Be at least 16-years-old
- Complete an Utah online drivers ed course, such as the one offered by DriverEdToGo.com
- Practice driving for 40 hours under the supervision of a parent/guardian, or other supervising driver
- At least 10 hours must be at night (and has to be signed off!)
You can then go to your local Utah Driver License Office once you have secured an appointment. Along with your Utah Learning Permit, you need to bring your valid identification documents. Congratulations if you are able to pass the Utah road test which is dreaded, but has to be taken. You will then earn your Utah Minor License, which is also referred to as the Utah Provisional License. There will still be a few restrictions that will govern your driving for the time being.
Utah Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
Now that you are the holder or a Utah Minor License, there are some restrictions that you need to keep in mind:
- All passengers and the driver must wear seat belts
- If you’re 16, you can have no passengers that are under the age of 21 for a period of 6 months, or until you are 18 years of age
- The one exception is if your passengers are family members
- No driving is allowed between the hours of midnight and 5AM unless you’re travelling to or from your job, an activity sanctioned by a school, for a medical emergency, or on an assignment given by a farmer or rancher
As soon as you have attained the age of 18, then these restrictions will no longer guide your driving. Freedom at last!
Utah Auto Insurance Financial Responsibility Laws
Do you think you are ready to drive, once you have received your Utah Provisional Driver License? This may not be the case as Utah drivers must be covered by liability insurance as required by law. The minimum liability insurance coverage is:
- $25,000 bodily injury for one person
- $50,000 bodily injury two or more people
- $15,000 for property damage per accident
You could have your Utah Learner Permit or Provisional License suspended, if you are found to be driving without the required Utah mandatory liability insurance, and are involved in an accident.
Utah Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
As a teen driver in Utah, learning the laws related to cell phone usage, text messaging and drunk driving is extremely important. There is a Zero Tolerance Law, similar to most states, for underage drinking, so if convicted of a Utah DUI offense, your Utah Learner Permit or Utah Provisional License will be suspended. The period of suspension can range from 90 to 120 days, or even until you reach the age of 21 years. Once you are convicted for a second time, the revocation of the Utah license will be for a period of 1-2 years. A total list of all convictions and related penalties can be found on the Utah Public Safety webpage.
The following penalties may be faced upon your first conviction of a Utah DUI:
- Jail 48 hours minimum or
- Work Service Program 48 hours minimum
- Home confinement
- $700 fine
- License Suspension of 120 days
- Also, possible alcohol/drug screening, assessment, education and treatment
Further such convictions can result in fines, increased jail time, community service and either a suspension of license or even revocation. In Utah, teen drivers are not permitted to use cell phones while driving a vehicle.
Utah Driver Education
A comprehensive drive education program approved by the state is now offered for new teenage drivers in Utah. This program is a joint effort between DriverEdToGo.com and Wright Driving School. The online courses provided by Driver Ed to Go will take care of the portion of your driver’s educational requirement, which is referred to as the “classroom” portion. Wright Driving School on the other hand, offers the training that is required behind-the-wheel.