Washington DC Online Driver Education and Online Driver Ed Courses
Offering most of its programs online, DriverEdToGo.com remains the most popular driver education course in Washington DC. Our website is perfect for all the details that relate to acquiring a DMV leaner’s permit.
- Course is taken in various settings
- Certificate is processed the same day you complete your course
- Courses are read out audibly using the audio narration
- Lower insurance rates
- Technical and customer support
Washington D.C. Online Driver Education and Licensing Procedures
We express our compliments to you for starting your application process. You are on your way to getting a Washington D.C. Leaner’s Permit or first driver’s license through Washington DC online drivers ed. Bear in mind that Washington D.C. is able to provide teen drivers with a Graduated Driver License Program, commonly known as GRAD (Gradual Rearing of Adult Drivers). A number of things should be taken into perspective, however, to make your application process hassle-free.
Washington D.C. Learner’s or Instruction Permit
Application for Washington D.C. Learner’s Permit is only permitted once you turn 16. Other essential requirements such as a valid proof of birth, DC residency, and social security number need to be provided. A notarized parental consent form and a valid DC identification card are equally important.
The application can be submitted at your local Washington D.C. Driver Service Center once it is ready. After submission, vision screening and knowledge tests are carried out. The knowledge test takes 50 minutes. If you pass the test, you earn yourself a Washington D.C. Learner’s Permit!
Take note that you are required to practice driving with your driving instructor, guardian, parent, or a licensed driver who is above 21 years of age.
Payment of a reinstatement fee is done when your Washington D.C. driver license is suspended for 90 days. This results when you get more than eight points on the driver’s license.
Being in possession of the Washington D.C. Learner’s Permit for six months qualifies you for the next step, which is the Washington D.C. Provisional Driver’s License.
Washington D.C. Provisional or Intermediate Driver License
Application of the Washington D.C. Provisional Driver’s License is done once you turn 16 years of age. However, any important requirement must not be overlooked — such as holding the Learner’s Permit for at least six months, being over 16 years and six months, and completing 40 hours of behind-the-wheel driving with a skilled driver. You are also required to drive violation free for six months. A photocopy of the supervising driver’s license should also be provided. Your parent, guardian or driving instructor should sign the 40 hours certification to qualify you for the Provisional License form. To get the license, schedule an appointment at your local Washington D.C. Driver Service Center. Carry your Learner’s Permit together with identification documents. Passing of the test will earn you a Washington D.C. Provisional Driver’s License.
Washington D.C. Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
Few restrictions characterize the first nine months of driving after you obtain the Washington D.C. Provisional Driver’s License. You need to carry only one passenger who is over 21 years of age. The passenger must also possess a driving license as well as wear a seat belt. Additional restrictions require that you should only drive between 6am and 11:59pm from September to August. Some of the exceptions involve driving to or from work, civic organizations, athletic event, and a school activity.
Washington D.C. Regular Driver License can be applied for after holding the Provisional License for six months. You are also required to be 17 years of age. Remember to fill in the ten hours Certification form, which enables you to drive unrestricted. People who are under 18 should carry only two passengers who are under 21 years.
Washington D.C. Auto Insurance Financial Responsibility Laws
Washington D.C. drivers should ensure that they are covered by liability insurance. The minimum insurance coverage for damaging other person’s property is $10,000. A third party liability per person is $25,000 while that for per accident is $50,000. The coverage for uninsured motorist per person is $25,000 while that for per accident is $50,000. $5,000 is for uninsured motorist property damage, which is subject to a deductible fee of $200.
Washington D.C. Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
Washington D.C. teen drivers are obligated to comply with the Zero Tolerance Law for underage drinking. Your Learner’s Permit or Driver’s License will be suspended in case you are found guilty of a Washington D.C. DWI or DUI.
The first conviction of a Washington D.C. DUI results in penalties such as a fine between $300 and $1000, 90 days maximum jail time, and a six months License suspension. Further convictions may result to increased jail time, fines, community service, License suspension or revocation.
Washington D.C. teen drivers are forbidden from using an electronic device or cell phone while driving, unless a hands-free device is being used.
Washington D.C. Online Driver Education
Washington D.C. Department of Motor Vehicle has a website that can assist in locating additional information on approved Washington DC online drivers education.