Northern Industrial TrainingFAQ's
Is Northern Industrial Training an approved driving school in Alaska?
Just because a driving school appears on our directory of driver training institutions, we cannot guarantee that they are fully licensed to offer hands-on driving courses in Alaska. We highly recommend that you contact Northern Industrial Training directly or the Alaska DMV to find out for sure if Northern Industrial Training offers behind-the-wheel training courses that have been approved by the State of Alaska.
Somebody told me that I can skip out of attending a driver training school if my parents give me behind-the-wheel training instead. Is that permissible in Alaska?
Each state has its own rules regarding driver training. Some states will allow parentally-supervised driver training as a substitute for attending a behind-the-wheel training course which is taught by a professional driving instructor. However, not all states allow this. You should contact the Alaska DMV to find out for sure.
What happens if I don't know how to operate a manual-shift vehicle? Will Northern Industrial Training allow me to do my behind-the-wheel training with an automatic-shift car?
Considering you're a brand new driver, you probably don't know much about operating any type of automobile--stick-shift or automatic-shift! However, if you prefer to complete your driver training using an automatic-shift vehicle, you should contact Northern Industrial Training and inform them before you register for their driver training course. That way you will know for certain if they will accommodate you.
I live in a small rural community, where there are a lot of small, unpaved roads. Will my behind-the-wheel training with Northern Industrial Training include being taught how to drive in rural areas? Or do they just offer training for city driving?
Most local driving schools will likely want their students to know how to drive safely in the local area. Therefore, chances are good that the behind-the-wheel training you receive from Northern Industrial Training will include handling dirt roads and mountain driving.
Now that I'm 14, will Alaska allow me to get an instruction permit to drive?
Not likely. Most states require residents to be at least 15 or 15 1/2 years old before applying for an instruction permit. We recommend that your contact the Alaska DMV office or a Alaska-approved driving school such as Northern Industrial Training to learn more about the minimum driving age requirement in Alaska.
Can I take Northern Industrial Training's behind-the-wheel training course before taking a Palmer Alaska drivers education classroom course or online course?
It depends on what Alaska's laws prescribe. However, you should know that most states will require teen-aged, first-time drivers to complete both a defensive driving classroom course (which are approximately 30 hours in length, depending on Alaska's laws) or an approved online course, plus a state-approved driver training course. We recommend that you contact Northern Industrial Training directly to see if they offer either (or both) of these courses.
Does Northern Industrial Training provide a driver training course like the one that is required by the State of Alaska? I need to complete one in order to obtain my driver license.
Northern Industrial Training offers behind-the-wheel training courses which are approved by the Alaska DMV. You may want to contact Northern Industrial Training directly for more information about their courses and how to go about registering for one.
What type of driver ed do I need before Alaska will give me a driver's license?
Each state has its own requirements concerning drivers education, although you should know that most states now mandate all new, young drivers to enroll in a drivers education classroom or online course as well as a behind-the-wheel training course. Northern Industrial Training may be able to help you meet the driver training requirement in Alaska. Please contact either Northern Industrial Training or the Alaska DMV for more information.
What are the laws in Alaska concerning driver training courses? Do I have to take one to get my driver's license?
Yes, you do. Alaska law states that new drivers enroll in an approved driver training course as a prerequisite to obtaining their first driver's license.
Am I required to receive my instruction permit in Alaska before I am allowed to enroll in a driver training course like the one Northern Industrial Training gives its students?
Laws vary from state to state, however most states do require that you obtain a learner's permit before you can sign up to take a behind-the-wheel training course like the one that Northern Industrial Training gives its students.