Driving School

Driving Center, The
1936 Oak Ridge Turnpike
Oak Ridge, TN 37830

Driving Center, TheFAQ's

Since Driving Center, The appears on your website, does this mean they've been approved by the Tennessee DMV to offer driver training courses?
The list of driver training schools on our webpage is provided as a convenience to our customers only.  We CANNOT guarantee that every single school listed is fully-certified by the Tennessee DMV.  You may want to call Driving Center, The directly to find out if they offer a state-certified behind-the-wheel training course.
I've been told that either of my parents can monitor my behind-the-wheel training, so I don't have to attend a Oak Ridge Tennessee driving school like Driving Center, The to fulfill my driver training requirement. Do you know if that's true or not?
You will need to contact the Tennessee DMV or a state-approved driver training school like Driving Center, The to find out.  Some states do allow parent-taught driving, but many states do not.
What happens if I don't know how to drive a manual-shift vehicle? Will Driving Center, The allow me to do my behind-the-wheel training with an automatic-shift car?
Considering you're a brand new driver, you probably don't know much about driving any type of automobile--stick-shift or automatic-shift!  However, if you prefer to complete your behind-the-wheel training using an automatic-shift vehicle, you should contact Driving Center, The and let them know before you enroll in their driver training course.  That way you will know for certain if they will accommodate you.
I live in a small rural town, where there are a lot of small, unpaved roads. Will my driver training with Driving Center, The include being taught how to drive in rural areas? Or do they just offer training for urban driving?
Most local driving schools will likely want their students to know how to drive safely in the local area.  Therefore, chances are good that the behind-the-wheel training you receive from Driving Center, The will include handling dirt roads and mountain driving.
Now that I'm 14, will Tennessee allow me to get a learner's permit to drive?
Not likely.  Most states require residents to be at least 15 or 15 1/2 years old before applying for a learner's permit.  We recommend that your contact the Tennessee DMV office or a Tennessee-approved driving school such as Driving Center, The to learn more about the minimum driving age requirement in Tennessee.
Can I take Driving Center, The's behind-the-wheel training course before taking a Oak Ridge Tennessee drivers education classroom course or online course?
It depends on what Tennessee's laws prescribe.  However, you should know that most states will require teen-aged, first-time drivers to complete both a drivers education classroom course (which are approximately 30 hours in length, depending on Tennessee's laws) or an approved online course, plus a state-approved behind-the-wheel training course.  We recommend that you contact Driving Center, The directly to see if they offer either (or both) of these courses.
Tennessee law says that I must successfully complete a driver training course in order to get licensed to drive in Oak Ridge Tennessee. Is this something that Driving Center, The can help me with?
Yes, Driving Center, The offers the Tennessee-approved hands-on driver training course.  For more information about their classes and instruction schedule, please contact Driving Center, The directly.
Exactly what type of driver training do I need in Oak Ridge Tennessee before I can get my Tennessee driver's license?
The prerequisites for getting a driver's licenses vary from state to state, however most states now require teen-agers who are looking to get their first driver's license to enroll in a drivers education classroom course as well as a driver training course.  We suggest that you contact a local driver training company such as Driving Center, The and ask if they offer a Tennessee-approved  driver training course which would fulfill Tennessee's driver's education requirements.
Is it necessary for me to complete a behind-the-wheel training course in order to get my first Tennessee driver's license?
Yes, it is.  All teen-aged drivers applying for their first driver's license in Tennessee must complete a state-approved behind-the-wheel training course.
Can I enroll in a Tennessee driver training course prior to having my Tennessee learners permit?
Most states require pre-licensed drivers to hold a instruction permit before being permitted to enroll in a behind-the-wheel training course.  You should contact a driving school like Driving Center, The and ask for more information.