How old does one need to be before applying for a Maryland learners permit?
Applicants need to be at least 15 years and nine months old when applying for Maryland learners permit.
Who can take online drivers education courses in the state of Maryland?
Anyone can take driver education courses online through the Driver Ed To Go for educational purposes, and even qualify for discounts on their auto insurance premiums. However, online driver education programs have not yet been approved by the Maryland MVA (Motor Vehicle Administration) for Maryland drivers licensing purposes.
What does the Maryland MVA require from me before I can start learning to drive a car?
When applying for your Maryland learners permit, you are required to provide the MVA with your social security card, passport or birth certificate - any two of these primary identification documents - to prove your residency and age.
How many times can I retake the Maryland learners permit test if I fail the first time?
If you fail the driving test on first attempt, the Maryland MVA will allow you to retake the exam as many times as necessary until you pass. However, you will not be allowed to take the test twice in a day.
How many questions does the final exam in the Maryland online drivers ed course have?
The Driver Ed To Go exam has 40 questions that are designed to ensure that you have learned all that you need to know so as to pass the licensing exam. For you to pass the exam, you must get 34 questions right, but you can always retake the exam if you do not get the required points the first time, and you will not be required to pay additional fees.
Does your Driver Ed To Go program meet the Maryland MVA driver education requirements?
The Maryland drivers education program that we offer is a supplemental education tool for drivers and can only help you become a responsible driver and possibly qualify for a discount on your auto insurance.
After completing the online driver education program, when can I expect to get may certificate?
As soon as you sit and pass your final online driver ed exam, Driver Ed To Go will send you the certificate of completion via mail. If you need the certificate urgently, you can pay for FedEx overnight delivery, otherwise, you can expect the certificate within 3 to 5 business days.
Once I get my Maryland drivers permit, when can I start driving?
You can start driving the moment you get your learners permit. However, the law requires you to have an experienced driver in the passenger seat, who is over 21 years old and has been driving for at least three years.
How long do I need to carry a learners permit before I can apply for a Maryland drivers license?
You must complete an approved Maryland drivers education program, hold your learners permit for nine months and practice your driving for a certain number of hours in order to graduate to a provisional Maryland drivers license.
Is behind-the-wheel training mandatory in Maryland?
Yes. Anyone who wants to get a Maryland drivers permit is required to successfully complete an accredited driver education program that includes 6 hours of practical training with a Maryland driving instructor who has been licensed by the state, and classroom instruction of not less than 30 hours.
How many supervised driving hours do I need to have before applying for my drivers license?
You must have at least 60 hours of driving under supervision (not to be confused with Maryland driver education classes) including 10 hours of driving 30 minutes after dawn and 30 minutes before dusk.
Can I drive around with my friends after getting my learners permit?
You can ride with your friends provided you are properly supervised by an authorized and experienced driver. This can be anyone who is over 21 years old and has been driving legally for at least 3 years in the state of Maryland.
Can I drive around with my friends after getting my drivers license?
If you are still under 18, you probably have a provisional drivers license. This means that you can only have passengers in the vehicle if you are accompanied by an experienced driver who is at least 21 years old and has been driving legally in Maryland. However, there is an exemption for family members.
What is the cost of Driver Ed To Go?
The cost of Driver Ed To Go varies from time to time. Click on the tab named "course options" above for up to date prices.
Do you give refunds where necessary?
We offer a 100% money back guarantee to anyone who is not satisfied with our training program. We will send out the refund before processing your certificate.