New Jersey Online Driver Education and Online Driver Ed Courses
DriverEdToGo.com is the most popular driver education course in New Jersey. Welcome! The entire course is available online and has all you need to get your DMV learner’s permit.
- The course is available in multiple settings
- Certificate processing is done the same day as completion
- Satisfaction is guaranteed so you only pay if you stay
- With audio narration the course can be read aloud to you
- Round the clock customer and technical support
- Qualify for lower insurance rates
New Jersey Online Drivers Education and New Jersey Licensing Procedures
Congratulations on your first step in the application process for a New Jersey learner’s permit or New Jersey driver’s license. New Jersey teen drivers have the opportunity to enroll for a Graduated Driver License Program. There are several factors you need to have in mind so as to ensure the application process runs smoothly.
The New Jersey Instructional Permit or New Jersey Learner’s Permit
At age 16, you are eligible to apply for a New Jersey learner’s permit. Requirements are as follows:
- Identification document such as a US passport or Certificate of Citizenship
- A letter signed by a parent or guardian for consent
- The New Jersey driver’s license fee
- Proof of enrollment in a driver training course that is approved in New Jersey
With all the requirements as mentioned, head to your local New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) and apply. You are also required to pass a vision as well as a knowledge test. The New Jersey MVC’s Driver Manual can be of great help when preparing for the tests.
Note that you need to practice with a parent, guardian, licensed driver, or driving instructor who is at least 21 years of age and has no less than 3 years of driving experience. Remember to have your identification at all times and ensure all passengers wear their seat-belts. Driving between 11PM and 5AM is strictly prohibited even if under supervision by a licensed driver. In fact, you are only allowed to drive one non family member passenger. New Jersey also prohibits teenage drivers from using any electronic devices such as cellphones and hand held video games.
Upon turning 17 and having met all requirements, you are ready for the subsequent step in the Graduated License Program, the New Jersey Provisional license.
The New Jersey Provisional Driver License or New Jersey Full License
At 17, you are allowed to make an application for a New Jersey Provisional License. Present your proper ID at your local New Jersey MVC and take the dreaded road test. Passing the test means that you have earned your New Jersey provisional license. However, you will drive under a few restrictions until you turn 18.
New Jersey Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
- Wearing a seat-belt is compulsory for everyone
- Driving Between midnight and 5AM is not recommended unless for your job, a school related activity or emergencies
- A single non family member passenger is allowed
- The use of cell phones, hand held video games, or any other electronic devices while driving is prohibited
Turning 18 entitles you to head to your local New Jersey MVC to receive your basic driver license. Restrictions are then removed.
New Jersey Auto Insurance Financial Responsibility Laws
Receipt of your New Jersey learner’s permit or New Jersey Provisional driver’s license does not necessarily mean that you are ready to drive. New Jersey drivers have a legal obligation to be covered by liability insurance. The minimum liability coverage is as follows:
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP) of $15,000 per person, per accident
- $5,000 for property damage
- $10,000 bodily injury for @ or more persons per accident
- $250,000 for significant or permanent injury.
Driving in New Jersey without mandatory liability insurance as required by law could lead to the suspension of your license.
New Jersey Cell Phone Use, Text Messaging, and Drunk Driving laws
New Jersey has strict laws and a zero tolerance policy on drunken driving, cell phone use, and text messaging while driving. This is why it is very important to understand the laws as a teenager. If convicted for a New Jersey DUI or New Jersey DWI, there are additional penalties to the ones mentioned below.
- A jail sentence of up to 30 days
- Fine ranging from $250-$400
- Driver intervention Program
- Other DWI fees, a minimum of $525
- Auto insurance Surcharge of $1000 for 3 years
- License suspension of 3 months
- Attending an intoxicated Driver Resource Center 2 days a week for 6 hours a day
Further DUI convictions will result in increased jail time, fines, community service and New Jersey license suspension or revocation.
New Jersey law currently prohibits teen drivers from using cell phones, hand help video games, or other electronics unless it is hands-free. The fine ranges from $100 to $200.
New Jersey Online Drivers Ed
The New Jersey MVC website offers additional information and details on approved online driver education courses for New Jersey teen drivers.