American Defensive Driving SchoolFAQ's
Is American Defensive Driving School a certified driving school in Illinois?
Just because a driving school appears on our directory of driver training institutions, we cannot guarantee that they are fully licensed to offer behind-the-wheel training courses in Illinois. We highly recommend that you contact American Defensive Driving School directly or the Illinois DMV to find out for sure if American Defensive Driving School offers hands-on driving courses that have been approved by the State of Illinois.
Do you know if I can complete my driver training with my mother or father instead of attending a behind-the-wheel training course like the ones offered by American Defensive Driving School?
Some states allow teen-agers to complete their behind-the-wheel training with their parents instead of attending a professional driving school. We recommend that you contact the Illinois DMV or American Defensive Driving School directly to find out if Illinois allows parent-taught driver training.
What if I don't know how to drive a vehicle with a stick-shift? Does American Defensive Driving School have an automatic-shift vehicle they'll let me train with?
Since you're just learning how to drive, you probably don't know how to operate either a stick-shift or an automatic-shift vehicle! However, if you have a preference as to a stick or an automatic, you probably should call American Defensive Driving School to see if they can accommodate your request prior to your enrolling in their driver training course.
Since I live way out in a remote location where driving on dirt roads and bumpy terrain is the norm, will American Defensive Driving School be able to teach me how to drive in a non-urban environment? Or do they only prepare you for city-driving?
Since you live in a remote location, odds are that any local driving school in your area such as American Defensive Driving School will want you to be able to drive safely on unpaved roads and rugged terrain. We recommend that you contact American Defensive Driving School directly to find out exactly what they offer.
Now that I'm 14, will Illinois allow me to get an instruction permit to drive?
Not likely. Most states require residents to be at least 15 or 15 1/2 years old before applying for a learner's permit. We recommend that your contact the Illinois DMV office or a Illinois-approved driver training institute such as American Defensive Driving School to learn more about the minimum driving age requirement in Illinois.
Do I have to complete a Evanston Illinois drivers education classroom course or online course before enrolling in one of American Defensive Driving School's driver training courses?
Each state has its own rules, but most states will require first-time drivers to take both a behind-the-wheel training course plus either a drivers education classroom course (which are about 30 hours in length) or an approved online drivers education course. You may want to ask American Defensive Driving School if they offer one or both programs.
Illinois law says that I must sign up to take a hands-on driver training course in order to get licensed to drive in Evanston Illinois. Is this something that American Defensive Driving School can help me with?
Yes, American Defensive Driving School offers the Illinois-approved behind-the-wheel training course. For more information about their classes and instruction schedule, please contact American Defensive Driving School directly.
What do I need to do to get a Illinois drivers license in Evanston Illinois?
Most states require that teen-agers who are applying for their first driver's license complete both a drivers education classroom course and a driver training course. American Defensive Driving School may be able to help you fulfill the driver training portion in Illinois. Please contact American Defensive Driving School for more information.
Am I required to take a Evanston Illinois driver training course?
All drivers in Illinois are required to take a behind-the-wheel training course. You should contact American Defensive Driving School to learn more about the courses they offer.
Can I register for a Illinois-certified driver training course even if I don't have my Illinois learners permit yet?
Most likely, no. Most states have laws that require a pre-licensed driver to have obtained a Illinois learners permit before registering in a Illinois driver training course. It would be best for you to contact a driving school such as American Defensive Driving School and ask for more information.