College Park Georgia Online Driver Education and College Park Georgia Licensing Procedures
Congratulations on starting the process of applying for your College Park Georgia learner's permit or first College Park Georgia driver license. College Park Georgia has a graduated driver license program for College Park Georgia drivers ages 15-18, and there are a few things to keep in mind to make sure that applying for your College Park Georgia driving license goes as smoothly as possible. The amount of information isn't overwhelming, but there are a few pitfalls you'll want to avoid. That's where this short guide comes in.
College Park Georgia Instructional Permit or College Park Georgia Learner Permit
You can finally apply for a College Park Georgia instructional permit, otherwise known as a College Park Georgia learner's permit, once you turn 15. In order to apply for your College Park Georgia learner's permit, you'll need to make an appointment (walk-in only at any customer service center) and then bring the following:
At the DMV, you'll present all of these materials and then take a few tests. Two of these will test your knowledge of traffic laws and road signs, respectively. The third will be a vision test.
Make sense? If you manage to get through all of this, then congratulations! You just earned your College Park Georgia learner permit, which is valid for 24 months. However, you may only drive with a licensed driver of at least 21 years of age in the front passenger seat. But, after you've had your College Park Georgia learner's permit for one year, you're ready to graduate to a College Park Georgia intermediate license!
Your First College Park Georgia Driver's License
In order to apply for your first College Park Georgia driver's license (class D), you must be 16, and you'll need to make sure you follow a number of state requirements:
- A College Park Georgia learner's license held for one year and one day (surrendered at the time of testing)
- You'll need to schedule the dreaded road test by calling 678-413-8400
- Bring your social security card
- A signed affidavit that you've completed 40 hours of driving experience (which must include at least 6 hours of night driving)
- Proof of a completed College Park Georgia approved driver education course
- Though you'll receive an electronic certificate, bring a paper copy to your road test
- If you took a College Park Georgia approved online driver education course, you'll also need your parent/guardian to complete the Parent Teen Driving Guide
- Don't forget to bring your Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program card
- A license fee of $10
- And finally, a College Park Georgia DDS Certificate of Attendance notarized from your school
At the College Park Georgia DMV, you'll present your College Park Georgia learner's license and the required materials. Make sure your parent or guardian is accompanying you! Then you'll take the following tests:
- Vision test, in which you must have 20/40 vision (with or without glasses)
- The dreaded road test! But if you've gotten plenty of driving practice and studied your College Park Georgia driving manual thoroughly, it should be a piece of cake--right?
Don't forget that the vehicle you use for your College Park Georgia road test must be properly insured, and car registration must be presented. If you survive, then congratulations. You've just earned your first College Park Georgia driver license!
Restrictions and Penalties
As you surely know, driving is a privilege, not a right. There are several restrictions you need to keep in mind regarding your College Park Georgia learner's license or College Park Georgia driver's license.
College Park Georgia Learner's Permit Restrictions:
- You must always be accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 and in the front passenger seat.
College Park Georgia Intermediate License Restrictions:
- For the first 6 months, you can't carry any passengers other than family
- After 6 months has passed, you can carry one non-family passenger under the age of 21
- No driving between 12Am and 6AM unless accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and occupies the front passenger seat
- After 1 year, you can drive with up to 3 non-family passengers under the age of 21
This may sound like a lot, but cheer up: when you turn 18, all of these restrictions are removed and you will receive your Class C College Park Georgia driver's license, provided you haven't had any major traffic violations in the last year. Congratulations!
College Park Georgia Auto Insurance College Park Georgia Financial Responsibility Laws
Traffic accidents are an unhappy fact of life for young and experienced drivers alike. Thus, any vehicle registered in College Park Georgia must be covered by liability insurance. If you are found to be driving without College Park Georgia mandatory liability insurance, you could be fined. If you are involved in an accident and cannot provide proof of insurance, your College Park Georgia learner's permit or College Park Georgia intermediate license will be suspended.
College Park Georgia Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
An intoxicated or distracted driver is a dangerous one. As a new College Park Georgia driver, it's crucial that you learn the College Park Georgia drunk driving, cell phone, and text messaging laws.
Upon your first conviction of a College Park Georgia DUI (with a blood alcohol level of 0.08 or greater), you will face the following penalties:
- Jail sentence from 10 days to 1 year
- $500 to $1000 fine
- Your College Park Georgia license will be suspended up to 1 year
- 100 hour of community service
- A license reinstatement fee of $210
And of course, further College Park Georgia DUI convictions will result in increased jail time, community service, fines, and College Park Georgia license suspension or even College Park Georgia license revocation.You've probably heard this your entire life, but it still applies: DON'T DRIVE DRUNK!
Currently, there is no law banning cell phone use in College Park Georgia.That doesn't mean, however, that it's a good idea to constantly use your cell phone while driving. Exercise proper judgment!
College Park Georgia Online Driver Education
If you are 16-18 and would like to opt out of the road test, you may do so upon completion of a College Park Georgia approved driver education course. The College Park Georgia DMV has a comprehensive list of the many College Park Georgia approved driver education courses.