Steven's Driving SchoolFAQ's
Since Steven's Driving School is listed on your website, does this mean they've been approved by the New York DMV to offer behind-the-wheel training courses?
The list of driving schools on our webpage is provided as a convenience to our customers only. We CANNOT guarantee that every single school listed is fully-approved by the New York DMV. You may want to call Steven's Driving School directly to find out if they offer a state-certified behind-the-wheel training course.
Somebody told me that I can skip out of attending a driver training school if my parents give me behind-the-wheel training instead. Is that permissible in New York?
Each state has its own rules regarding driver training. Some states will allow parentally-supervised behind-the-wheel training as a substitute for enrolling in a driver training course which is taught by a professional driving instructor. However, not all states allow this. You should contact the New York DMV to find out for sure.
I can't drive a stick-shift. Will Steven's Driving School allow me to complete my driver training on an automatic-shift vehicle?
We recommend that you contact Steven's Driving School and ask them if you can do your driver training using a vehicle that has an automatic shift before registering for their driver training course.
Since I live way out in a remote location where driving on dirt roads and rugged terrain is the norm, will Steven's Driving School be able to teach me how to drive in a rural environment? Or do they only prepare you for city-driving?
Since you live in the country, odds are that any local driving school in your area such as Steven's Driving School will want you to be able to drive safely on dirt roads and rugged terrain. We recommend that you contact Steven's Driving School directly to find out exactly what they offer.
Can 14-year-olds get learner's permits to drive in New York?
Most states have set the minimum age for applying for a learner's permit at 15 or 15 1/2. However, some states do allow 14-year-olds to obtain an instruction permit. You may want to contact the New York DMV or a New York-approved driver training school like Steven's Driving School to find out what the minimum age to drive is in New York.
Can I take Steven's Driving School's behind-the-wheel training course before taking a Buffalo New York drivers education classroom course or online course?
It depends on what New York's laws prescribe. However, you should know that most states will require teen-aged, first-time drivers to complete both a drivers education classroom course (which are approximately 30 hours in length, depending on New York's laws) or an approved online course, plus a state-approved behind-the-wheel training course. We recommend that you contact Steven's Driving School directly to see if they offer either (or both) of these courses.
New York law says that I must enroll in a hands-on driver training course in order to get licensed to drive in Buffalo New York. Is this something that Steven's Driving School can help me with?
Yes, Steven's Driving School offers the New York-approved driver training course. For more information about their classes and instruction schedule, please contact Steven's Driving School directly.
What are the prerequisites in Buffalo New York for obtaining a drivers license?
It depends on your state's laws, however in many states, teen-agers must complete both a safe driving classroom course and a behind-the-wheel training course. Steven's Driving School may offer an approved behind-the-wheel training course which you could take. Please contact Steven's Driving School for information regarding their available classes and how to go about registering for them.
I live in Buffalo New York and would like to apply for my first driver's license. Do I need to take a driver training course before I can be licensed?
New York law mandates that all first-time drivers enroll in an approved driver training program before receiving their New York driver's license. Steven's Driving School may offer a behind-the-wheel training course that you are looking for. Please contact Steven's Driving School directly for complete information as to what types of driver training courses they offer.
Do I have to obtain my learner's permit in New York before I am permitted to register for a behind-the-wheel training course like the one Steven's Driving School gives its students?
Laws vary from state to state, however most states do require that you hold a instruction permit before you can register for a behind-the-wheel training course like the one that Steven's Driving School gives its students.