Driving School

ProControl Driving Academy
10 South Lake Street
Reno, NV 89501

ProControl Driving AcademyFAQ's

Is ProControl Driving Academy licensed by the Nevada DMV to offer behind-the-wheel training courses?
Although we include ProControl Driving Academy in our directory of driving schools for Reno Nevada, we cannot make any assurances about whether or not ProControl Driving Academy is certified by the Nevada DMV.  You should contact ProControl Driving Academy directly and ask them if you are thinking about enrolling in their Reno Nevada behind-the-wheel training class.
I heard that parents can fill the role of driving instructor in Nevada, so taking a Reno behind-the-wheel training course like the one ProControl Driving Academy offers is not necessary. Is that true?
You should contact the Nevada DMV or a licensed driving school like ProControl Driving Academy and ask them.  While parent-taught driving instruction is permitted in some states, many states do NOT allow it.
Do you know if ProControl Driving Academy will let me take my behind-the-wheel training using an automatic-shift vehicle? I don't know anything about using a stick-shift.
Considering you're a brand new driver, you probably don't know a whole lot about driving ANY type of vehicle, be it a stick OR an automatic!  Nevertheless, if you have a preference, you probably should contact ProControl Driving Academy and see if they can accommodate you before registering for their behind-the-wheel training course.
What happens to those of us who live in a remote area? Will ProControl Driving Academy include instruction on how to drive on dirt roads, mountain roads, and other rugged?
If you live in a rural location, there is a high probability that a local driving school like ProControl Driving Academy will either want--or even be required--to tailor their instruction towards driving safely in your particular area.
Can 14-year-olds obtain instruction permits to drive in Nevada?
Most states have set the minimum age for applying for a learner's permit at 15 or 15 1/2.  However, some states do allow 14-year-olds to get a learner's permit.  You may want to contact the Nevada DMV or a Nevada-approved driver training school like ProControl Driving Academy to find out what the minimum age to drive is in Nevada.
Am I required to take a Reno Nevada classroom or online drivers education course before I can enroll in a driver training course through ProControl Driving Academy?
This requirement varies from state to state but most states do require new teen-aged drivers to take BOTH a classroom-based defensive driving course (generally 30 hours in length) AND a behind-the-wheel training course.  You should ask ProControl Driving Academy if they offer one or both programs.
I have to register for a behind-the-wheel class in Reno Nevada before Nevada will give me my driver's license. Does ProControl Driving Academy offer this type of course?
ProControl Driving Academy does offer the driver training course in Reno Nevada that is required by the State of Nevada.  You will need to contact ProControl Driving Academy directly for more information about the driver courses they offer and their class schedules.
What type of driver ed do I need before Nevada will give me a driver's license?
Each state has its own requirements concerning drivers education, although you should know that most states now require all new, young drivers to sign up to take a drivers education classroom or online course as well as a behind-the-wheel training course.  ProControl Driving Academy may be able to help you fulfill the driver training requirement in Nevada.  Please contact either ProControl Driving Academy or the Nevada DMV for more information.
Is it necessary for me to sign up for a behind-the-wheel training course in order to get my first Nevada driver's license?
Yes, it is.  All teen-aged drivers applying for their first driver's license in Nevada are required to take a state-approved driver training course.
Can I enroll in a Nevada driver training course prior to having my Nevada learners permit?
Most states require pre-licensed drivers to hold a instruction permit before being permitted to register for a driver training course.  You should contact a driving school like ProControl Driving Academy and ask for more information.