West Coast Driving SchoolFAQ's
Is West Coast Driving School certified by the Washington DMV to offer behind-the-wheel training courses?
Although we include West Coast Driving School in our directory of driving schools for Federal Way Washington, we cannot make any assurances about whether or not West Coast Driving School is certified by the Washington DMV. You should contact West Coast Driving School directly and ask them if you are thinking about enrolling in their Federal Way Washington driver training class.
Do you know if I can complete my behind-the-wheel training with my mother or father instead of attending a driving school like West Coast Driving School?
Some states allow teen-agers to complete their driver training with their parents instead of attending a professional driving school. We recommend that you contact the Washington DMV or West Coast Driving School directly to find out if Washington allows parent-taught driver training.
What happens if I don't know how to operate a manual-shift vehicle? Will West Coast Driving School allow me to do my behind-the-wheel training with an automatic-shift automobile?
Considering you're a brand new driver, you probably don't know much about driving any type of vehicle--manual-shift or automatic-shift! However, if you prefer to complete your behind-the-wheel training using an automatic-shift vehicle, you should contact West Coast Driving School and inform them before you enroll in their behind-the-wheel training course. That way you will know for certain if they will accommodate you.
I live in a small rural town, where there are a lot of small, unpaved roads. Will my behind-the-wheel training with West Coast Driving School include learning how to drive in remote areas? Or do they just offer training for urban driving?
Most local driving schools will likely want their students to be taught how to drive safely in the local area. Therefore, chances are good that the driver training you receive from West Coast Driving School will include handling dirt roads and mountain driving.
I just turned 14 years old. Am I eligible to apply for my learner's permit in Washington?
Probably not. The minimum age requirement for holding a learners permit in most states is 15 1/2. You should contact the Washington Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) or a licensed driving school such as West Coast Driving School to find out more information about the minimum age requirement in Washington.
Can I take West Coast Driving School's behind-the-wheel training course before taking a Federal Way Washington defensive driving classroom course or online course?
It depends on what Washington's laws prescribe. However, you should know that most states will require teen-aged, first-time drivers to complete both a defensive driving classroom course (which are approximately 30 hours in length, depending on Washington's laws) or an approved online course, plus a state-approved driver training course. We recommend that you contact West Coast Driving School directly to see if they offer either (or both) of these courses.
Washington's DMV has told me that I need to take a behind-the-wheel training course. Do you know if West Coast Driving School offers this course or not?
West Coast Driving School does offer the driver training course that Washington requires all new teen-aged drivers to take. For more information about the courses West Coast Driving School offers, we recommend that you contact West Coast Driving School directly.
What are the prerequisites in Federal Way Washington for getting a drivers license?
It depends on your state's laws, however in many states, teen-agers must complete both a drivers education classroom course and a driver training course. West Coast Driving School may offer an approved behind-the-wheel training course which you could take. Please contact West Coast Driving School for information regarding their available classes and how to go about registering for them.
Do I have to take a Federal Way Washington behind-the-wheel training course in order to get a driver's license?
Yes. All drivers in Washington must successfully complete an approved driver training course in order to receive a driver's license. Please contact West Coast Driving School for information on the types of driver training courses they offer in Federal Way Washington.
Do I have to receive my learner's permit in Washington before I am allowed to sign up to take a behind-the-wheel training course like the one West Coast Driving School gives its students?
Laws vary from state to state, however most states do require that you obtain an instruction permit before you can register for a behind-the-wheel training course like the one that West Coast Driving School gives its students.