La Crosse Wisconsin Online Driver Education and La Crosse Wisconsin Licensing Procedures
The process of applying for your La Crosse Wisconsin learner's permit or first La Crosse Wisconsin driver's license can be nerve-racking, but it doesn't have to be if you have the right information. We want you to get as much out of this experience as possible, and have designed this guide to help guide you through the process. La Crosse Wisconsin has a a Graduated Driver License Program for La Crosse Wisconsin teen drivers, and there are a few things to keep in mind to make sure that applying for your first La Crosse Wisconsin driver’s license goes as smoothly as possible. So let’s get started.
The La Crosse Wisconsin Learner’s Permit or La Crosse Wisconsin Instruction Permit
When you turn 15 and a half, you can apply for a La Crosse Wisconsin Instruction Permit. Remember, you must practice driving with your parent, guardian, or driving instructor who is 19 years or older. You can also practice driving with a licensed driver who is over 21, providing your parents give consent.
To apply, you’ll need the following items:
- Get your driving instructor to certify your application (course must begin within 60 days of certification)
- Complete or enroll in a La Crosse Wisconsin approved education course
- Have your parent/guardian sign your La Crosse Wisconsin Instruction Permit application
- Or find a valid adult sponsor
- Provide proof of identity documents
- $35 La Crosse Wisconsin Instruction Permit fee
Once you’re ready, make an appointment, then head on down to your local La Crosse Wisconsin Department of Motor Vehicle Office (DMV) with your parent or guardian and submit your application. Then, you’ll have to take the following tests:
- knowledge test
- highway signs test
- vision screening.
If you survive, then congratulations. You’ve just earned your La Crosse Wisconsin Instruction Permit!
Once you’ve held your La Crosse Wisconsin Instruction Permit for 6 months have met a few more requirements, you’ll graduate to the next step in the La Crosse Wisconsin Graduated License Program, the La Crosse Wisconsin Probationary Driver’s License.
The La Crosse Wisconsin Probationary Driver License or La Crosse Wisconsin Provisional License
You can apply for your La Crosse Wisconsin Probationary Driver’s License once you’ve held your La Crosse Wisconsin Instruction Permit for 6 months in good standing. However, you’ll need to make sure you meet these requirements:
- Be at least 16 years old
- Hold a La Crosse Wisconsin Instruction Permit for 6 months
- No La Crosse Wisconsin traffic violations for 6 months prior to application
- Complete 30 hours of driving practice - 10 of these hours must be at night
- Record your practice hours in a driving log, which your parent or sponsor must verify
- Present proof of completion of a La Crosse Wisconsin approved driver education course
- Don’t forget the $28 driver license fee
All set? Then, make an appointment and head on down to your local La Crosse Wisconsin DMV Office again. Remember to bring your parent/guardian, your identification documents, and your La Crosse Wisconsin Instruction Permit. The only remaining obstacle is the dreaded La Crosse Wisconsin road test. If you pass, then your reward is your La Crosse Wisconsin Probationary Driver’s License!. Now you're just a few more months of good behavior away from getting your full license.
La Crosse Wisconsin Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
Despite your new-found driving confidence, there are still a few restrictions you’ll have to live with for the first 9 months of your La Crosse Wisconsin Probationary Driver’s License:
- You may be accompanied by family members but must follow these passenger restrictions:
- Person who holds a valid license and has 2 years of driving experience, a qualified driving instructor, spouse, or is 21 or older
- Other person
- No driving alone from midnight to 5AM
- The exception to this driving curfew is if you’re driving to/from work or school
These restrictions will be extended by 6 months if you violate any of these restrictions, receive a La Crosse Wisconsin traffic ticket, or your license is suspended or revoked for other reasons. However, once you turn 19, you can apply for your La Crosse Wisconsin Regular Driver License. Take a deep breath--you've earned it!
La Crosse Wisconsin Auto Insurance Financial Responsibility Laws
You may think you're ready to drive just because you've received your La Crosse Wisconsin Provisional Driver license, but there are still other things you need to know. Most crucially, La Crosse Wisconsin drivers are required by law to be covered by liability insurance. You risk suspension of your La Crosse Wisconsin Learner Permit or La Crosse Wisconsin Probationary Driver’s License if you are in an accident and found to be driving without La Crosse Wisconsin mandatory liability insurance, so make getting your vehicle insured a top priority.
The minimum liability insurance coverage is:
- $25,000 bodily injury for one person
- $50,000 bodily injury two or more people
- $10,000 for property damage per accident
La Crosse Wisconsin Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
As a La Crosse Wisconsin teen driver, your top priority should be to keep yourself and your passengers safe. it’s important for you, therefore, to learn the La Crosse Wisconsin drunk driving, cell phone, and text messaging laws. Like most states, La Crosse Wisconsin has a Zero Tolerance Law for underage drinking, and if you are convicted of a La Crosse Wisconsin DUI or La Crosse Wisconsin DWI, your La Crosse Wisconsin Learner's Permit or La Crosse Wisconsin Driver’s License will be suspended.
In general, upon your first conviction of a La Crosse Wisconsin DUI of .08, you’ll face the following penalties:
- Fine $150 to $300
- SR22 Insurance Required
- Alcohol Assessment
- License Suspension 6 to 9 months
Needless to say, further La Crosse Wisconsin DWI and DUI convictions will result in harsher penalties, including increased jail time, community service, fines, and La Crosse Wisconsin license suspension or even La Crosse Wisconsin license revocation.
The La Crosse Wisconsin state legislature is in the process of passing a law that will prohibit La Crosse Wisconsin teen drivers are prohibited from text-messaging while driving. We know it's tempting, but text messaging creates a distraction, and a distracted driver is a dangerous one!
La Crosse Wisconsin Online Driver Education
La Crosse Wisconsin teen drivers are required to enroll in a La Crosse Wisconsin approved driver education class on order to qualify for a learner's permit. You can find more information about approved La Crosse Wisconsin online driver education on the La Crosse Wisconsin Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) website.