Courtesy Driving SchoolFAQ's
Is Courtesy Driving School a licensed driving school in Michigan?
Just because a driving school appears on our directory of driver training institutions, we cannot guarantee that they are fully licensed to offer behind-the-wheel training courses in Michigan. We highly recommend that you contact Courtesy Driving School directly or the Michigan DMV to find out for sure if Courtesy Driving School offers behind-the-wheel training courses that have been approved by the State of Michigan.
I heard that parents can fill the role of driving supervisor in Michigan, so taking a Shelby Township behind-the-wheel training course like the one Courtesy Driving School offers is not necessary. Is that true?
You should contact the Michigan DMV or a licensed driver training school like Courtesy Driving School and ask them. While parent-taught driving instruction is permitted in some states, many states do NOT allow it.
I can't operate a stick-shift. Will Courtesy Driving School allow me to complete my behind-the-wheel training on an automatic-shift vehicle?
We recommend that you contact Courtesy Driving School and ask them if you can do your driver training using a vehicle that has an automatic shift before enrolling in their driver training course.
What happens to those of us who live in a non-urban area? Will Courtesy Driving School include instruction on how to drive on dirt roads, mountain roads, and other rugged?
If you live in a rural location, there is a high probability that a local driving school like Courtesy Driving School will either want--or even be required--to tailor their instruction towards driving safely in your particular locale.
Can 14-year-olds obtain instruction permits to drive in Michigan?
Most states have set the minimum age for applying for a learner's permit at 15 or 15 1/2. However, some states do allow 14-year-olds to get an instruction permit. You may want to contact the Michigan DMV or a Michigan-approved driver training school like Courtesy Driving School to find out what the minimum age to drive is in Michigan.
Will I be required to complete both a drivers education classroom or online course and a driver training course in Shelby Township Michigan?
It depends on which state you live in, but many states now mandate new teen-aged drivers to sign up for both a drivers education course as well as a driver training course.
I have to take a behind-the-wheel training course in Shelby Township Michigan. Can I meet this requirement by signing up with Courtesy Driving School?
Yes, Courtesy Driving School offers behind-the-wheel training courses in Shelby Township Michigan. You will need to contact Courtesy Driving School directly to get more information on the types of courses they offer and when to sign up for a class.
What type of driver ed do I need before Michigan will give me a driver's license?
Each state has its own requirements concerning drivers education, although you should know that most states now mandate all new, young drivers to enroll in a drivers education classroom or online course as well as a behind-the-wheel training course. Courtesy Driving School may be able to help you fulfill the driver training requirement in Michigan. Please contact either Courtesy Driving School or the Michigan DMV for more information.
What does the law in Michigan say about driver training courses? Do I have to take one to get my driver's license?
Yes, you do. Michigan law states that new drivers successfully complete an approved behind-the-wheel training course as a prerequisite to obtaining their first driver's license.
Is it okay for me to register for a behind-the-wheel training class in Michigan before I receive my Michigan learners permit to drive?
Probably not. Most states require first-time drivers to have their instruction permit before they are allowed to register for a driver training program. You should contact a driving school like Courtesy Driving School and request more information.