Driving School

McGinnis School of Driving
7321 San Antonio Dr. NE
Albuquerque, NM 87109

McGinnis School of DrivingFAQ's

Are all the driving schools listed on your website fully-licensed by the New Mexico DMV to offer behind-the-wheel training courses in New Mexico?
The driving school directory on our website is for your convenience only, and we cannot absolutely guarantee that every driving school listed is currently certified to offer driving training courses in New Mexico.  We suggest you contact the New Mexico DMV to make sure a particular driving school is licensed before you sign up to take their driver training course.
Somebody told me that I can skip out of attending a driver training school if my parents give me behind-the-wheel training instead. Is that permissible in New Mexico?
Each state has its own rules regarding behind-the-wheel training.  Some states will allow parentally-supervised behind-the-wheel training as a substitute for attending a driver training course which is taught by a professional driving instructor.  However, not all states allow this.  You should contact the New Mexico DMV to find out for sure.
What happens if I don't know how to drive a manual-shift vehicle? Will McGinnis School of Driving allow me to do my driver training with an automatic-shift automobile?
Considering you're a brand new driver, you probably don't know much about operating any type of vehicle--manual-shift or automatic-shift!  However, if you prefer to complete your driver training using an automatic-shift vehicle, you should contact McGinnis School of Driving and inform them before you sign up to take their behind-the-wheel training course.  That way you will know for certain if they will accommodate you.
I live in a small mountain town, where there are a lot of small, unpaved roads. Will my driver training with McGinnis School of Driving include being taught how to drive in remote areas? Or do they just offer training for city driving?
Most local driving schools will likely want their students to be taught how to drive safely in the local area.  Therefore, chances are good that the behind-the-wheel training you receive from McGinnis School of Driving will include handling unpaved roads and mountain driving.
Now that I'm 14, will New Mexico allow me to get a learner's permit to drive?
Not likely.  Most states require residents to be at least 15 or 15 1/2 years old before applying for a learner's permit.  We recommend that your contact the New Mexico DMV office or a New Mexico-approved driving school such as McGinnis School of Driving to learn more about the minimum driving age requirement in New Mexico.
Do I have to complete a Albuquerque New Mexico drivers education classroom course or online course before registering for one of McGinnis School of Driving's driver training courses?
Each state has its own laws, but most states will require first-time drivers to take both a driver training course plus either a drivers education classroom course (which are about 30 hours in length) or an approved online defensive driving course.  You may want to ask McGinnis School of Driving if they offer one or both programs.
I have to take a defensive driving course in Albuquerque New Mexico. Can I meet this requirement by registering with McGinnis School of Driving?
Yes, McGinnis School of Driving offers defensive driving courses in Albuquerque New Mexico.  You will need to contact McGinnis School of Driving directly to get more information on the types of courses they offer and when to sign up for a class.
What are the prerequisites in Albuquerque New Mexico for obtaining a drivers license?
It depends on your state's laws, however in many states, teen-agers must complete both a drivers education classroom course and a behind-the-wheel training course.  McGinnis School of Driving may offer an approved behind-the-wheel training course which you could take.  Please contact McGinnis School of Driving for information regarding their available classes and how to go about registering for them.
Am I obligated to take a Albuquerque New Mexico driver training course?
All drivers in New Mexico are required to take a behind-the-wheel training course.  You should contact McGinnis School of Driving to learn more about the courses they offer.
Can I enroll in a New Mexico behind-the-wheel training course prior to having my New Mexico learners permit?
Most states require pre-licensed drivers to hold a learners permit before being permitted to enroll in a driver training course.  You should contact a driving school like McGinnis School of Driving and ask for more information.