Pullman Washington Online Driver Education and Pullman Washington Licensing Procedures
The process of applying for your Pullman Washington learner's permit or first Pullman Washington driver's license can be nerve-racking, but it doesn't have to be if you have the right information. We want you to get as much out of this experience as possible, and have designed this guide to help guide you through the process. Pullman Washington has a Graduated Driver License Program for Pullman Washington teen drivers, and there are a few things to keep in mind to make sure that applying for your first Pullman Washington driver’s license goes as smoothly as possible. So let’s jump right in.
The Pullman Washington Learner’s Permit or Pullman Washington Instruction Permit
If you enroll in a Pullman Washington approved driver education course (see the note at the bottom of this guide about online providers), you can apply for a Pullman Washington Instruction permit when you turn 15. However, you must apply for the permit no more than 10 days before the class starts.
When you turn 15 and a half, you can also apply for a Pullman Washington Instruction Permit. Either way, in order to apply you’ll need:
Once all of this is in place, make an appointment, then head on down to your local Pullman Washington Driver License Office with your parent or guardian and submit your application. Then, you’ll have to take a vision test. If you’re not enrolled in a Pullman Washington approved driver education course, you’ll also have to pass a knowledge test. You've accomplished the first step--you know have a Pullman Washington Instruction Permit, which is valid for 1 year and may be renewed once.
Remember, you must practice driving with your parent, guardian, driving instructor, or licensed driver who has at least 5 years experience. Of course, all passengers must wear seatbelts, and be sure to carry your Pullman Washington Learner’s Permit with you at all times.
Once you’ve held your Pullman Washington Instruction Permit for 6 months without incident and have met a few more requirements, you’ll graduate to the next step in the Pullman Washington Graduated License Program, the Pullman Washington Intermediate Driver License.
The Pullman Washington Intermediate Driver License or Pullman Washington Provisional License
You can apply for your Pullman Washington Intermediate Driver’s License once you’ve held your Pullman Washington Instruction Permit for 6 months in good standing. However, you’ll also need to satisfy the following requirements:
All set? Then, make an appointment and head on down to your local Pullman Washington Driver License Office again. Remember to bring your parent/guardian, your traffic safety certificate, your identification documents, and your Parental Authorization Affidavit. Now you’ll have to take the dreaded Pullman Washington road test! If you pass, then give yourself a reward: you’ve just earned your Pullman Washington Intermediate Driver’s License! Now you're just a few more months of good behavior away from getting your full license.
Pullman Washington Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
There are still a few restrictions you’ll have to keep in mind now that you have your Pullman Washington Intermediate Driver’s License:
- All passengers and the driver must wear seat belts
- For the first 6 months, no passengers under 20 unless they are family members
- For the second 6 months, no more than 3 passengers under 20 except for family members
- For the first 12 months, no driving between 1AM and 5AM unless with a driver 25 or older (or if you drive for agricultural purposes)
- And finally, no cell phones while driving (that includes hands-free devices)
Upon your first violation of these restrictions, you’ll receive a warning letter. For your second violation, your Pullman Washington Intermediate Driver license will be suspended for 6 months (or until you turn 18, whichever comes first). Upon your third violation, your Pullman Washington License will be suspended until you turn 18. If these seems strict, just remember that once you turn 18, these restrictions will be removed. And then, freedom!
Pullman Washington Drunk Driving Laws
As a Pullman Washington teen driver, you'll face no bigger threat than the one posed by drunk drivers. it’s important for you to learn the Pullman Washington drunk driving laws and follow them religiously. Like most states, Pullman Washington has a Zero Tolerance Law for underage drinking, and if you are convicted of a Pullman Washington DUI or Pullman Washington DWI, your Pullman Washington Learner Permit or Pullman Washington Driver’s License will be suspended.
In general, upon your first conviction of a Pullman Washington DUI of .08, you’ll also face the following penalties:
- Pullman Washington License Suspension 90 days
- Jail 24 hours to 1 year or Electronic Home Monitoring 15 days
- Fine $865.50 to $5,000
For a Blood Alcohol Content of .15 or above, you’ll face the following penalties:
- Jail 2 days to 2 years or Electronic Home Monitoring 30 days
- Fine $1,120.50 to $5,000
- Pullman Washington License Suspension 1 year
- Ignition Interlock Device installation
- Possible Alcohol/Drug Education class
And of course, further Pullman Washington DWI and DUI convictions will result in increased jail time, community service, fines, and Pullman Washington license suspension or even Pullman Washington license revocation. There's no bigger abuse of the privilege of driving than getting behind the wheel drunk, and the State of Pullman Washington takes it very seriously.
Pullman Washington Auto Insurance Financial Responsibility Laws
You may think you're ready to drive just because you've received your Pullman Washington Provisional Driver license, but there are still other things you need to know. Most crucially, Pullman Washington drivers are required by law to be covered by liability insurance. The minimum liability insurance coverage is:
- $25,000 bodily injury for one person
- $50,000 bodily injury two or more people
- $10,000 for property damage per accident
If you are in an accident and found to be driving without Pullman Washington mandatory liability insurance, your Pullman Washington Learner Permit or Pullman Washington Driver’s License could be suspended.
Cell Phone and Text Messaging Laws
Currently, Pullman Washington teen drivers are prohibited from using cell phones while driving, even with hands-free devices! And at any age, frequent cell phone use while driving can be risky, so keep it to a minimum!
Pullman Washington Online Driver Education
Pullman Washington teen drivers can receive their Pullman Washington Learner’s Permit if they enroll in a Pullman Washington approved driver education class. More information about approved Pullman Washington online driver education can be found on the Pullman Washington Department of Motor Vehicle website.