Pay ONLY if you stay!
Take our course on any Device, including your phone!
Welcome to DriverEdToGo.com - the most popular
driver education course in
New Mexico. Our driver education
course is entirely online and contains everything you need to earn your DMV learner's
Congratulations on starting the process of applying for your New Mexico Learner’s Permit or first New Mexico driver’s license. New Mexico has a Graduated Driver License Program for New Mexico teen drivers, and there are a few things to keep in mind to make sure that applying for your first New Mexico driver’s license goes as smoothly as possible. So let’s get started.
The New Mexico Instructional Permit or New Mexico Learner’s Permit
When you turn 15, you can apply for a New Mexico Instructional Permit. You’ll need the following:
If you’ve got all of the necessary materials, head on down to your local New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) and submit your application. You’ll have to pay the instructional permit fee of $10, and don’t forget to bring your parent/guardian to sign your application. Then, you’ll have to pass a vision test, as well as a written test (unless you already have a certificate of completion from a New Mexico approved driver education course that includes a 3 hour DWI component. You can study for the New Mexico written test with the New Mexico driver handbook. If you pass, then congratulations. You’ve just earned your New Mexico Instructional Permit!
Remember, you must practice driving with your parent, guardian, driving instructor, or licensed driver who is at least 21 and has 3 or more years of driving experience. All passengers must wear seatbelts, and be sure to carry your New Mexico Instructional Permit with you at all times.
When you’ve held your New Mexico Instructional Permit for 6 months and have met a few requirements, you’ll be ready for the next step in the New Mexico Graduated License Program, the New Mexico Provisional license.
The New Mexico Provisional Driver License or New Mexico Full License
You can apply for your New Mexico Provisional license once you’ve held your New Mexico Instructional Permit for 6 months and have met the following requirements:
If you’ve completed these requirements, head on down to your local New Mexico MVD. Your parent/guardian must verify that you’ve completed the required 50 hour supervised driving practice by signing a driving log. Pay the license fee of $18. Then, unless you’ve already taken a road skills exam as part of your New Mexico approved driver education course, you’ll have to take the dreaded road test! If you pass, then congratulations. You’ve just earned your New Mexico Provisional License. However, you’ll still have to drive with a few restrictions until you’ve held your new license for at least 12 months without incident.
New Mexico Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
There are several restrictions you need to be aware of regarding your New Mexico Provisional license:
After you’ve held your New Mexico Provisional License for 12 months without incident, you can return to your local New Mexico MVD to apply for your New Mexico Full License. The fee is $18 for 4 years and $34 for 8 years. Best of all, most restrictions are removed. Freedom!
New Mexico Auto Insurance Financial Responsibility Laws
Once you receive your New Mexico Learner’s Permit or New Mexico Provisional driver’s license, you’re ready to drive--or are you? Not quite yet, because New Mexico drivers are required by law to be covered by liability insurance. The minimum liability insurance coverage is:
If you are in an accident and found to be driving without New Mexico mandatory liability insurance, your New Mexico license could be suspended.
New Mexico Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
As a New Mexico teen driver, it’s important for you to learn the New Mexico drunk driving, cell phone, and text messaging laws. Like most state, New Mexico has a Zero Tolerance Law for underage drinking, and if you are convicted of a New Mexico DUI or New Mexico DWI, you face addition penalties to those listed below.
Upon your first conviction of a New Mexico DWI, you’ll face the following penalties:
And of course, further New Mexico DWI and DUI convictions will result in increased jail time, community service, fines, and New Mexico license suspension or even New Mexico license revocation.
Currently, New Mexico teen drivers are prohibited from using cell phones while driving in only two cities, Santa Fe and Albuquerque. In Santa Fe, it is prohibited to drive while using a cell phone (even with a hands-free device) to talk or text message. The fine is $60. In Albuquerque, you may use a cell phone only with a hands-free device. The fine is $100 for first conviction and $200 for subsequent convictions.
New Mexico Online Driver Education
New Mexico teen drivers can find more information on approved New Mexico online driver education courses on the New Mexico MVD website.
Our read-along feature is an audio narration track that reads the course aloud as
the student follows along with the text.
Listen to a Sample http://cdna.cyberactiveonline.com/items/flash/mp3/detg-readalong-sample.mp3
Give the practical gift of safe driving!
Every time you refer a friend to our program, get cash in
Our award-winning proprietary software is designed to prepare students for the DMV
written exam by administering simulated DMV tests & focusing on areas where
the student needs improvement.
This all-inclusive DVD teaches students the fundamentals of safe driving, vehicle
maintenance, the dangers of drugs & alcohol & more.
driver's license and high school credit toward graduation at the same time!
Everything you need to earn a
learner's permit is in our online
driver ed course
Hello. I am Jennifer.
Chat with me if you have any questions.
CyberActive Inc. All Rights Reserved