AA Drivers Educational SchoolFAQ's
Is AA Drivers Educational School certified by the Alaska DMV to offer driver training courses?
Although we include AA Drivers Educational School in our directory of driving schools for Anchorage Alaska, we cannot make any assurances about whether or not AA Drivers Educational School is licensed by the Alaska DMV. You should contact AA Drivers Educational School directly and ask them if you are thinking about enrolling in their Anchorage Alaska driver training class.
Somebody told me that I can skip out of attending a driver training school if my parents give me behind-the-wheel training instead. Is that permissible in Alaska?
Each state has its own rules regarding behind-the-wheel training. Some states will allow parentally-supervised driver training as a substitute for attending a driver training course which is taught by a professional driving instructor. However, not all states allow this. You should contact the Alaska DMV to find out for sure.
I have no clue how to drive a stick-shift vehicle. What happens if AA Drivers Educational School makes me train on a stick-shift vehicle?
Considering the fact you are a brand new driver, you probably don't know much about operating ANY type of vehicle....manual OR automatic! If you prefer to do your hands-on driver training with an automatic-shift vehicle, you may want to call AA Drivers Educational School and let them know before you sign up to take their behind-the-wheel training course. That way you'll know for sure whether AA Drivers Educational School can accommodate you before you pay them any money.
The area in which I live is mostly undeveloped--very few paved roads and mountains are all around. Will AA Drivers Educational School be able to teach me how to drive safely on rugged terrain as well as in a city or town?
Considering that you live in a remote area, chances are excellent that a local driving school like AA Drivers Educational School will want you to be able to drive safely on unpaved roads and other types of rugged terrain. You may wish to contact AA Drivers Educational School to find out exactly what their behind-the-wheel training course includes before enrolling in their training course.
Can 14-year-olds get instruction permits to drive in Alaska?
Most states have set the minimum age for applying for a learner's permit at 15 or 15 1/2. However, some states do allow 14-year-olds to get an instruction permit. You may want to contact the Alaska DMV or a Alaska-approved driver training school like AA Drivers Educational School to find out what the minimum age to drive is in Alaska.
Do I have to take both a defensive driving classroom course and a driver training course in Anchorage Alaska to get my Alaska driver's license?
The laws vary depending on which state you live in, but most states do require that pre-licensed drivers enroll in a defensive driving classroom course and a driver training course. You may want to call a driving instruction company like AA Drivers Educational School and find out if they offer either (or both) of these programs.
I have to take a drivers education course in Anchorage Alaska. Can I meet this requirement by registering with AA Drivers Educational School?
Yes, AA Drivers Educational School offers behind-the-wheel training courses in Anchorage Alaska. You will need to contact AA Drivers Educational School directly to get more information on the types of courses they offer and when to sign up for a class.
I live in Anchorage Alaska. What are the requirements for me to be able to get my first Alaska driver's license?
It depends on the particular laws of Alaska, but most states require teen-aged first-time license applicants to successfully complete both a drivers education classroom course and a driver training course. AA Drivers Educational School may offer courses which would meet the driver training requirement, however you will need to contact them directly to find out exactly what types of courses they offer.
What are the laws in Alaska concerning driver training courses? Do I have to take one to get my driver's license?
Yes, you do. Alaska law states that new drivers enroll in an approved driver training course as a prerequisite to getting their first driver's license.
Will Alaska allow me to enroll in a driver training course before I actually get my instruction permit?
You will need to contact your state's DMV office to find out. However, most states require that you obtain your instruction permit before you register with a driver training course.