1 (866) 749 4445
Email to a Friend
Partner with us
DMV Practice Tests
Driver Ed DVD
High School Credit
Online Driver Education -
Frequently Asked Questions
How old do I have to be to get a learners permit in Tennessee?
The Tennessee Department of Safety requires all drivers tobe at least 15 years old before receiving their leaners permit.
Do I need to bring paperwork with me when I take my learners permit exam?
The Tennesee DMV will ask you for proof of your identity, social secuirity number, age and Tennessee residence, as proof of your parent's or legal guardian's approval to apply for a Tennessee learners permit.
What if I don't pass the Tennessee learners permit exam?
By signing up for Driver Ed To Go, you can enroll in a Tennessee online driver education program that will teach you anything and everything you need to know for your Tennessee learners permit exam. You can take the test confident you will passs with ease--the first time!
If for some reason you don't pass the learners permit test, just show up to a Tennessee DMV location the nexy day and try again.
Who is allowed to take drivers education online? Does it satisfy Tenneseee driving requirements?
The Tennessee Department of Safety will need to grant you permission in order to take your drivers edcuation courses online to satisfy Tennessee driver ed requirements. However, anyone can take Driver Ed To Go as a supplemental driver ed program, and at Driver Ed To Go we are confident your experience will not only be enjoyable, but it will prepare you for all of your driver education training so you can pass with flying colors and become a safe, smart Tennessee driver.
What do I need to do to pass Driver Ed To Go?
Driver Ed To Go includes a 35-question final exam relating to Tennessee driver education. You will need an 80% to pass, but can retake the exam as many times as you need. You can never fail with Driver Ed To Go.
When will I receive my certificate of completion?
When you register for Driver Ed To Go, you will be able to choose from several delivery options, including overnight, 2nd day or 3rd day with FedEx. The choice is yours how fast you want to receive your Tennessee online drivers educaiton certificate of completion.
When can I start driving on my new Tennessee learners permit?
In Tennessee you can begin driving, if you are accompanied by a licensed driver of at least 21 years of age, once you’ve received your learners permit. Just be sure to keep in mind the safe driving techniques you've learned through Driver Ed To Go.
Now that I have my learners permit, how long until I can get a full-fledged Tennessee drivers license?
If you are less than 18 years old, you must have held a valid Tennessee learner's permit, called a Class PD for at least 180 days and abide by all the requirements of the Graduated Driver License law, specifically avoiding traffic accidents. Also, remember you must have adult supervision at all times while driving.
Does the Tennessee Department of Safety require behind-the-wheel training for new drivers?
You do not have to attend a Tennessee driver education class to get your drivers license so long as you perform 50 hours of supervised driving (see the enxt FAQ for more details), unless you violate traffic laws while driving on your learners permit.
If you are a teen driver and you get a second moving violation while holding your learners permit or restricted drivers license, an approved Driver Education class must be completed before receiving an Intermediate Unrestricted Driver License.
Do I need to record my supervised driving on my learners permit?
Yes. The Tennesee Department of Safety wants to ensure you have adequate driving experience before handing you a provisional drivers license. So, they require you to have logged 50 hours of driving practice, ten of which occurred at night, with a parent, legal guardian or parent/guardian-approved driver over 21 years of age.
Can my friends ride with me when I get my learners permit in Tennesee?
You can only drive your friends around if you are accompanied by a licensed 21-year old driver in your front seat. Also, you cannot drive after midnight at all with yoru Tennessee learners permit, even with adult supervision.
Can my friends ride with me after getting my provisional Tennessee drivers license?
If you do not have supervision, only one of your friends can drive with you at all times while you have your provisional drivers license. After one year of safe, traffic violation-free driving, you can receive an unrestricted license and begin driving with more than one friend in the car.
How much is Driver Ed To Go in Tennesee?
Driver Ed To Go is the cheapest and easiest way to learn about Tennesee traffic laws and driver education in Tennessee. For up-to-date prices on all our courses, please review our "Course Options" page.
What if I want a refund?
At Driver Ed To Go, we will provide you with a full refund if you are not totally satisfied for any reason with out Tennessee online drivers education program. Just ask for your money back before we ship out your completion certificate, and you're good to go. it's that easy with Driver Ed To Go's 100% "Money-Back" guarantee!