Dubuque Iowa Online Driver Education and Dubuque Iowa Licensing Procedures
Congratulations on starting the process of applying for your Dubuque Iowa learner's permit or first Dubuque Iowa driver license. Dubuque Iowa has a Graduated Driver License Program for Dubuque Iowa teen drivers, and there are a few things we want to make you aware of to ensure that applying for your Dubuque Iowa driving license goes as smoothly as possible. Here's what you need to know:
Dubuque Iowa Instructional Permit or Dubuque Iowa Learner Permit
When you turn 14, you can apply for an Dubuque Iowa learner's permit. In order to apply for your Dubuque Iowa learner's permit, you'll need to make an appointment at your local Dubuque Iowa driver's license station and then bring the following:
At the Dubuque Iowa Driver's License Station, you'll present all of these application materials and then take two tests:
- driving knowledge test
- vision screening test
If you survived, then congratulations. You've just earned your Dubuque Iowa learner's license, which is valid for 2 years. If you are enrolled in an approved Dubuque Iowa driver education program, you may practice with a certified driving instructor, a driver over 25 (with written permission from your parent or guardian), or with any members of your family over 21. After you've had your Dubuque Iowa learner permit for 6 months, you're ready to apply for your Dubuque Iowa intermediate license.
Your First Dubuque Iowa Driver's License
In order to apply for your first Dubuque Iowa driver's license, you'll need to make sure you follow a few Dubuque Iowa State requirements:
- keep your Dubuque Iowa learner's license for at least 6 months
- at least 2 hours must be of night driving
- must drive accident-free and violation-free for 6 consecutive months
- 30 hours of classroom instruction (including 4 hours of substance abuse education)
- complete 20 hours of supervised driving
- 6 hours laboratory, 3 of which must be behind the wheel
So when you're 16 and have met all of the Dubuque Iowa instruction permit conditions, head on down to your local Dubuque Iowa Driver's License Station with:
Then, take the dreaded road test. If you passed, then congratulations. You've just earned your Dubuque Iowa intermediate driver license! However, for the next year you'll have to abide by a few restrictions.
Dubuque Iowa Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
There are several restrictions you need to keep in mind regarding Dubuque Iowa intermediate driver's license: If you manage to drive without incident for 12 months, you can then apply for your Indiana full license!
- you may not drive between 12:30AM and 5AM without supervision
- the exception is if you have a waiver for driving to/from a work or school-related extracurricular activity
- you must drive without accidents or violations for 12 consecutive months
- during this year, you must complete 10 hours of supervised driving
- 2 of these hours must be at night
- all passengers must wear seat belts
Dubuque Iowa Auto Insurance Dubuque Iowa Financial Responsibility Laws
Once you receive your Dubuque Iowa driver's license, you're ready to drive--almost. Any vehicle registered in Dubuque Iowa must be covered by liability insurance. If you are found to be driving without Dubuque Iowa mandatory liability insurance, your Dubuque Iowa intermediate driver license could be suspended and you could be fined.
Dubuque Iowa Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
As a new Dubuque Iowa driver, it's important for you to learn and take seriously the Dubuque Iowa drunk driving, cell phone, and text messaging laws.
Upon your first conviction of a Dubuque Iowa DUI (0.08), you will face the following penalties:
- Jail sentence from a minimum 48 hours to 1 year
- Dubuque Iowa license suspension of 180 days
- $625-1,250 fine
And of course, further Dubuque Iowa DUI convictions will result in increased jail time, community service, fines, and Dubuque Iowa license suspension or even Dubuque Iowa license revocation.
Currently, Dubuque Iowa does not have a law prohibiting cell phones or text messaging.
Dubuque Iowa Online Driver Education
For information about approved Dubuque Iowa online driver education courses, see the Dubuque Iowa Driver's Manual.