Carolina School of DrivingFAQ's
Can you tell me if Carolina School of Driving is a certified driver training school in North Carolina?
Although Carolina School of Driving is listed on our list of driving schools in your area, we are unable to say with certainty as to whether they are currently licensed to teach driver training courses in North Carolina. We recommend either calling Carolina School of Driving directly or the North Carolina DMV to find out whether or not Carolina School of Driving offers behind-the-wheel training courses that are state-approved.
Could I just have my mother or father give me my behind-the-wheel training instead of paying money to attend a professional behind-the-wheel training course?
It depends on which state you live in. There are some states which allow you to complete your hands-on driver training with a parent or guardian instead of attending a professional driving school. However many states require that first-time drivers take a professionally-taught behind-the-wheel training course. We recommend that you ask your state's DMV office to find out if your parent or guardian can fill the role as your behind-the-wheel driving instructor.
What if I don't know how to drive a manual-shift automobile? Does Carolina School of Driving have automatic-shift vehicles that I can drive when I do my driver training?
If you're taking a Charlotte North Carolina behind-the-wheel training class, chances are you don't know how to drive ANY vehicle yet-- manual or automatic. However, if you prefer an automatic vehicle then you should tell Carolina School of Driving that prior to registering for the course in order to make sure they can accommodate you.
I live out in the middle of nowhere. There are rural and mountain roads everywhere. Will Carolina School of Driving train me how to drive in BOTH rural AND city areas?
If you live in a rural or mountain community, chances are that a local driving instruction institute like Carolina School of Driving will include driving lessons specifically tailored to that terrain.
Now that I'm 14, will North Carolina allow me to get a learner's permit to drive?
Not likely. Most states require residents to be at least 15 or 15 1/2 years old before applying for an instruction permit. We recommend that your contact the North Carolina DMV office or a North Carolina-approved driving school such as Carolina School of Driving to learn more about the minimum driving age requirement in North Carolina.
Can I take Carolina School of Driving's behind-the-wheel training course before taking a Charlotte North Carolina defensive driving classroom course or online course?
It depends on what North Carolina's laws prescribe. However, you should know that most states will require teen-aged, first-time drivers to complete both a defensive driving classroom course (which are approximately 30 hours in length, depending on North Carolina's laws) or an approved online course, plus a state-approved driver training course. We recommend that you contact Carolina School of Driving directly to see if they offer either (or both) of these courses.
I am looking to enroll in a Charlotte North Carolina defensive driving course. Can Carolina School of Driving assist me with this?
Yes. Drivers education courses are available in Charlotte North Carolina through Carolina School of Driving. Please contact Carolina School of Driving directly with questions regarding their schedule of classes and registration information.
Do I have to take drivers education to get a North Carolina driver's license?
Drivers education requirements vary depending on which state you live in, but you should be aware that most states require new, teen-aged drivers to complete both a driver training course in addition to a drivers education classroom or online course. You may wish to contact the North Carolina DMV to find out exactly what requirements you will need to satisfy in order to obtain your first driver's license.
Is hands-on driver training required in North Carolina in order to be licensed to drive a car?
Absolutely. All new drivers in North Carolina must enroll in an approved driver training course before they can be issued a license to independently drive a motor vehicle.
Can I enroll in a North Carolina-certified behind-the-wheel training course even if I don't have my North Carolina learners permit yet?
Most likely, no. Most states have laws that mandate a pre-licensed driver to have obtained a North Carolina learners permit before registering in a North Carolina driver training course. It would be best for you to contact a driving school such as Carolina School of Driving and ask for more information.