Kentucky Online Driver Education and Online Driver Ed Courses
Welcome to Kentucky’s most popular online driver education site, DriverEdToGo.com, where the entire course is online and covers all you need to know for earning your DMV learner’s permit.
- You Can Take it in Multiple Settings
- Your Satisfaction is GUARANTEED! Only Pay if You Stay!
- Your Certificate is Processed on Completion Day
- You Will Have Audio Narration Reading the Course to You Out Loud
- After Completion You Will Be Qualified to Receive Lower Insurance Rates
- You Have Access to 24/7 Technical and Customer Support
Procedures For Kentucky Licensing & Online Driver Education
Congratulations on your decision to get started on applying for either a Kentucky learner’s permit, or your first time Kentucky driver’s license. The state of Kentucky offers a Graduated Driver License program for teen Kentucky drivers. Here are some key points to keep in mind as you apply to get your license in Kentucky to ensure that things go as smoothly for you as possible. Let’s get started.
Upon your 16th birthday you will be eligible to apply to get your Kentucky learner’s permit. You will need to schedule an appointment down at the local Circuit Court Clerk’s Office. Upon arrival you will be required to produce the following:
- Social Security Card
- Proof of Residence
- Birth Certificate
- School Compliance Verification Form (only if under age 18)
- Signature of parent or guardian (if applicant is under age 18) on a financial responsibility waiver.
While at the Circuit Court Clerk’s Office, you are required to take and pass the written examination for obtaining a Kentucky driver’s permit. If you pass the test, then congratulations will be in order! That’s all there is to earning your learner’s permit in the state of Kentucky. Remember that the learner’s permit is only good for practicing with a licensed driver in the vehicle with you at all times, and they must be over the age of 21. After 180 days you will be eligible to apply to get a Kentucky Intermediate Driver’s License.
Getting that 1st Kentucky Driver’s License:
To be eligible to apply to get an Intermediate Kentucky Driver’s License, you have to comply with the following requirements:
- Keep the Learner’s Permit You Carry in Good Standing For At Least 180 Days
- Finish No Less Than 60 Hours of Driving Practice Time/10 of The Hours at Night
- Fill Out the Practice Driving Log/Verification Form
- Those Under Age 18 Must Complete a Private Driver Training Course, A High School Drivers Education Course, or Complete Their Graduate License Course (which is 4 hours and FREE).
Once you’ve had your learner’s permit no less than 180 days and have satisfied the above conditions simply make the trip do the local Circuit Court Clerk’s Office and take the road examination. If you pass, congratulations are in order once again! Good going! You are now the proud owner of a Kentucky Intermediate Driver’s License. There will still be a few restrictions placed on you until another 180 days have passed.
Kentucky Teen Driver’s License Penalties & Restrictions
You will have several restrictions regarding your Kentucky Intermediate Drivers License:
- You must have it for no less than 180 days before you are eligible to receive your unrestricted license.
- You will not be permitted to drive between the hours of 12AM and 6AM without a good cause (those causes being school, work-related activities, or an emergency).
- You will only be permitted to drive with ONE person un-related to you who is under the age of 20.
- Should you accumulate 6 or more points against your license, it will be suspended.
- You must adhere to Kentucky’s ‘Zero Tolerance’ rule, stating you cannot be guilty of driving with a blood alcohol level of .02 or above.
If you get through the next 180 days in compliance with the above restrictions, congratulations are once again in order! You are eligible to apply to get an unrestricted license.
Kentucky Auto Insurance & Financial Responsibility Laws
After receiving your new Kentucky Driver’s License, you have proven yourself ready to drive…..or have you? Any vehicle that is registered in the state of Kentucky MUST carry at least liability insurance. Minimum coverage is:
- $25,000 Bodily Injury For Each Person
- $50,000 Bodily Injury For Each Accident
- $50,000 Per Under-Insured Motorist, with $10,000 Property Damage
Anyone caught driving in Kentucky without these mandatory minimums for liability insurance will have their permit or license suspended and may face monetary fines as well.
Drunk Driving, Text Messaging, and Cell Phone Laws in Kentucky
As a new driver in the state of Kentucky, it is crucial that you be aware of the drunk driving, text messaging, and cell phone laws. These are ‘Zero Tolerance’ laws. If you are under the age of 21 and get caught having a BAC (blood alcohol level) of .02 or above, your license will automatically be suspended and you will face fines as well.
First Offense DUI in Kentucky (.08) carries the following penalties:
- $50,000 Bodily Injury For Each Accident
- Anywhere from 2 to 30 Days Jail Time
- Fines of Between $200 and $500
- Suspension of Your Kentucky Driver’s License From 30 to 120 Days
- 90-Day Mandatory Drug or Alcohol Treatment Program
- From 48 Hours to 30 Days of Active Community Service
Naturally, any further DUI convictions will be met with an increase to all the penalties mentioned above, and can end up in total revocation of your license.
At this time, Kentucky prohibits all teen drivers with learner’s permits or Intermediate licenses from using cell phones while driving.
Kentucky Online Drivers Education:
You can find out more about approved driver education courses for Kentucky licenses at DriverEdToGo.com