1 (866) 749 4445
Email to a Friend
Partner with us
DMV Practice Tests
Driver Ed DVD
High School Credit
ABQ Driving School
5110 Copper Ave NE
Albuquerque, NM 87108
For Online Driver's Education - Click Here
ABQ Driving SchoolFAQ's
Is ABQ Driving School an approved driving school in New Mexico?
Just because a driving school appears on our directory of driver training institutions, we cannot guarantee that they are fully licensed to offer behind-the-wheel training courses in New Mexico. We highly recommend that you contact ABQ Driving School directly or the New Mexico DMV to find out for sure if ABQ Driving School offers hands-on driving courses that have been approved by the State of New Mexico.
I heard that parents can fill the role of driving instructor in New Mexico, so taking a Albuquerque driving school course like the one ABQ Driving School offers is not necessary. Is that true?
You should contact the New Mexico DMV or a licensed driving school like ABQ Driving School and ask them. While parent-taught driving instruction is permitted in some states, many states do NOT allow it.
I don't know how to drive using a stick-shift. Will ABQ Driving School have an automatic-shift car available that I can use for my behind-the-wheel training?
Since you're enrolling in a Albuquerque New Mexico behind-the-wheel training class, chances are good that you don't know how to drive either a manual-shift OR an automatic! However, you should let ABQ Driving School know what your preference is before signing up to take their behind-the-wheel class. That way you'll know for sure they will accommodate you.
What happens to those of us who live in a non-urban area? Will ABQ Driving School include instruction on how to drive on dirt roads, mountain roads, and other bumpy terrain?
If you live in a rural location, there is a high probability that a local
driver training school
like ABQ Driving School will either want--or even be required--to tailor their instruction towards driving safely in your particular area.
Now that I'm 14, will New Mexico allow me to get a learner's permit to drive?
Not likely. Most states require residents to be at least 15 or 15 1/2 years old before applying for an instruction permit. We recommend that your contact the New Mexico DMV office or a New Mexico-approved
such as ABQ Driving School to learn more about the minimum driving age requirement in New Mexico.
Can I take ABQ Driving School's driver training course before taking a Albuquerque New Mexico defensive driving classroom course or online course?
It depends on what New Mexico's laws prescribe. However, you should know that most states will require teen-aged, first-time drivers to complete
a defensive driving classroom course (which are approximately 30 hours in length, depending on New Mexico's laws) or an approved online course,
a state-approved driver training course. We recommend that you contact ABQ Driving School directly to see if they offer either (or both) of these courses.
I have to take a drivers education course in Albuquerque New Mexico. Can I meet this requirement by enrolling in ABQ Driving School?
Yes, ABQ Driving School offers behind-the-wheel training courses in Albuquerque New Mexico. You will need to contact ABQ Driving School directly to get more information on the types of courses they offer and when to register for a class.
Do I have to take drivers education to get a New Mexico driver's license?
Drivers education requirements vary depending on which state you live in, but you should be aware that most states require new, teen-aged drivers to enroll in
a driver training course in addition to a drivers education classroom or online course. You may wish to contact the New Mexico DMV to find out exactly what requirements you will need to satisfy in order to obtain your first driver's license.
What does the law in New Mexico say about driver training courses? Do I have to take one to get my driver's license?
Yes, you do. New Mexico law states that new drivers successfully complete an approved behind-the-wheel training course as a prerequisite to obtaining their first driver's license.
Will New Mexico allow me to register for a driver training course before I actually receive my instruction permit?
You will need to contact your state's DMV office to find out. However, most states require that you obtain your learner's permit before you enroll in a behind-the-wheel training course.