Vernal UtahOnline Driver Education and Vernal UtahLicensing Procedures
Congratulations on starting the process of applying for your Vernal UtahLearner’s Permit or first Vernal Utahdriver’s license. Vernal Utahhas a Graduated Driver License Program for Vernal Utahteen drivers, and there are a few things to keep in mind to make sure that applying for your first Vernal Utahdriver’s license goes as smoothly as possible. So let’s get started.
The Vernal UtahLearner Permit or Vernal UtahInstruction Permit
When you turn 15, you can finally apply for a Vernal UtahLearner Permit, otherwise known as a Vernal UtahInstruction Permit. In order to apply, you’ll need:
- Valid identification documents
- Social Security card or SSN proof (W-2 form, for example)
- Vernal UtahResidency Verification
- Proof of Driving Experience
- Nonrefundable fee of $15
Once you’re ready, head on down to your local Vernal UtahDriver License Office with your parent or guardian and submit your application. Then, you’ll have to take a medical and eye exam, as well as a written exam. If you survive, then congratulations. You’ve just earned your Vernal UtahLearner Permit. Remember, you must practice driving with your parent, guardian, driving instructor, or licensed driver who is at least 21. Of course, all passengers must wear seatbelts, and be sure to carry your Vernal UtahLearner Permit with you at all times.
Once you’ve held your Vernal UtahLearner Permit for 6 months have met a few more requirements, you’ll be ready for the next step in the Vernal UtahGraduated License Program, the Vernal UtahMinor License.
The Vernal UtahMinor License or Vernal UtahIntermediate License
You can apply for your Vernal UtahMinor License once you’ve held your Vernal UtahLearner Permit for 6 months and are at least 16 years of age. However, you’ll also need to make sure you meet these requirements:
- Hold a Vernal UtahLearner Permit for 6 months
- Be at least 16 years of age
- Complete a Vernal Utahapproved driving education course
- Practice driving for 40 hours with a parent/guardian, or supervising driver
- At least 10 hours must be at night (and must be signed!)
Then, make an appointment and head on down to your local Vernal UtahDriver License Office. Be sure to bring the valid identification documents, including your Vernal UtahLearner Permit. Then you’ll have to take the dreaded Vernal Utahroad test! If you pass, then congratulations. You’ve just earned your Vernal UtahMinor License, otherwise known as the Vernal UtahProvisional License. However, you’ll still have to drive with a few restrictions for the time being.
Vernal UtahTeen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
There are still a few restrictions you’ll have to keep in mind now that you have your Vernal UtahMinor License:
- All passengers and the driver must wear seat belts
- If you’re 16, no passengers under 21 for 6 months or until you reach 18 years of age
- The exception is if your passengers are family members
- No driving between midnight and 5AM unless you’re going to/from your job, a school sanctioned activity, for a medical emergency, or on assignment for a farmer or rancher
Once you turn 18, these restrictions will no longer be valid. Freedom!
Vernal UtahAuto Insurance Financial Responsibility Laws
Once you receive your Vernal UtahProvisional Driver license, you’re ready to drive--or are you? Not quite yet, because Vernal Utahdrivers are required by law to be covered by liability insurance. The minimum liability insurance coverage is:
- $25,000 bodily injury for one person
- $50,000 bodily injury two or more people
- $15,000 for property damage per accident
If you are in an accident and found to be driving without Vernal Utahmandatory liability insurance, your Vernal UtahLearner Permit or Vernal UtahProvisional license could be suspended.
Vernal UtahDrunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
As a Vernal Utahteen driver, it’s important for you to learn the Vernal Utahdrunk driving, cell phone, and text messaging laws. Like most state, Vernal Utahhas a Zero Tolerance Law for underage drinking, and if you are convicted of a Vernal UtahDUI, your Vernal UtahLearner Permit or Vernal UtahProvisional License will be suspended for 90 days to 120 days (or until you are 21), whichever is longer. Upon your second conviction, your Vernal Utahlicense will be revoked for 1-2 years. For a complete list of convictions and penalties, go to the Vernal UtahPublic Safety webpage.
In general, upon your first conviction of a Vernal UtahDUI, you’ll also face the following penalties:
- Jail 48 hours minimum or
- Work Service Program 48 hours minimum
- Home confinement
- $700 fine
- License Suspension of 120 days
- Also, possible alcohol/drug screening, assessment, education and treatment
And of course, further Vernal UtahDWI and DUI convictions will result in increased jail time, community service, fines, and Vernal Utahlicense suspension or even Vernal Utahlicense revocation.
Currently, Vernal Utahteen drivers are prohibited from using cell phones while driving.
Vernal UtahOnline Driver Education
Vernal Utahteen drivers can find more information about approved Vernal Utahonline driver education on the Vernal UtahDepartment of Public Safety website.