Driving School

Turner's School of Driving
3750 Juan Tabo Blvd NE
Albuquerque, NM 87111

Turner's School of DrivingFAQ's

Is Turner's School of Driving an approved driving school in New Mexico?
Just because a driving school appears on our directory of driver training institutions, we cannot guarantee that they are fully licensed to offer behind-the-wheel training courses in New Mexico.  We highly recommend that you contact Turner's School of Driving directly or the New Mexico DMV to find out for sure if Turner's School of Driving offers behind-the-wheel training courses that have been approved by the State of New Mexico.
Could I just have my mother or father teach me how to drive instead of paying money to take a professional behind-the-wheel training course?
It depends on which state you live in.  There are some states which permit you to complete your behind-the-wheel training with a parent or guardian instead of enrolling in a professional driving school.  However many states require that first-time drivers take a professionally-taught behind-the-wheel training course.  We recommend that you ask your state's DMV office to find out if your parent or guardian can fill the role as your behind-the-wheel driving instructor.
I don't know how to drive using a stick-shift. Will Turner's School of Driving have an automatic-shift car available that I can use for my driver training?
Since you're enrolling in a Albuquerque New Mexico behind-the-wheel training class, chances are good that you don't know how to drive either a manual-shift OR an automatic!  However, you should let Turner's School of Driving know what your preference is before registering for their driver class.  That way you'll know for sure they will accommodate you.
I live in a small mountain town, where there are a lot of small, unpaved roads. Will my behind-the-wheel training with Turner's School of Driving include learning how to drive in rural areas? Or do they just offer training for urban driving?
Most local driving schools will likely want their students to be taught how to drive safely in the local area.  Therefore, chances are good that the behind-the-wheel training you receive from Turner's School of Driving will include handling dirt roads and mountain driving.
Can 14-year-olds obtain learner's permits to drive in New Mexico?
Most states have set the minimum age for applying for an instruction permit at 15 or 15 1/2.  However, some states do allow 14-year-olds to obtain a learner's permit.  You may want to contact the New Mexico DMV or a New Mexico-approved driver training school like Turner's School of Driving to find out what the minimum age to drive is in New Mexico.
Do I have to take both a defensive driving classroom course and a behind-the-wheel training course in Albuquerque New Mexico to get my New Mexico driver's license?
The laws vary depending on which state you live in, but most states do require that pre-licensed drivers enroll in a drivers education classroom course and a driver training course.  You may want to call a driving instruction company like Turner's School of Driving and find out if they offer either (or both) of these programs.
I have to complete a behind-the-wheel class in Albuquerque New Mexico before New Mexico will give me my driver's license. Does Turner's School of Driving offer this type of course?
Turner's School of Driving does offer the safe driver training course in Albuquerque New Mexico that is required by the State of New Mexico.  You will need to contact Turner's School of Driving directly for more information about the behind-the-wheel courses they offer and their class schedules.
What are the requirements in Albuquerque New Mexico for obtaining a drivers license?
It depends on your state's laws, however in many states, teen-agers must complete both a safe driving classroom course and a driver training course.  Turner's School of Driving may offer an approved behind-the-wheel training course which you could take.  Please contact Turner's School of Driving for information regarding their available classes and how to go about registering for them.
Is there a law in New Mexico that requires me to take driver training in order to get my driver's license?
Yes.  State law in New Mexico mandates that all teen-agers successfully complete an approved driver training course before receiving a New Mexico driver's license.
Is it possible to sign up to take a New Mexico-certified behind-the-wheel training course before I obtain my New Mexico instruction permit?
It depends on what the specific laws are in New Mexico, however most states require first-time drivers to receive a instruction permit before registering for a driver training course.  We recommend you contact a driving school such as Turner's School of Driving to obtain more information.