Cross Roads Driving SchoolFAQ's
Is Cross Roads Driving School certified by the Minnesota DMV to offer driver training courses?
Although we include Cross Roads Driving School in our directory of driving schools for Bloomington Minnesota, we cannot make any assurances about whether or not Cross Roads Driving School is licensed by the Minnesota DMV. You should contact Cross Roads Driving School directly and ask them if you are thinking about enrolling in their Bloomington Minnesota behind-the-wheel training class.
Somebody told me that I can skip out of attending a driver training school if my parents give me behind-the-wheel training instead. Is that permissible in Minnesota?
Each state has its own rules regarding driver training. Some states will allow parentally-supervised behind-the-wheel training as a substitute for taking a driver training course which is taught by a professional driving instructor. However, not all states allow this. You should contact the Minnesota DMV to find out for sure.
I have no clue how to drive a manual-shift vehicle. What happens if Cross Roads Driving School makes me train on a manual-shift vehicle?
Considering the fact you are a brand new driver, you probably don't know much about operating ANY type of vehicle....manual OR automatic! If you prefer to do your behind-the-wheel training with an automatic-shift vehicle, you may want to call Cross Roads Driving School and let them know before you enroll in their behind-the-wheel training course. That way you'll know for sure whether Cross Roads Driving School will be able to accommodate you before you pay them any money.
What happens to those of us who live in a remote area? Will Cross Roads Driving School include instruction on how to drive on dirt roads, mountain roads, and other rugged?
If you live in a rural location, there is a high probability that a local driving school like Cross Roads Driving School will either want--or even be required--to tailor their instruction towards driving safely in your particular area.
I just turned 14 years old. Can I receive my instruction permit in Minnesota?
Probably not. The minimum age requirement for holding an instruction permit in most states is 15 1/2. You should contact the Minnesota Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) or a licensed driver training institute such as Cross Roads Driving School to find out more information about the minimum age requirement in Minnesota.
Can I take Cross Roads Driving School's driver training course before taking a Bloomington Minnesota drivers education classroom course or online course?
It depends on what Minnesota's laws say. However, you should know that most states will require teen-aged, first-time drivers to complete both a drivers education classroom course (which are approximately 30 hours in length, depending on Minnesota's laws) or an approved online course, plus a state-approved behind-the-wheel training course. We recommend that you contact Cross Roads Driving School directly to see if they offer either (or both) of these courses.
Minnesota's DMV has told me that I need to take a driver training course. Do you know if Cross Roads Driving School offers this course or not?
Cross Roads Driving School does offer the driver training course that Minnesota requires all new teen-aged drivers to take. For more information about the courses Cross Roads Driving School offers, we recommend that you contact Cross Roads Driving School directly.
Do I have to take drivers education to get a Minnesota driver's license?
Drivers education requirements vary depending on which state you live in, but you should be aware that most states require new, teen-aged drivers to register for both a behind-the-wheel training course in addition to a drivers education classroom or online course. You may wish to contact the Minnesota DMV to find out exactly what requirements you will need to fulfill in order to obtain your first driver's license.
I live in Bloomington Minnesota and would like to apply for my first driver's license. Do I need to take a driver training course before I can be licensed?
Minnesota law requires that all new drivers sign up for an approved behind-the-wheel training program before receiving their Minnesota driver's license. Cross Roads Driving School may offer a driver training course that you are looking for. Please contact Cross Roads Driving School directly for complete information as to what types of driver training courses they offer.
Will Minnesota allow me to sign up to take a behind-the-wheel training course before I actually receive my instruction permit?
You will need to contact your state's DMV office to find out. However, most states require that you obtain your learner's permit before you register with a driver training course.