Delmar Delaware Online Driver Education and Delmar Delaware Licensing Procedures
Delmar Delaware has a Graduated Driver License Program for Delmar Delaware drivers ages 16-18 that will enable you to safely gain driving experience before being given full driving privileges. Learning to drive can be as daunting as it is exciting, so there are a few things to keep in mind to make sure that applying for your Delmar Delaware driving license goes as smoothly as possible. Congratulations on beginning the adventure of applying for your Delmar Delaware learner's permit or first Delmar Delaware driver license!
Delmar Delaware Instructional Permit or Delmar Delaware Learner Permit
When you turn 16, you can finally apply for a Delmar Delaware instructional permit, otherwise known as a Delmar Delaware level one learner's permit. In order to apply for your Delmar Delaware learner's permit, the following requirements must be met:
- 16 years of age
- Pass a Delmar Delaware approved driver education course
- proper identification to prove Delmar Delaware residency
- A valid passport-sized photo
- Social Security card or number
- $12.50 application fee--which will cover you throughout the graduated driver license program
This may sound like a lot, but the Delmar Delaware DMV maintains a Teen Driver website with loads of useful information!
Delmar Delaware uses a sponsor program in which you will need your parents, or another adult you trust, to partner with you in order to learn how to drive. Your Delmar Delaware driver license sponsor must sign your original driver's license application. For the first 6 months upon obtaining your Delmar Delaware driver permit, you must be supervised. In the end, you will have to complete 50 hours of driving time, 10 of which must take place at night. Your sponsor will certify that you have completed the required driving time and turn your form into the Department of Education.With our program, you'll be a well-rounded driver by the time you finally get that license!
After you have had your Delmar Delaware learner permit for 1 year, you're ready to apply for your Delmar Delaware license exam.
Your First Delmar Delaware Driver's License
In order to apply for your first Delmar Delaware provisional driver license, you'll need to do the following:
- complete 50 hours of on-road practice, including 10 hours of night driving
- complete a driver education course (more on that below)
- You must have your Delmar Delaware learner's permit for at least 1 year
- Your sponsor (a parent or other trusted adult) must certify that you have completed the above requirements
After you make an appointment at your local Delmar Delaware DMV, you'll have to pass the following tests:
- Vision test, in which you must have 20/40 vision (with or without glasses)
- Written test, in which you must score at least an 80% (study with the Delmar Delaware Drivers manual)
- And finally, the dreaded road test (but at this point you should have enough study and practice under your belt that it really is no big deal!)
If you have been driving without incident for 1 year, your Delmar Delaware learner's permit will automatically convert into a Delmar Delaware Class D driver's license. Your hard work has paid off: you've just earned your very first Delmar Delaware driver license!
Delmar Delaware Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
As we said above, the Graduated Driver License Program is designed to withhold certain driving privileges until you've had some time to develop your skills. Thus, there are several restrictions you need to keep in mind regarding your Delmar Delaware learner's license or Delmar Delaware driver's license. Violating any of these restrictions will result in a 2 month suspension (first offense) and 4 month suspension (second offense onward).
Delmar Delaware Level One Permit Restrictions. With a Delmar Delaware learner's permit, you must adhere to the following restrictions:
- You must be accompanied by a licensed instructor for your first year of driving
- Safety belts must be worn at all times
- You may only drive with your supervisor and 1 passenger
- You cannot use a cell phone or text messaging device while driving
- Only after 6 months of driving may you drive without supervision at night (but with only one passenger)
- You are prohibited from driving between 10PM and 6AM unless driving to/from a school or church activity
- These restrictions do not apply to family members.
We know your eager to begin riding around with friends, but those first several months of licensed driving is NOT going to be a party on wheels!
Delmar Delaware Auto Insurance Delmar Delaware Financial Responsibility Laws
It's a fact of life that accidents happen, even to the most careful drivers. Any vehicle registered in Delmar Delaware must be covered by liability insurance. If you are found to be driving without Delmar Delaware mandatory liability insurance, you could be fined. If you are involved in an accident and cannot provide proof of insurance, your Delmar Delaware learner's permit or Delmar Delaware provisional license will be suspended.
The minimum coverage includes:
- $15,000 for personal injury
- $30,000 for total injury
- $10,000 for property damage.
Delmar Delaware Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
As a new Delmar Delaware driver, it's important for you to learn the Delmar Delaware drunk driving, cell phone, and text messaging laws. In Delmar Delaware, if you're convicted of a DUI, your license will be suspended based on your blood alcohol content as follows:
- BAC .08 to 15 - 12 month suspension
- BAC .15 to .19 - 18 month suspension
- BAC .20 or greater - 24 month suspension
Also, you could be fined from $500 to $1500 and be imprisoned for 60 days to 6 months. And of course, further Delmar Delaware DUI convictions will result in increased jail time, community service, fines, and Delmar Delaware license suspension or even Delmar Delaware license revocation.
Delmar Delaware law prohibits teen drivers from using a cell phone or text messaging while driving. If caught driving while using a cell phone, you will receive a one month suspension. For subsequent offenses, you could have your Delmar Delaware driver license suspended for three months or more. Also, there is a $25 fee for license reinstatement.This may seem strict, but studies consistently show that a distracted driver is a dangerous driver.
Delmar Delaware Online Driver Education
In order to be eligible for a Delmar Delaware drivers permit, you must enroll in an approved Delmar Delaware course. The Delmar Delaware DMV maintains a list of the many Delmar Delaware approved driver education courses. You shouldn't have much trouble finding one that suits your needs.
Graduated Driver License Program for Delmar Delaware drivers ages 16-18 that will enable you to safely gain driving experience before being given full driving privileges. Learning to drive can be as daunting as it is exciting, so there are a few things to keep in mind to make sure that applying for your Delmar Delaware driving license goes as smoothly as possible. So let's get started.