Capital Driving SchoolFAQ's
How do I know if Capital Driving School is licensed by Michigan's DMV to offer driver training courses?
While we do include Capital Driving School's contact information in our driving school directory, we cannot say with certainty as to whether Capital Driving School is certified by the State of Michigan. We recommend that you either contact Capital Driving School directly or possibly the Michigan DMV to find out if Capital Driving School is a licensed driver training school.
Is it true that my mom or dad can be my driving instructor when I do my behind-the-wheel training instead of a professional driver training school instructor like the ones they have at Capital Driving School?
It depends on what your state's laws are. You should contact the Michigan DMV or a licensed driving school like Capital Driving School to find out if Michigan allows driver training with a parent.
I have no clue how to drive a manual-shift vehicle. What happens if Capital Driving School makes me train on a manual-shift vehicle?
Considering the fact you are a brand new driver, you probably don't know much about operating ANY type of vehicle....stick OR automatic! If you prefer to do your hands-on driver training with an automatic-shift vehicle, you may want to call Capital Driving School and let them know before you sign up to take their driver training course. That way you'll know for sure whether Capital Driving School will be able to accommodate you before you pay them any money.
What happens to those of us who live in a rural area? Will Capital Driving School include instruction on how to drive on dirt roads, mountain roads, and other bumpy terrain?
If you live in a remote location, there is a high probability that a local driving school like Capital Driving School will either want--or even be required--to tailor their instruction towards driving safely in your particular area.
Can 14-year-olds get learner's permits to drive in Michigan?
Most states have set the minimum age for applying for an instruction permit at 15 or 15 1/2. However, some states do allow 14-year-olds to get an instruction permit. You may want to contact the Michigan DMV or a Michigan-approved driver training school like Capital Driving School to find out what the minimum age to drive is in Michigan.
I live in Northville Michigan. Does the law say I have to successfully complete both a drivers education classroom or online course and a behind-the-wheel training course in order to be fully-licensed here?
Each state has its own laws in regards to licensing procedures. However, most states do require that new, teen-aged drivers enroll in both a driver training course plus either a drivers education online course or drivers education classroom course .
I have to take a defensive driving course in Northville Michigan. Can I meet this requirement by enrolling in Capital Driving School?
Yes, Capital Driving School offers behind-the-wheel training courses in Northville Michigan. You will need to contact Capital Driving School directly to get more information on the types of courses they offer and when to register for a class.
I live in Northville Michigan. What are the requirements for me to be able to get my first Michigan driver's license?
It depends on the particular laws of Michigan, but most states require teen-aged first-time license applicants to successfully complete both a drivers education classroom course and a driver training course. Capital Driving School may offer courses which would meet the behind-the-wheel training requirement, however you will need to contact them directly to find out exactly what types of courses they offer.
What does the law in Michigan say about driver training courses? Do I have to take one to get my driver's license?
Yes, you do. Michigan law states that new drivers take an approved behind-the-wheel training course as a prerequisite to obtaining their first driver's license.
Do I have to receive my instruction permit in Michigan before I am permitted to sign up to take a driver training course like the one Capital Driving School gives its students?
Laws vary from state to state, however most states do require that you receive an learner's permit before you can enroll in a driver training course like the one that Capital Driving School gives its students.