Chicago Driving SchoolFAQ's
Chicago Driving School is listed on your website as a driving school which offers driver training courses. How do I know if Chicago Driving School is a certified school in Illinois?
While we include a list of driving schools on our website for your convenience, we cannot guarantee that every single one of them is currently licensed by the Illinois DMV. We suggest you contact Chicago Driving School directly or the Illinois DMV to find out if Chicago Driving School is a fully-accredited driver training school.
Could I just have my mother or father give me my behind-the-wheel training instead of paying money to enroll in a professional behind-the-wheel training course?
It depends on which state you live in. There are some states which allow you to complete your hands-on driver training with a parent or guardian instead of enrolling in a professional driving school. However many states require that first-time drivers take a professionally-taught behind-the-wheel training course. We recommend that you ask your state's DMV office to find out if your parent or guardian can fill the role as your behind-the-wheel driving instructor.
I can't drive a stick-shift. Will Chicago Driving School allow me to complete my driver training on an automatic-shift vehicle?
We recommend that you contact Chicago Driving School and ask them if you can do your driver training using a vehicle that has an automatic shift before signing up to take their behind-the-wheel training course.
I live in a small mountain community, where there are a lot of small, unpaved roads. Will my driver training with Chicago Driving School include learning how to drive in rural areas? Or do they just offer training for city driving?
Most local driving schools will likely want their students to be taught how to drive safely in the local area. Therefore, chances are good that the behind-the-wheel training you receive from Chicago Driving School will include handling unpaved roads and mountain driving.
Can 14-year-olds obtain instruction permits to drive in Illinois?
Most states have set the minimum age for applying for a learner's permit at 15 or 15 1/2. However, some states do allow 14-year-olds to obtain an instruction permit. You may want to contact the Illinois DMV or a Illinois-approved driver training school like Chicago Driving School to find out what the minimum age to drive is in Illinois.
Am I required to take a Chicago Illinois classroom or online drivers education course before I can sign up to take a driver training course through Chicago Driving School?
This requirement varies from state to state but most states do mandate pre-licensed drivers to take BOTH a classroom-based defensive driving course (generally 30 hours in length) AND a driver training course. You should ask Chicago Driving School if they offer one or both programs.
Illinois's DMV has told me that I need to take a driver training course. Do you know if Chicago Driving School offers this course or not?
Chicago Driving School does offer the behind-the-wheel training course that Illinois requires all new teen-aged drivers to take. For more information about the courses Chicago Driving School offers, we recommend that you contact Chicago Driving School directly.
What are the prerequisites in Chicago Illinois for getting a drivers license?
It depends on your state's laws, however in many states, teen-agers must complete both a safe driving classroom course and a driver training course. Chicago Driving School may offer an approved behind-the-wheel training course which you could take. Please contact Chicago Driving School for information regarding their available classes and how to go about registering for them.
Is it necessary for me to enroll in a behind-the-wheel training course in order to get my first Illinois driver's license?
Yes, it is. All teen-aged drivers applying for their first driver's license in Illinois are required to take a state-approved behind-the-wheel training course.
Do I have to obtain my instruction permit in Illinois before I am allowed to sign up to take a behind-the-wheel training course like the one Chicago Driving School gives its students?
Laws vary from state to state, however most states do require that you receive a learner's permit before you can sign up to take a driver training course like the one that Chicago Driving School gives its students.