First Step Driving SchoolFAQ's
How do I know if First Step Driving School is licensed by Michigan's DMV to offer driver training courses?
While we do include First Step Driving School's contact information in our driving school directory, we cannot say with certainty as to whether First Step Driving School is licensed by the State of Michigan. We recommend that you either contact First Step Driving School directly or possibly the Michigan DMV to find out if First Step Driving School is a licensed driver training school.
Do I have to take a driver training course? Can't my parents just give me my driver training?
There are some states that do permit parents or guardians to provide their teen-aged kids' required driver training in order to obtain a driver's license. However many states do not allow any type of substitution for enrolling in a professionally-taught driver training course. We suggest you contact your state's DMV to find out what the laws are in your state regarding hands-on driving instruction.
I can't operate a manual-shift. Will First Step Driving School allow me to do my driver training on an automatic-shift vehicle?
We recommend that you contact First Step Driving School and ask them if you can do your behind-the-wheel training using a vehicle that has an automatic shift before signing up to take their behind-the-wheel training course.
Since I live way out in a remote location where driving on dirt roads and bumpy terrain is the norm, will First Step Driving School be able to teach me how to drive in a rural environment? Or do they only prepare you for city-driving?
Since you live in a remote location, odds are that any local driving school in your area such as First Step Driving School will want you to be able to drive safely on dirt roads and rugged terrain. We recommend that you contact First Step Driving School directly to find out exactly what they offer.
Are 14-year-olds permitted to apply for a learner's permit in Michigan?
Although a few states allow teen-agers to begin practicing how to drive at 14, most states have set the minimum age for which to receive an instruction permit at either 15 or 15½. You will need to contact the Michigan Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) or a licensed driving school like First Step Driving School to find out what the minimum age for driving is in Michigan.
Can I take First Step Driving School's behind-the-wheel training course before taking a Detroit Michigan drivers education classroom course or online course?
It depends on what Michigan's laws say. However, you should know that most states will require teen-aged, first-time drivers to complete both a drivers education classroom course (which are approximately 30 hours in length, depending on Michigan's laws) or an approved online course, plus a state-approved driver training course. We recommend that you contact First Step Driving School directly to see if they offer either (or both) of these courses.
Michigan's DMV has told me that I need to take a driver training course. Do you know if First Step Driving School offers this course or not?
First Step Driving School does offer the behind-the-wheel training course that Michigan requires all new teen-aged drivers to take. For more information about the courses First Step Driving School offers, we recommend that you contact First Step Driving School directly.
What type of driver ed do I need before Michigan will give me a driver's license?
Each state has its own requirements concerning drivers education, although you should know that most states now mandate all new, young drivers to register for a safe driving classroom or online course as well as a behind-the-wheel training course. First Step Driving School may be able to help you fulfill the driver training requirement in Michigan. Please contact either First Step Driving School or the Michigan DMV for more information.
Do I have to take a Detroit Michigan behind-the-wheel training course in order to get a driver's license?
Yes. All drivers in Michigan must enroll in an approved driver training course in order to receive a driver's license. Please contact First Step Driving School for information on the types of behind-the-wheel training courses they offer in Detroit Michigan.
Am I required to obtain my learner's permit in Michigan before I am permitted to sign up to take a driver training course like the one First Step Driving School gives its students?
Laws vary from state to state, however most states do require that you hold an learner's permit before you can sign up to take a driver training course like the one that First Step Driving School gives its students.