Derby Line Vermont Online Driver Education and Derby Line Vermont Licensing Procedures
The process of applying for your Derby Line Vermont learner's permit or first Derby Line Vermont driver's license can be nerve-racking, but it doesn't have to be if you have the right information. We want you to get as much out of this experience as possible, and have designed this guide to help guide you through the process. Derby Line Vermont has a Graduated Driver License Program for Derby Line Vermont teen drivers, and there are a few things to keep in mind to make sure that applying for your first Derby Line Vermont driver’s license goes as smoothly as possible. So let’s get started.
The Derby Line Vermont Learner Permit or Derby Line Vermont Instruction Permit
You can finally apply for a Derby Line Vermont Learner Permit, otherwise known as a Derby Line Vermont Instruction Permit When you turn 15. You’ll need the following items in order to apply:
Once you’re ready, make an appointment (call 1-802-828-2045 or email), then head on down to the nearest Derby Line Vermont Driver License Office with your parent or guardian and submit your application. Then, you’ll have to take a vision test, as well as a written exam. If you survive, then congratulations: you’ve just earned your Derby Line Vermont Learner Permit!
A few more things to remember: First, you must practice driving with your parent, guardian, driving instructor, or licensed driver who is at least 25. Of course, all passengers must wear seatbelts, and you must not forget to carry your Derby Line Vermont Learner Permit with you at all times.
If you can hold your Derby Line Vermont Learner Permit for 1 year and meet a few more requirements, you’re all set for the next step in the Derby Line Vermont Graduated License Program, the Derby Line Vermont Junior Operator’s License.
The Derby Line Vermont Junior Operator’s License or Derby Line Vermont Intermediate License
You can apply for your Derby Line Vermont Junior Operator’s License once you’ve held your Derby Line Vermont Learner Permit for 1 year in good standing. However, you’ll need to make sure the following requirements are met:
- Hold a Derby Line Vermont Learner Permit for 1 year
- You must be 16-17
- Practice driving for 40 hours with a parent/guardian, or supervising driver
- At least 10 hours must be at night
- Fill out a Driving Practice Log Sheet and have your parent/guardian sign
- Maintain a clean Derby Line Vermont driving record (no recalls, suspensions, or revocations for a 6 month period)
- Pass a Derby Line Vermont approved driver education course and get a certificate of completion
- Also, make sure the car you will be taking the Derby Line Vermont driving test with has insurance (you’ll need the insurance identification card), as well as valid registration
Then, make an appointment and head on down to your local Derby Line Vermont Driver License Office again. Be aware that Derby Line Vermont driving tests are also now being offered at participating high schools. Either way, be sure to bring the valid identification documents, including your Derby Line Vermont Learner Permit. Then you’ll have to pass the dreaded Derby Line Vermont road test! If you pass, then you can a breathe a sigh of relief: you’ve just earned your Derby Line Vermont Junior Operator’s License, otherwise known as the Derby Line Vermont Provisional License.
Derby Line Vermont Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
You've come a long way, but you still have a few months of good behavior to go before you've earned your full license. There are still a few restrictions you’ll have to keep in mind now that you have your Derby Line Vermont Junior Operator’s License:
- All passengers and the driver must wear seat belts
- During the first 3 months, no passengers unless you’re driving with a licensed parent/guardian, certified driving instructor, or individual at least 25 years of age
- During the second 3 months, you can transport family members
- After 6 months, there are no passenger restrictions
- No using a vehicle for employment (i.e. pizza delivery driver) for 1 year or until you turn 18 (whichever comes first
- No carrying passengers for hire (i.e. using your car as a taxi)
These restrictions will no longer apply once you've obtained a Derby Line Vermont Senior Operator’s License, which you can apply for once you turn 18. In other words, freedom!
Derby Line Vermont Auto Insurance Financial Responsibility Laws
You may think you're ready to drive just becaus you've received your Derby Line Vermont Provisional Driver license, but there are still other things you need to know. Most crucially, Derby Line Vermont drivers are required by law to be covered by liability insurance. The minimum liability insurance coverage is:
- $50,000 bodily injury two or more people
- $10,000 for property damage per accident
- $25,000 bodily injury for one person
You risk suspension of your Derby Line Vermont Learner Permit or Derby Line Vermont Provisional license if you are in an accident and found to be driving without Derby Line Vermont mandatory liability insurance!
Derby Line Vermont Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
As a Derby Line Vermont teen driver, it’s important for you to learn the Derby Line Vermont drunk driving, cell phone, and text messaging laws. Like many other states, Derby Line Vermont has a Zero Tolerance Law for underage drinking, and if you are convicted of a Derby Line Vermont DUI or Derby Line Vermont DWI, your Derby Line Vermont Learner Permit or Derby Line Vermont Junior Operator’s License will be suspended.
In general, upon your first conviction of a Derby Line Vermont DUI, you’ll also face the following penalties:
- Jail up to 2 years maximum
- DUI surcharges $160 minimum
- Also, possible alcohol/drug screening, assessment, education and treatment
- License suspension 90 days
- $750 fine
And of course, more severe penalties will result from further Derby Line Vermont DWI and DUI convictions. These can include increased jail time, community service, fines, and Derby Line Vermont license suspension or even Derby Line Vermont license revocation.
If you're in love with your cell phone, you're in luck: Derby Line Vermont teen drivers are not prohibited from using cell phones while driving. Still, you should exercise caution whenever you use a cell phone while driving. We shouldn't have to tell you that a distracted driver can be a dangerous one!
Derby Line Vermont Online Driver Education
You will need to take a Derby Line Vermont-approved driver education course fairly early in the process. Derby Line Vermont teen drivers can find more information about approved Derby Line Vermont online driver education on the Derby Line Vermont Department of Motor Vehicle website.