Indiana Online Driver Education and Online Driver Ed Courses
You were looking for the nation’s favorite online drivers education courses, and you found DriverEdToGo.com! If you want to receive you Indiana learner’s permit, then you’re in the right place!
- Indiana BMV Approved
- Any Device, Any Time
- Immediate Certificate Processing
- Interactive Games & Animations
- 24/7 Access to Customer Support
Get Your License With Indiana Online Drivers Ed!
We offer 100% online courses that are state-approved to meet all your drivers ed requirements. In the state of Indiana there is a Graduated Driver License Program in place, so to receive your learner’s permit before you turn 16, our online Indiana drivers education course is custom created just for you.
Indiana Driver Education Bill of Rights
We are required by the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) to provide all new students with a link to the Driver Education Bill of Rights. This document outlines our responsibility as a driver education course provider in Indiana, as well as the student’s responsibilities while taking a driver education course. (Please Click here to read the Indiana Driver Education Bill of Rights)
What Do You Need to Get an Indiana Learner’s Permit?
If you’re at least 15, you can apply for a learner’s permit in Indiana as long as you’re enrolled in a driver’s education course approved by the Indiana BMV. A driver education course consists of 30 hours of classroom or online instruction and 6 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction with an approved driver education instructor. So when you head to the local BMV office, what will you need to bring with you?
After you provide all the appropriate application materials, you’ll be required to take two exams.
Teen drivers under the age of 18 must complete their 50-hour driving log with a licensed driver education instructor who is working under the direction of a licensed driver training school, a certified driver rehabilitation specialist recognized by the BMV who is employed through a driver rehabilitation program, a licensed driver at least 25 years of age and related to the teen driver by blood, marriage or legal status, or a spouse of the teen driver who is a licensed driver and at least 21 years of age.
Drivers with a valid learner’s permit over age 18 may drive with any licensed driver over the age of 25 or a spouse who is a licensed driver and at least 21 years of age.
What Do You Need to Get an Indiana Driver’s License?
There are some requirements that you need to meet in order to be eligible for probationary Indiana driver’s license.
- You must be at least 16 years and 90 days old with driver’s education or 16 years and 270 days old without driver’s education.
- You must hold your Indiana learner’s permit for 180 days and be in good standing.
- You must complete a minimum of 50 hours of supervised driving with a licensed driver education instructor who is working under the direction of a licensed driver training school, a certified driver rehabilitation specialist recognized by the BMV who is employed through a driver rehabilitation program, a licensed driver at least 25 years of age and related to the teen driver by blood, marriage or legal status, or a spouse of the teen driver who is a licensed driver and at least 21 years of age.
When you head to the Indiana BMV, you’ll need to take:
- Your Indiana learner’s permit.
- All of your required identification documents.
- A signed financial liability agreement.
Finally, you’ll be able to take the following Indiana driver’s license tests:
- Written Exam
- Vision Test
- The Official BMV Road Test
Also, keep in mind that the vehicle you take for your road test must be registered and insured. If you’ve made it this far, then congrats, you’ve finally earned your very first driver’s license! But remember, there are still a few restrictions until you turn 18.
Indiana Intermediate License Restrictions
With your intermediate driver’s license, there are certain restrictions you have to abide by until you turn 21-years-old.
- You may not be on the road between 10pm and 5am for the first 180 days.
After 180 days, you can’t drive during the following windows of time:
- 1am to 5am – Saturday and Sunday
- After 11pm – Sunday through Thursday
- Before 5am – Monday through Friday
There are exceptions to these rules, however. You can drive during these times if you are traveling to school, work, or church. You will get a Class C Indiana driver’s license and all restrictions will be removed when you turn 21, but this depends on whether or not in the last year you’ve had any major traffic violations.
Minimum Indiana Auto Insurance Coverage & Penalties
After you receive your driver’s license in Indiana, you will be required to have your vehicle covered by liability insurance. The minimum rates are:
- Bodily Injury – $25,000/$50,000
- Property Damage – $10,000
- Underinsured Motorists – $50,000
There are penalties if you’re found driving without liability insurance, and you could have your provisional license suspended. Get caught driving with a suspended license and you could get fined between $150 and $300.
Text Messaging, Cell Phone, & Drunk Driving Laws in Indiana
The state of Indiana takes text messaging, cell phone, and drunk driving very seriously, especially with new drivers.
A lot of penalties will follow your first Indiana DUI (0.08) conviction:
- 30 to 60 Day Jail Sentence
- Maximum $500 Fine
- Up to 2 Year License Suspension
- $300 in Court Fees
- 2 Years Probation
The penalties continue to increase with further DUI convictions and could lead to additional jail time, fines, community service, or having your Indiana license revoked.
Also, remember that all drivers up to 21-years-old are restricted from using any electronic devices while driving, and this means no texting either!
Is Indiana Online Drivers Ed For You?
To get more information about online drivers education courses in Indiana, head to the Indiana BMV website.