West Michigan Driving AcademyFAQ's
Is West Michigan Driving Academy an approved driving school in Michigan?
Just because a driving school appears on our directory of driver training institutions, we cannot guarantee that they are fully licensed to offer behind-the-wheel training courses in Michigan. We highly recommend that you contact West Michigan Driving Academy directly or the Michigan DMV to find out for sure if West Michigan Driving Academy offers driver training courses that have been approved by the State of Michigan.
Is it true that my mom or dad can be my driving instructor when I do my driver training instead of a professional driving school instructor like the ones they have at West Michigan Driving Academy?
It depends on what your state's laws are. You should contact the Michigan DMV or a licensed driving school like West Michigan Driving Academy to find out if Michigan allows driver training with a parent.
I don't know how to drive using a stick-shift. Will West Michigan Driving Academy have an automatic-shift car available that I can use for my driver training?
Since you're enrolling in a Whitehall Michigan behind-the-wheel training class, chances are good that you don't know how to drive either a manual-shift OR an automatic! However, you should let West Michigan Driving Academy know what your preference is before registering for their behind-the-wheel class. That way you'll know for sure they will accommodate you.
What happens to those of us who live in a rural area? Will West Michigan Driving Academy include instruction on how to drive on dirt roads, mountain roads, and other bumpy terrain?
If you live in a rural location, there is a high probability that a local driving school like West Michigan Driving Academy will either want--or even be required--to tailor their instruction towards driving safely in your particular locale.
Can 14-year-olds obtain learner's permits to drive in Michigan?
Most states have set the minimum age for applying for an instruction permit at 15 or 15 1/2. However, some states do allow 14-year-olds to get an instruction permit. You may want to contact the Michigan DMV or a Michigan-approved driver training school like West Michigan Driving Academy to find out what the minimum age to drive is in Michigan.
Can I take West Michigan Driving Academy's behind-the-wheel training course before taking a Whitehall Michigan defensive driving classroom course or online course?
It depends on what Michigan's laws say. However, you should know that most states will require teen-aged, first-time drivers to complete both a drivers education classroom course (which are approximately 30 hours in length, depending on Michigan's laws) or an approved online course, plus a state-approved driver training course. We recommend that you contact West Michigan Driving Academy directly to see if they offer either (or both) of these courses.
I am looking to register for a Whitehall Michigan defensive driving course. Can West Michigan Driving Academy assist me with this?
Yes. Drivers education courses are available in Whitehall Michigan through West Michigan Driving Academy. Please contact West Michigan Driving Academy directly with questions regarding their schedule of classes and registration information.
How do I get a drivers license in Whitehall Michigan?
In most states, pre-licensed teens are required to complete both a classroom drivers education course and a driver training course. West Michigan Driving Academy may be able to help you meet the driver training portion in Michigan.
Do I have to take a Whitehall Michigan driver training course in order to get a driver's license?
Yes. All drivers in Michigan must successfully complete an approved behind-the-wheel training course in order to receive a driver's license. Please contact West Michigan Driving Academy for information on the types of driver training courses they offer in Whitehall Michigan.
Do I need to have my learner's permit before I enroll in a behind-the-wheel training course like the one that West Michigan Driving Academy offers?
You will need to contact West Michigan Driving Academy or the Michigan DMV to find out if you are allowed to register with a driving school like West Michigan Driving Academy before receiving your Michigan learner's permit.