A-1 Driving SchoolFAQ's
Can you tell me if A-1 Driving School is a licensed driving school in Virginia?
Although A-1 Driving School is listed on our list of driving schools in your area, we are unable to say with certainty as to whether they are currently licensed to teach behind-the-wheel training courses in Virginia. We recommend either calling A-1 Driving School directly or the Virginia DMV to find out whether or not A-1 Driving School offers behind-the-wheel training courses that are state-approved.
Could I just have my mother or father teach me how to drive instead of paying money to attend a professional driver training course?
It depends on which state you live in. There are some states which allow you to complete your hands-on driver training with a parent or guardian instead of enrolling in a professional driving school. However many states require that first-time drivers take a professionally-taught driver training course. We recommend that you check with your state's DMV office to find out if your parent or guardian can fill the role as your behind-the-wheel driving instructor.
What happens if I don't know how to operate a stick-shift vehicle? Will A-1 Driving School allow me to do my driver training with an automatic-shift automobile?
Considering you're a brand new driver, you probably don't know much about driving any type of automobile--manual-shift or automatic-shift! However, if you prefer to complete your behind-the-wheel training using an automatic-shift vehicle, you should contact A-1 Driving School and inform them before you enroll in their behind-the-wheel training course. That way you will know for certain if they will accommodate you.
Since I live way out in the country where driving on unpaved roads and bumpy terrain is the norm, will A-1 Driving School be able to teach me how to drive in a rural environment? Or do they only prepare you for city-driving?
Since you live in a remote location, odds are that any local driving school in your area such as A-1 Driving School will want you to be able to drive safely on unpaved roads and rugged terrain. We recommend that you contact A-1 Driving School directly to find out exactly what they offer.
Can 14-year-olds obtain learner's permits to drive in Virginia?
Most states have set the minimum age for applying for a learner's permit at 15 or 15 1/2. However, some states do allow 14-year-olds to get an instruction permit. You may want to contact the Virginia DMV or a Virginia-approved driver training school like A-1 Driving School to find out what the minimum age to drive is in Virginia.
Do you know if the laws in Virginia require new teen-aged drivers to successfully complete a driver training course in addition to a drivers education classroom or online course?
The laws vary from state to state, but many states do require you to enroll in a driver training course with "hands-on" practice in addition to a driver ed classroom or online course.
Does A-1 Driving School provide a hands-on driver training course like the one that is required by the State of Virginia? I need to sign up for one in order to obtain my driver license.
A-1 Driving School offers hands-on driver training courses which are approved by the Virginia DMV. You may want to contact A-1 Driving School directly for more information about their courses and how to go about registering for one.
What steps do I have to take in order to get a Virginia drivers license in Franklin Virginia?
Most states require that teen-agers who are applying for their first driver's license complete both a drivers education classroom course and a behind-the-wheel training course. A-1 Driving School may be able to help you fulfill the behind-the-wheel training portion in Virginia. Please contact A-1 Driving School for more information.
Is hands-on driver training required in Virginia in order to be licensed to operate a motor vehicle?
Absolutely. All new drivers in Virginia must enroll in an approved behind-the-wheel training course before they can be issued a license to independently drive a motor vehicle.
Do I need to have my instruction permit before I register for a driver training course like the one that A-1 Driving School offers?
You will need to contact A-1 Driving School or the Virginia DMV to find out if you are allowed to register with a driving school like A-1 Driving School before receiving your Virginia instruction permit.