Fitchburg Wisconsin Online Driver Education and Fitchburg Wisconsin Licensing Procedures
The process of applying for your Fitchburg Wisconsin learner's permit or first Fitchburg Wisconsin driver's license can be nerve-racking, but it doesn't have to be if you have the right information. We want you to get as much out of this experience as possible, and have designed this guide to help guide you through the process. Fitchburg Wisconsin has a a Graduated Driver License Program for Fitchburg Wisconsin teen drivers, and there are a few things to keep in mind to make sure that applying for your first Fitchburg Wisconsin driver’s license goes as smoothly as possible. So let’s get started.
The Fitchburg Wisconsin Learner’s Permit or Fitchburg Wisconsin Instruction Permit
When you turn 15 and a half, you can apply for a Fitchburg Wisconsin Instruction Permit. Remember, you must practice driving with your parent, guardian, or driving instructor who is 19 years or older. You can also practice driving with a licensed driver who is over 21, providing your parents give consent.
To apply, you’ll need the following items:
- Get your driving instructor to certify your application (course must begin within 60 days of certification)
- Complete or enroll in a Fitchburg Wisconsin approved education course
- Have your parent/guardian sign your Fitchburg Wisconsin Instruction Permit application
- Or find a valid adult sponsor
- Provide proof of identity documents
- $35 Fitchburg Wisconsin Instruction Permit fee
Once you’re ready, make an appointment, then head on down to your local Fitchburg Wisconsin Department of Motor Vehicle Office (DMV) with your parent or guardian and submit your application. Then, you’ll have to take the following tests:
- knowledge test
- highway signs test
- vision screening.
If you survive, then congratulations. You’ve just earned your Fitchburg Wisconsin Instruction Permit!
Once you’ve held your Fitchburg Wisconsin Instruction Permit for 6 months have met a few more requirements, you’ll graduate to the next step in the Fitchburg Wisconsin Graduated License Program, the Fitchburg Wisconsin Probationary Driver’s License.
The Fitchburg Wisconsin Probationary Driver License or Fitchburg Wisconsin Provisional License
You can apply for your Fitchburg Wisconsin Probationary Driver’s License once you’ve held your Fitchburg Wisconsin Instruction Permit for 6 months in good standing. However, you’ll need to make sure you meet these requirements:
- Be at least 16 years old
- Hold a Fitchburg Wisconsin Instruction Permit for 6 months
- No Fitchburg Wisconsin traffic violations for 6 months prior to application
- Complete 30 hours of driving practice - 10 of these hours must be at night
- Record your practice hours in a driving log, which your parent or sponsor must verify
- Present proof of completion of a Fitchburg Wisconsin approved driver education course
- Don’t forget the $28 driver license fee
All set? Then, make an appointment and head on down to your local Fitchburg Wisconsin DMV Office again. Remember to bring your parent/guardian, your identification documents, and your Fitchburg Wisconsin Instruction Permit. The only remaining obstacle is the dreaded Fitchburg Wisconsin road test. If you pass, then your reward is your Fitchburg Wisconsin Probationary Driver’s License!. Now you're just a few more months of good behavior away from getting your full license.
Fitchburg Wisconsin Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
Despite your new-found driving confidence, there are still a few restrictions you’ll have to live with for the first 9 months of your Fitchburg Wisconsin Probationary Driver’s License:
- You may be accompanied by family members but must follow these passenger restrictions:
- Person who holds a valid license and has 2 years of driving experience, a qualified driving instructor, spouse, or is 21 or older
- Other person
- No driving alone from midnight to 5AM
- The exception to this driving curfew is if you’re driving to/from work or school
These restrictions will be extended by 6 months if you violate any of these restrictions, receive a Fitchburg Wisconsin traffic ticket, or your license is suspended or revoked for other reasons. However, once you turn 19, you can apply for your Fitchburg Wisconsin Regular Driver License. Take a deep breath--you've earned it!
Fitchburg Wisconsin Auto Insurance Financial Responsibility Laws
You may think you're ready to drive just because you've received your Fitchburg Wisconsin Provisional Driver license, but there are still other things you need to know. Most crucially, Fitchburg Wisconsin drivers are required by law to be covered by liability insurance. You risk suspension of your Fitchburg Wisconsin Learner Permit or Fitchburg Wisconsin Probationary Driver’s License if you are in an accident and found to be driving without Fitchburg Wisconsin mandatory liability insurance, so make getting your vehicle insured a top priority.
The minimum liability insurance coverage is:
- $25,000 bodily injury for one person
- $50,000 bodily injury two or more people
- $10,000 for property damage per accident
Fitchburg Wisconsin Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
As a Fitchburg Wisconsin teen driver, your top priority should be to keep yourself and your passengers safe. it’s important for you, therefore, to learn the Fitchburg Wisconsin drunk driving, cell phone, and text messaging laws. Like most states, Fitchburg Wisconsin has a Zero Tolerance Law for underage drinking, and if you are convicted of a Fitchburg Wisconsin DUI or Fitchburg Wisconsin DWI, your Fitchburg Wisconsin Learner's Permit or Fitchburg Wisconsin Driver’s License will be suspended.
In general, upon your first conviction of a Fitchburg Wisconsin DUI of .08, you’ll face the following penalties:
- Fine $150 to $300
- SR22 Insurance Required
- Alcohol Assessment
- License Suspension 6 to 9 months
Needless to say, further Fitchburg Wisconsin DWI and DUI convictions will result in harsher penalties, including increased jail time, community service, fines, and Fitchburg Wisconsin license suspension or even Fitchburg Wisconsin license revocation.
The Fitchburg Wisconsin state legislature is in the process of passing a law that will prohibit Fitchburg Wisconsin teen drivers are prohibited from text-messaging while driving. We know it's tempting, but text messaging creates a distraction, and a distracted driver is a dangerous one!
Fitchburg Wisconsin Online Driver Education
Fitchburg Wisconsin teen drivers are required to enroll in a Fitchburg Wisconsin approved driver education class on order to qualify for a learner's permit. You can find more information about approved Fitchburg Wisconsin online driver education on the Fitchburg Wisconsin Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) website.