Your Guide to Oak Park Illinois Licensing Procedures and Online Driver Education
On behalf of the State of Oak Park Illinois, we welcome you to the world of driving! The process of applying for your Oak Park Illinois learner's permit or first Oak Park Illinois driver license can be as daunting as it is exciting, and so we have put together this short guide to help you through the process
Oak Park Illinois has a Graduated Driver License Program for Oak Park Illinois teen drivers, and there are a few things to keep in mind to make sure that applying for your Oak Park Illinois driving license goes as smoothly as possible. So let's not waste anymore time!
Oak Park Illinois Instructional Permit or Oak Park Illinois Learner Permit
When you turn 15, you can finally apply for an Oak Park Illinois learner's permit, otherwise known as an Oak Park Illinois supervised instruction permit. You must have your Oak Park Illinois learner's license on your person at all times and a licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age must be sitting in the front passenger seat at all times. In order to apply for your Oak Park Illinois learner's permit, you'll need to meet the following requirements:
- Be 15-17 years old
- Enroll in a State of Oak Park Illinois approved Driver Education Program
- Study the Oak Park Illinois driver handbook thoroughly
- Take the required personal information to your local Oak Park Illinois Driver Service Center
Once you arrive at the Oak Park Illinois Driver Service Center, you'll have to:
- pay a $20 processing fee
- take a vision test
- pass a written exam
If you survived, then give yourself a pat on the back: you just earned your Oak Park Illinois learner's permit, which is valid for 2 years. After you've had your Oak Park Illinois learner's permit for 9 months, you can apply for your Oak Park Illinois driver's license.
Your First Oak Park Illinois Driver's License or Oak Park Illinois Provisional License
If you've gotten this far, you're well on your way to becoming a full-fledged Oak Park Illinois driver. In order to apply for your first Oak Park Illinois provisional driver license, you'll need to meet the following requirements:
- keep your Oak Park Illinois learner's permit for 9 months in good standing
- complete the mandatory Oak Park Illinois driver education program
- maintain 8 passing grades in the two most recent school semesters
- written certification from your parent that you completed the required 50 driving hours
- these 50 hours must include 10 hours at night
At the Oak Park Illinois Driver Service Center, you'll present your Oak Park Illinois learner's license and the required personal information. Then comes a three-part driver license exam, which includes the dreaded road test (which should be no problem if you've done well up to this point). If you survive, then a second pat on the back is in order: you've just earned your Oak Park Illinois driver license!
Once you turn 17 and have held your Oak Park Illinois provisional without any traffic violations, you will earn your Oak Park Illinois full license. Congratulations!
Oak Park Illinois Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
Driving is a privilege, not a right. The Graduated Driver License Program gives you a chance to "earn" your way to full driving privileges. Until then, there are several restrictions you need to keep in mind regarding your Oak Park Illinois learner's license or Oak Park Illinois driver's license.
Oak Park Illinois Learner's Permit Restrictions: With an Oak Park Illinois learner's permit, you must always be supervised by a licensed driver who is at least 21 and in the front passenger seat. Furthermore:
- Always keep your Oak Park Illinois provisional license on hand
- All passengers must wear seat belts
- Observe all of the alcohol and intoxicating substance laws
- You are allowed to drive with your permit until 10 p.m. on weeknights, and until 11 p.m. on Fridays and Saturdays.
Oak Park Illinois Provisional License Restrictions:
- Always have your Oak Park Illinois provisional license on hand
- All occupants must wear seat belts
- Observe all of the alcohol and intoxicating substance laws
- Also, no driving between 10PM to 6 AM Sunday through Thursday or 11PM to 6AM Friday through Saturday unless you're accompanied by your parent or guardian is present
If you're caught driving outside the restricted hours, your Oak Park Illinois driver license could be suspended. Drivers under 18 should also be aware that you may face Oak Park Illinois driver's license suspension for insufficient high school attendance.But cheer up: as soon as you turn 18, these restrictions are lifted!
Oak Park Illinois Auto Insurance Oak Park Illinois Financial Responsibility Laws
Once you receive your Oak Park Illinois driver's license, you're ready to drive, right? Not quite: traffic accidents--minor and major--can happen to even the most seasoned drivers. Thus, any vehicle registered in Oak Park Illinois must be covered by liability insurance. The minimum coverage is:
- $20,000 for personal injury
- $40,000 per person
- $15,000 for property damage.
If you are ever caught driving without Oak Park Illinois mandatory liability insurance, you could be fined $500 for a first time offense. For subsequent offenses, you will receive a four month vehicle registration suspension. And, if you're involved in an accident and cannot provide proof of insurance, your Oak Park Illinois learner's permit or Oak Park Illinois provisional license could be suspended. Do NOT get on Oak Park Illinois roads in an uninsured vehicle!
Oak Park Illinois Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
As you're probably aware, a drunk and/or distracted driver is a dangerous driver. As a new Oak Park Illinois driver, it's vital that you learn the Oak Park Illinois drunk driving, cell phone, and text messaging laws.
Upon your first conviction of a Oak Park Illinois DUI (0.08 blood alcohol level), you will face the following penalties:
- Jail sentence of up to 1 year
- Oak Park Illinois license suspension of at least 1 year
- Breath alcohol ignition interlock device installation
- Up to a $2500 fine
- Community service--100 hour minimum (if BAC above 0.16)
Clearly, getting behind the wheel drunk is not a game you want to play. And of course, further Oak Park Illinois DUI convictions will result in increased jail time, community service, fines, and Oak Park Illinois license suspension or even Oak Park Illinois license revocation.
Currently, Oak Park Illinois prohibits texting while driving, and fines begin at $75. You are also prohibited from using cell phones while driving through school zones. In all other instances, be VERY careful while using your cell phone, even if it's within the rules.
Oak Park Illinois Online Driver Education
Anyone applying for a Oak Park Illinois provisional license must take an Oak Park Illinois approved driver education course. The Oak Park Illinois State Board of Education website has complete information on approved Oak Park Illinois online driver education programs.