Jerry's Driving SchoolFAQ's
Are all the driving schools listed on your website fully-accredited by the Oklahoma DMV to offer behind-the-wheel training courses in Oklahoma?
The driving school directory on our website is for your convenience only, and we cannot absolutely guarantee that every driving school listed is currently accredited to offer behind-the-wheel training courses in Oklahoma. We suggest you contact the Oklahoma DMV to make sure a particular driving school is certified before you sign up to take their driver training course.
Somebody told me that I can skip out of attending a driver training school if my parents give me behind-the-wheel training instead. Is that permissible in Oklahoma?
Each state has its own rules regarding driver training. Some states will allow parentally-supervised behind-the-wheel training as a substitute for taking a driver training course which is taught by a professional driving instructor. However, not all states allow this. You should contact the Oklahoma DMV to find out for sure.
I have no clue how to drive a manual-shift vehicle. What happens if Jerry's Driving School makes me train on a manual-shift vehicle?
Considering the fact you are a brand new driver, you probably don't know much about operating ANY type of vehicle....stick OR automatic! If you prefer to do your behind-the-wheel training with an automatic-shift vehicle, you may want to call Jerry's Driving School and let them know before you sign up to take their driver training course. That way you'll know for certain whether Jerry's Driving School will be able to accommodate you before you pay them any money.
What happens to those of us who live in a remote area? Will Jerry's Driving School include instruction on how to drive on dirt roads, mountain roads, and other bumpy terrain?
If you live in a rural location, there is a high probability that a local driving school like Jerry's Driving School will either want--or even be required--to tailor their instruction towards driving safely in your particular area.
Can 14-year-olds obtain learner's permits to drive in Oklahoma?
Most states have set the minimum age for applying for a learner's permit at 15 or 15 1/2. However, some states do allow 14-year-olds to obtain a learner's permit. You may want to contact the Oklahoma DMV or a Oklahoma-approved driver training school like Jerry's Driving School to find out what the minimum age to drive is in Oklahoma.
Am I required to take a Tulsa Oklahoma classroom or online drivers education course before I can sign up to take a behind-the-wheel training course through Jerry's Driving School?
This requirement varies from state to state but most states do require pre-licensed drivers to take BOTH a classroom-based defensive driving course (generally 30 hours in length) AND a behind-the-wheel training course. You should ask Jerry's Driving School if they offer one or both programs.
I have to take a behind-the-wheel training course in Tulsa Oklahoma. Can I meet this requirement by signing up with Jerry's Driving School?
Yes, Jerry's Driving School offers defensive driving courses in Tulsa Oklahoma. You will need to contact Jerry's Driving School directly to get more information on the types of courses they offer and when to sign up for a class.
What do I need to do to get a driver's license in Tulsa Oklahoma?
It depends on Oklahoma's laws, but most states require new, teen-aged drivers to register for a drivers education classroom course as well as a behind-the-wheel training course. You may want to call Jerry's Driving School to see if they offer the behind-the-wheel training course that would satisfy the regulations set forth by the Oklahoma DMV.
Is hands-on driver training required in Oklahoma in order to be licensed to drive a car?
Absolutely. All new drivers in Oklahoma are required to take an approved hands-on driver training course before they can be issued a license to independently drive a motor vehicle.
Is it possible to enroll in a Oklahoma-approved behind-the-wheel training course before I obtain my Oklahoma learners permit?
It depends on what the specific laws are in Oklahoma, however most states require first-time drivers to receive an instruction permit before registering for a driver training course. We recommend you contact a driving school such as Jerry's Driving School to obtain more information.