Your Guide to Jackson Michigan Driver's Licensing Procedures
On behalf of the State of Jackson Michigan, we're delighted that you have chosen to start the process of applying for your Jackson Michigan Learner's Permit or first Jackson Michigan driver's license. There are a few things you need to know about Jackson Michigan's Graduated Driver License Program for Jackson Michigan teen drivers, to make sure that your experience getting your Jackson Michigan driver's license goes as smoothly as possible. So, what are we waiting for?
Jackson Michigan Instructional Permit or Jackson Michigan Learner's Permit
The first stage is getting your Jackson Michigan Learner's Permit. With this license, you can practice driving provided there is another licensed driver in the car with you who is 21. The minimum age to apply for a Jackson Michigan Learner's Permit is 14 years and 9 months. However, before you head down to the local Jackson Michigan Secretary of State branch office to apply, you'll need to complete the following:
- Pass a vision and health screening
- 24 hours of classroom instruction (including 6 hours behind the wheel instruction and 4 hours of observation time)
- Pass a Jackson Michigan approved written test
Once you receive your Jackson Michigan driver education Segment 1 Certificate of Completion, head on down to your local Jackson Michigan Secretary of State branch office and present them with:
- your driver education certificate
- your parent, guardian, or designated licensed adult (who must have a letter of authorization from your parent or guardian).
- the required personal information documents
After all this, you'll receive your Jackson Michigan level one Learner's License. Congratulations! After you've had your Jackson Michigan Learner's Permit for 6 months, you'll be ready for the next step in the Jackson Michigan Graduated License Program.
Your Jackson Michigan Intermediate License
In order to apply for your Jackson Michigan intermediate driver's license, there are a few more requirements you'll have to obey before heading down to your local Jackson Michigan Secretary of State Branch office:
- Present a Level 1 Learner's License and proof of U.S. citizenship or legal presence.
- Be at least 16 years old
- Pass a vision test
- Have possessed a Level 1 Learner's License for at least 6 months
- Must have successfully completed Segment 2 of an approved driver education program and present a Segment 2 Certificate of Completion
- 50 total hours of logged supervised driving
- Learn good driving habits. If you have any traffic violations, you'll have to wait 90 additional days before applying!
When you've completed these Jackson Michigan teen driver requirements, you'll receive a certificate, which you'll take to your local Jackson Michigan Secretary of State Branch office. Your parent or guardian must sign your Level 2 Intermediate License application to certify that you've completed the 50 required hours. Then, it's finally time to take the dreaded road exam. If you pass, then congratulations! You've just earned your Jackson Michigan Intermediate driver's license!
Jackson Michigan Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
We realize you've come a long way since you started the process, and you're no doubt anxious for full driving freedom. However, there are several restrictions you need to keep in mind regarding your Jackson Michigan intermediate driver's license:
- No driving between 12AM and 5AM unless accompanied by a parent or guardian
- This exception doesn't apply if you're driving to/from your job
Once you've held your Jackson Michigan Level 2 Intermediate Driver's License in good standing for 12 months, you can apply for your Jackson Michigan Level 3 Driver's License, which is unrestricted.
Jackson Michigan Auto Insurance Jackson Michigan Financial Responsibility Laws
Think you're ready to drive now? Hold on: any vehicle registered in Jackson Michigan must be covered by liability insurance. If you are found to be driving without Jackson Michigan mandatory liability insurance, your Jackson Michigan Learner's Permit or Jackson Michigan intermediate driver's license could be suspended and you could be fined.
The minimum coverage is:
- $20,000 per person for bodily injury
- $40,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $10,000 for property damage
Jackson Michigan Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
As a newer Jackson Michigan driver, your safety and well-being is our top priority. it's important for you to learn the Jackson Michigan drunk driving, cell phone, and text messaging laws. Your first conviction of a Jackson Michigan DUI (0.08) carries the following penalties:
- Jail sentence up to 93 days
- $1,000 Driver Responsibility Fee for 2 years
- License suspension up to 6 months
- 6 points on your license
- $100-$500 fine
- You also face possible community service up to 360 hours, Ignition Interlock, and Vehicle Immobilization
And of course, further Jackson Michigan DUI convictions will result in increased jail time, community service, fines, and Jackson Michigan license suspension or even Jackson Michigan license revocation.
Because a distracted driver is a dangerous driver, you should always keep cell phone use to a minimum. As of right now, there is no state law prohibiting Jackson Michigan teen drivers from using cell phones while driving. However, if you are a Jackson Michigan teen driver living in Detroit, you may only use a hands-free device if on a cell phone while driving. The fine for violation of this law is $100.
Jackson Michigan Online Driver Education
You will need to enroll in a driver education program. You can find a comprehensive list of Jackson Michigan approved driver education courses on the Jackson Michigan Department of State website.