Driving School

Drive Tech
7120 Wyoming Blvd NE, Ste A3
Albuquerque, NM 87109

Drive TechFAQ's

Is Drive Tech certified by the New Mexico DMV to offer driver training courses?
Although we include Drive Tech in our directory of driving schools for Albuquerque New Mexico, we cannot make any assurances about whether or not Drive Tech is licensed by the New Mexico DMV.  You should contact Drive Tech directly and ask them if you are thinking about signing up to take their Albuquerque New Mexico behind-the-wheel training class.
Somebody told me that I can skip out of attending a driver training school if my parents give me behind-the-wheel training instead. Is that permissible in New Mexico?
Each state has its own laws regarding driver training.  Some states will allow parentally-supervised driver training as a substitute for attending a behind-the-wheel training course which is taught by a professional driving instructor.  However, not all states allow this.  You should contact the New Mexico DMV to find out for sure.
I have no clue how to drive a stick-shift vehicle. What happens if Drive Tech makes me train on a manual-shift vehicle?
Considering the fact you are a brand new driver, you probably don't know much about operating ANY type of vehicle....stick OR automatic!  If you prefer to do your hands-on driver training with an automatic-shift vehicle, you may want to call Drive Tech and let them know before you enroll in their driver training course.  That way you'll know for certain whether Drive Tech can accommodate you before you pay them any money.
I don't live anywhere near a city. There are dirt roads and bumpy terrain all around my house. How do I know if Drive Tech will train me on how to drive in a rural area like where I live and not just teach me how to drive in a town-or city-type environment?
Since Drive Tech is a local driver training company in your area, it's a safe bet that Drive Tech will be motivated (or perhaps required) to teach its local customers how to drive on rough terrain.  If you want to make certain, however, you may want to call Drive Tech to find out exactly what's included in their behind-the-wheel training course before you register with them.
Are 14-year-olds eligible to apply for a instruction permit in New Mexico?
Although a few states allow teen-agers to begin practicing how to drive at 14, most states have set the minimum age for which to receive an instruction permit at either 15 or 15½.  You will need to contact the New Mexico Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) or a licensed driving instruction company like Drive Tech to find out what the minimum age for driving is in New Mexico. 
Do I have to take a Albuquerque New Mexico classroom or online drivers education course before I can enroll in a behind-the-wheel training course through Drive Tech?
This requirement varies from state to state but most states do require pre-licensed drivers to take BOTH a classroom-based defensive driving course (generally 30 hours in length) AND a behind-the-wheel training course.  You should ask Drive Tech if they offer one or both programs.
I am looking to sign up to take a Albuquerque New Mexico drivers education course. Can Drive Tech assist me with this?
Yes.  defensive driving courses are available in Albuquerque New Mexico through Drive Tech.  Please contact Drive Tech directly with questions regarding their schedule of classes and registration information.
Do I have to take drivers education to get a New Mexico driver's license?
Drivers education requirements vary depending on which state you live in, but you should be aware that most states require new, teen-aged drivers to register for both a behind-the-wheel training course in addition to a safe driving classroom or online course.  You may wish to contact the New Mexico DMV to find out exactly what requirements you will need to fulfill in order to obtain your first driver's license.
Do I have to take a Albuquerque New Mexico behind-the-wheel training course in order to get a driver's license?
Yes.  All drivers in New Mexico must successfully complete an approved behind-the-wheel training course in order to receive a driver's license.  Please contact Drive Tech for information on the types of behind-the-wheel training courses they offer in Albuquerque New Mexico.
Can I enroll in a New Mexico-licensed driver training course even if I don't have my New Mexico learners permit yet?
Most likely, no.  Most states have laws that require a pre-licensed driver to have obtained a New Mexico instruction permit before registering in a New Mexico driver training course.  It would be best for you to contact a driving school such as Drive Tech and ask for more information.