Peninsula Driving AcademyFAQ's
Peninsula Driving Academy's address and phone number is listed on your webpage. How can I find out if it is an approved behind the wheel training school in Alaska?
Even though we provide a list of driver training schools on our website, we have no way of knowing for sure as to whether or not a particular school is licensed by the Alaska DMV to offer behind-the-wheel training courses. We strongly suggest that you contact Peninsula Driving Academy directly or check with the Alaska DMV to find out for sure if Peninsula Driving Academy is a licensed school.
Do I have to take a driver training course? Can't my parents just give me my behind-the-wheel training?
There are some states that do allow parents or guardians to provide their teen-aged kids' required behind-the-wheel training in order to obtain a driver's license. However many states do not allow any type of substitution for enrolling in a professionally-taught behind-the-wheel training course. We suggest you contact your state's DMV to find out what the laws are in your state regarding behind-the-wheel training.
I don't know how to drive using a stick-shift. Will Peninsula Driving Academy have an automatic-shift car available that I can use for my behind-the-wheel training?
Since you're enrolling in a Sterling Alaska behind-the-wheel training class, chances are good that you don't know how to drive either a stick-shift OR an automatic! However, you should let Peninsula Driving Academy know what your preference is before enrolling in their driver class. That way you'll know for sure they will accommodate you.
Since I live way out in the country where driving on dirt roads and rugged terrain is the norm, will Peninsula Driving Academy be able to teach me how to drive in a non-urban environment? Or do they only prepare you for city-driving?
Since you live in the country, odds are that any local driving school in your area such as Peninsula Driving Academy will want you to be able to drive safely on dirt roads and rugged terrain. We recommend that you contact Peninsula Driving Academy directly to find out exactly what they offer.
I just turned 14 years old. Can I receive my learner's permit in Alaska?
Probably not. The minimum age requirement for holding a learners permit in most states is 15 1/2. You should contact the Alaska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) or a licensed driver training institute such as Peninsula Driving Academy to find out more information about the minimum age requirement in Alaska.
Do I have to complete a Sterling Alaska drivers education classroom course or online course before registering for one of Peninsula Driving Academy's driver training courses?
Each state has its own rules, but most states will require first-time drivers to take both a driver training course plus either a drivers education classroom course (which are about 30 hours in length) or an approved online defensive driving course. You may want to ask Peninsula Driving Academy if they offer one or both programs.
I'm required to take a behind-the-wheel training course in Sterling Alaska. Do you know if Peninsula Driving Academy offers driver training classes in Sterling Alaska?
Yes, Peninsula Driving Academy does offer behind-the-wheel training courses in Sterling Alaska. For more information about their class schedule and how/when to sign up for one of their defensive driving courses, please contact Peninsula Driving Academy directly.
I live in Sterling Alaska. What requirements must I meet to be able to get my first Alaska driver's license?
It depends on the particular laws of Alaska, but most states require teen-aged first-time license applicants to successfully complete both a safe driving classroom course and a behind-the-wheel training course. Peninsula Driving Academy may offer courses which would meet the behind-the-wheel training requirement, however you will need to contact them directly to find out exactly what types of courses they offer.
Am I obligated to take a Sterling Alaska driver training course?
All drivers in Alaska must take a driver training course. You should contact Peninsula Driving Academy to learn more about the courses they offer.
Is it okay for me to register for a behind-the-wheel training class in Alaska before I receive my Alaska learners permit to drive?
Probably not. Most states require first-time drivers to have their instruction permit before they are allowed to enroll in a behind-the-wheel training program. You should contact a driving school like Peninsula Driving Academy and request more information.