Your Guide to Arnold Missouri Driver's Licensing Procedures
On behalf of the State of Missouri, we're delighted that you have chosen to start the process of applying for your Arnold Missouri learner's permit or first Arnold Missouri driver's license. There are a few things you need to know about Arnold Missouri's Graduated Driver license Program for Arnold Missouri teen drivers, to make sure that your experience getting your Arnold Missouri driver's license goes as smoothly as possible. So, what are we waiting for?
The Arnold Missouri Instructional Permit and Arnold Missouri learner's Permit
Beginning the adventure of learning to drive can be both exciting and nerve-racking. The following tips can help you stay on track. When you turn 15, you can apply for a Arnold Missouri learner's Permit. This license allows you to practice driving provided there's a parent, guardian, or driving instructor with you (but when you turn 16, you can also practice with a licensed driver who is 21). It is valid for 12 months, and can be renewed once.
To apply for a Arnold Missouri learner's permit you'll need the following:
- A qualified person must accompany you to sign a permission statement
- $3.50 fee
Bring these materials to your local Arnold Missouri Driver Examination Station. Then you'll have to pass the required road sign, vision, and written tests. Your reward for surviving this far is a Arnold Missouri learner's permit!
A few more things to keep in mind: all passengers must wear seatbelts, and you must carry your Arnold Missouri Instruction Permit with you at all times. After you've had your Arnold Missouri learner's permit for 182 days, you'll be ready for the next step in the Arnold Missouri Graduated License Program.
The Arnold Missouri Provisional License and Arnold Missouri Full License
The next stage is the Arnold Missouri provisional license. In order to apply, you'll need to make sure you've satisfied a few Arnold Missouri State requirements before heading down to the nearest Arnold Missouri Driver Examination Station:
- No traffic convictions within the last 6 months
- Bring the same information as for the Arnold Missouri learner's Permit
- $7.50 fee
- Hold your Arnold Missouri learner's Permit for at least 182 days
- No alcohol-related convictions for the last 12 months
- complete 40 hours of driving instruction
- 10 of these hours must be at night
If you've satisfied these requirements, head to the nearest Arnold Missouri Driver Service Center, where you'll pay the required fee and submit your Arnold Missouri intermediate License application. If it's been more than one year since you took the required vision, road sign, and written tests, you'll have to take them again. Once you get this far, all that's left is the dreaded road test. If you pass, then congratulations! You've just earned your Arnold Missouri intermediate driver license.
Arnold Missouri Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
Before you can be granted a full driver's license, you must show that you're able to drive responsibly with certain restrictions. Briefly, these are:
- You may not drive between 1AM and 5AM unless it is to or from a school activity, job, or emergency or you are accompanied by a licensed driver 21 or older
- For the first 6 months, you may not drive with more than one passenger who is under 19 (unless they're a member of your family)
- After the first 6 months, you may not drive with more than three passengers under 19 (unless they're family)
Once you've driven without any alcohol-related convictions or traffic violations for 12 months, you can receive your Arnold Missouri under-21 full driver license. You know the drill--just bring $10 to your local Arnold Missouri Driver License Station. And congrats again!
Arnold Missouri Auto Insurance Arnold Missouri Financial Responsibility Laws
Don't think you're ready to drive just because you now have a Arnold Missouri driver's license. You still must obtain liability insurance for your vehicle.
The minimum liability insurance coverage is:
- $25,000 per person for a single accident
- $50,000 bodily injury per accident
- $10,000 for property damage
- $25,000 bodily injury per person for Uninsured Motorists
- $50,000 bodily injury per accident for Uninsured Motorists
Driving without Arnold Missouri mandatory liability insurance carries a risk that your Arnold Missouri learner's permit or Arnold Missouri intermediate license could be suspended and you could be fined.
Arnold Missouri Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
Knowing the Arnold Missouri drunk driving, cell phone, and text messaging laws is necessary to ensure the safety of drivers and their passengers. This is especially true for a newer driver like yourself.
DUI Laws. Like most states, Arnold Missouri has a Zero Tolerance Law for underage drinking, and if you are convicted of a Arnold Missouri DUI or Arnold Missouri DWI, you face penalties in addition to those listed below.
Upon your first conviction of a Arnold Missouri DUI, you'll face the following penalties:
- Jail sentence up to 6 months
- License restriction 60 days
- $45 License Reinstatement fee
- Up to $500 fine
- Possible Ignition Interlock Device installation
- License suspension 30 days
We would hope you'd learn your lesson the first time, but further Arnold Missouri DUI convictions will result in increased jail time, community service, fines, and Arnold Missouri license suspension or even license revocation.
Cell Phone Use. Studies consistently show that cell phone use and driving are a dangerous combination. Currently, Arnold Missouri teen drivers are prohibited from using cell phones to text message while driving.
Arnold Missouri Online Driver Education
Arnold Missouri teen drivers can find more information about approved Arnold Missouri online driver education courses on the Arnold Missouri Department of Revenue Website.