A Premier Driving SchoolFAQ's
Are all the driving schools listed on your website fully-licensed by the California DMV to offer behind-the-wheel training courses in California?
The driving school directory on our website is for your convenience only, and we cannot absolutely guarantee that every driving school listed is currently accredited to offer behind-the-wheel training courses in California. We suggest you contact the California DMV to make sure a particular driving school is licensed before you enroll in their driving course.
Do I have to take a behind-the-wheel training course? Can't my parents just give me my driver training?
There are some states that do allow parents or guardians to provide their teen-aged kids' required driver training in order to obtain a driver's license. However many states do not allow any type of substitution for enrolling in a professionally-taught driver training course. We suggest you contact your state's DMV to find out what the laws are in your state regarding hands-on driving instruction.
I can't operate a manual-shift. Will A Premier Driving School allow me to complete my driver training on an automatic-shift vehicle?
We recommend that you contact A Premier Driving School and ask them if you can do your driver training using a vehicle that has an automatic shift before signing up to take their driver training course.
I live out in the middle of nowhere. There are rural and mountain roads everywhere. Will A Premier Driving School train me how to drive in BOTH rural AND city areas?
If you live in a rural or mountain community, chances are that a local driving instruction institute like A Premier Driving School will include behind-the-wheel driver training specifically tailored to that terrain.
Can 14-year-olds get instruction permits to drive in California?
Most states have set the minimum age for applying for a learner's permit at 15 or 15 1/2. However, some states do allow 14-year-olds to obtain an instruction permit. You may want to contact the California DMV or a California-approved driver training school like A Premier Driving School to find out what the minimum age to drive is in California.
Do I have to take both a defensive driving classroom course and a behind-the-wheel training course in San Diego California to get my California driver's license?
The laws vary depending on which state you live in, but most states do require that pre-licensed drivers enroll in a defensive driving classroom course and a behind-the-wheel training course. You may want to call a driving instruction company like A Premier Driving School and find out if they offer either (or both) of these programs.
I have to take a behind-the-wheel training course in San Diego California. Can I meet this requirement by signing up with A Premier Driving School?
Yes, A Premier Driving School offers defensive driving courses in San Diego California. You will need to contact A Premier Driving School directly to get more information on the types of courses they offer and when to register for a class.
What type of driver ed do I need before California will give me a driver's license?
Each state has its own requirements concerning drivers education, although you should know that most states now mandate all new, young drivers to sign up to take a safe driving classroom or online course as well as a behind-the-wheel training course. A Premier Driving School may be able to help you fulfill the driver training requirement in California. Please contact either A Premier Driving School or the California DMV for more information.
Is it necessary for me to sign up for a driver training course in order to get my first California driver's license?
Yes, it is. All teen-aged drivers applying for their first driver's license in California are required to take a state-approved driver training course.
Is it possible to sign up to take a California-certified driver training course before I obtain my California learners permit?
It depends on what the specific laws are in California, however most states require first-time drivers to receive an learners permit before signing up for a behind-the-wheel training course. We recommend you contact a driving school such as A Premier Driving School to obtain more information.