Tiffin Ohio Online Driver Education and Tiffin Ohio Licensing Procedures
We're very happy that you're starting the process of applying for your Tiffin Ohio learner's permit or first Tiffin Ohio driver license! Tiffin Ohio has a graduated driver license program for Tiffin Ohio drivers ages 15-18, and there are a few things we would like you to know to make sure that applying for your Tiffin Ohio driving license is as trouble-free an experience as possible. So let's jump right in.
Tiffin Ohio Learner's Permit
When you turn 15 and a half, you can apply for an Tiffin Ohio Temporary Instruction Permit, otherwise known as an Tiffin Ohio Learner’s Permit. With this license, the following restrictions apply:
- For the first 6 months you must practice driving with your parent, guardian, or driving instructor
- After 6 months, you can also practice with a licensed driver who is at least 21
- All passengers must wear seatbelts
- Be sure to carry your Tiffin Ohio Temporary Permit with you at all times!
When you're ready to apply, you’ll need to bring proof of age and identity; your social security number; and a parent/guardian to sign the permit application.
If you’ve got all of the necessary materials, head on down to your local Tiffin Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) with your parent or guardian and submit your application. Then, you’ll have to take a vision test, as well as a knowledge test. (Relax, you can practice with a sample Tiffin Ohio knowledge test.) If you pass, then congratulations--you’ve just earned your Tiffin Ohio Temporary Permit!
Once you’ve held your Tiffin Ohio Temporary Permit for 6 months and have met a few more requirements, you’ll be ready for the next step in the Tiffin Ohio Graduated License Program, the Tiffin Ohio Driver License.
The Tiffin Ohio Provisional Driver License or Tiffin Ohio Full Driver License
You can apply for your Tiffin Ohio Probationary Driver License once you’ve held your Tiffin Ohio Temporary Instruction Permit for 6 months and have met the following requirements:
- Complete 8 hours of driving instruction
- Complete 24 hours of class instruction in an approved Tiffin Ohio driver education course
- Practice driving for 50 hours total - 10 of these hours must be at night
- Your parent/guardian will have to certify your documented practice hours
As soon as you satisfy these requirements, head on down to your local Tiffin Ohio BMV. You’ll have to overcome one final obstacle: the dreaded Tiffin Ohio road skills test! If you pass, then reward yourself for making it to this point. You’ve just earned your Tiffin Ohio Probationary Driver License!
Tiffin Ohio Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
You still have just a little father to go to earn your full Tiffin Ohio driver's license. Until then, there are a few restrictions for your Tiffin Ohio Probationary Driver License, depending on your age:
- Tiffin Ohio teen drivers under 17 can’t carry more than 1 passenger that is not family (unless accompanied by a parent/guardian of course)
- All passengers between the ages of 4 and 15 must be properly restrained
- If you’re 16, you may not drive between the hours of 12AM and 6AM
- If you’re 17, you may not drive between the hours of 1AM and 5AM
- The exception for the driving curfew is in case of: (1) an emergency, (2) driving to/from a school sanctioned activity, and (3) driving to/from your place of employment (must have written documentation from your employer)
On the bright side, once you turn 18, these restrictions are removed. Freedom!
Tiffin Ohio Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
As an Tiffin Ohio teen driver, there's no bigger threat you'll face than drunk drivers. It’s important for you to learn the Tiffin Ohio drunk driving laws (and obey them religiously). Like most states, Tiffin Ohio has a Zero Tolerance Law for underage drinking, and if you are convicted of an Tiffin Ohio DUI or Tiffin Ohio DWI, you face additional penalties to those listed below.
Upon your first conviction of an Tiffin Ohio DUI, you’ll face the following penalties:
- License suspension from 6 months to 3 years
- Or Driver Intervention Program (3 days)
- Tiffin Ohio License reinstatement fee $450
- Jail 3 days to 6 months
- Fine from $250 to $1,000
And of course, further Tiffin Ohio DWI and DUI convictions will result in more severe penalties, up and including jail time, Tiffin Ohio license suspension or even Tiffin Ohio license revocation. As you can see, it's something we take very seriously - don't do it!
Tiffin Ohio Auto Insurance Financial Responsibility Laws
Once you finally get your coveted Tiffin Ohio Learner’s Permit or Tiffin Ohio Provisional driver’s license, you’re ready to drive--or so you may think. Because accidents happen to even experienced drivers, Tiffin Ohio drivers are required by law to be covered by liability insurance. The minimum liability insurance coverage is:
- $12,500 bodily injury for one person
- $7,500 for property damage per accident
- $25,000 bodily injury two or more people
It's no joke. If you are in an accident and found to be driving without Tiffin Ohio mandatory liability insurance, your Tiffin Ohio license could be suspended for 90 days to 2 years, and you may face Tiffin Ohio license plate reinstatement fees, as well as other penalties.
Tiffin Ohio Cell Phone Laws
We acknowledge how important it is for young people to stay in touch with friends, but studies show that cell phone use, especially text messaging, contributes to accidents. Currently, it is illegal for Tiffin Ohio teen drivers to use cell phones while driving only in Brooklyn, North Olmstead, and Walton Hills. But that doesn't mean you shouldn't be careful elsewhere as well!
Tiffin Ohio Online Driver Education
Tiffin Ohio teen drivers are required to take an Tiffin Ohio approved driver education course. You can find more information on approved Tiffin Ohio online driver education courses at the Tiffin Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles search page.