Canton Ohio Online Driver Education and Canton Ohio Licensing Procedures
We're very happy that you're starting the process of applying for your Canton Ohio learner's permit or first Canton Ohio driver license! Canton Ohio has a graduated driver license program for Canton Ohio drivers ages 15-18, and there are a few things we would like you to know to make sure that applying for your Canton Ohio driving license is as trouble-free an experience as possible. So let's jump right in.
Canton Ohio Learner's Permit
When you turn 15 and a half, you can apply for an Canton Ohio Temporary Instruction Permit, otherwise known as an Canton Ohio Learner’s Permit. With this license, the following restrictions apply:
- For the first 6 months you must practice driving with your parent, guardian, or driving instructor
- After 6 months, you can also practice with a licensed driver who is at least 21
- All passengers must wear seatbelts
- Be sure to carry your Canton Ohio Temporary Permit with you at all times!
When you're ready to apply, you’ll need to bring proof of age and identity; your social security number; and a parent/guardian to sign the permit application.
If you’ve got all of the necessary materials, head on down to your local Canton Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) with your parent or guardian and submit your application. Then, you’ll have to take a vision test, as well as a knowledge test. (Relax, you can practice with a sample Canton Ohio knowledge test.) If you pass, then congratulations--you’ve just earned your Canton Ohio Temporary Permit!
Once you’ve held your Canton Ohio Temporary Permit for 6 months and have met a few more requirements, you’ll be ready for the next step in the Canton Ohio Graduated License Program, the Canton Ohio Driver License.
The Canton Ohio Provisional Driver License or Canton Ohio Full Driver License
You can apply for your Canton Ohio Probationary Driver License once you’ve held your Canton Ohio Temporary Instruction Permit for 6 months and have met the following requirements:
- Complete 8 hours of driving instruction
- Complete 24 hours of class instruction in an approved Canton Ohio driver education course
- Practice driving for 50 hours total - 10 of these hours must be at night
- Your parent/guardian will have to certify your documented practice hours
As soon as you satisfy these requirements, head on down to your local Canton Ohio BMV. You’ll have to overcome one final obstacle: the dreaded Canton Ohio road skills test! If you pass, then reward yourself for making it to this point. You’ve just earned your Canton Ohio Probationary Driver License!
Canton Ohio Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
You still have just a little father to go to earn your full Canton Ohio driver's license. Until then, there are a few restrictions for your Canton Ohio Probationary Driver License, depending on your age:
- Canton Ohio teen drivers under 17 can’t carry more than 1 passenger that is not family (unless accompanied by a parent/guardian of course)
- All passengers between the ages of 4 and 15 must be properly restrained
- If you’re 16, you may not drive between the hours of 12AM and 6AM
- If you’re 17, you may not drive between the hours of 1AM and 5AM
- The exception for the driving curfew is in case of: (1) an emergency, (2) driving to/from a school sanctioned activity, and (3) driving to/from your place of employment (must have written documentation from your employer)
On the bright side, once you turn 18, these restrictions are removed. Freedom!
Canton Ohio Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
As an Canton Ohio teen driver, there's no bigger threat you'll face than drunk drivers. It’s important for you to learn the Canton Ohio drunk driving laws (and obey them religiously). Like most states, Canton Ohio has a Zero Tolerance Law for underage drinking, and if you are convicted of an Canton Ohio DUI or Canton Ohio DWI, you face additional penalties to those listed below.
Upon your first conviction of an Canton Ohio DUI, you’ll face the following penalties:
- License suspension from 6 months to 3 years
- Or Driver Intervention Program (3 days)
- Canton Ohio License reinstatement fee $450
- Jail 3 days to 6 months
- Fine from $250 to $1,000
And of course, further Canton Ohio DWI and DUI convictions will result in more severe penalties, up and including jail time, Canton Ohio license suspension or even Canton Ohio license revocation. As you can see, it's something we take very seriously - don't do it!
Canton Ohio Auto Insurance Financial Responsibility Laws
Once you finally get your coveted Canton Ohio Learner’s Permit or Canton Ohio Provisional driver’s license, you’re ready to drive--or so you may think. Because accidents happen to even experienced drivers, Canton Ohio drivers are required by law to be covered by liability insurance. The minimum liability insurance coverage is:
- $12,500 bodily injury for one person
- $7,500 for property damage per accident
- $25,000 bodily injury two or more people
It's no joke. If you are in an accident and found to be driving without Canton Ohio mandatory liability insurance, your Canton Ohio license could be suspended for 90 days to 2 years, and you may face Canton Ohio license plate reinstatement fees, as well as other penalties.
Canton Ohio Cell Phone Laws
We acknowledge how important it is for young people to stay in touch with friends, but studies show that cell phone use, especially text messaging, contributes to accidents. Currently, it is illegal for Canton Ohio teen drivers to use cell phones while driving only in Brooklyn, North Olmstead, and Walton Hills. But that doesn't mean you shouldn't be careful elsewhere as well!
Canton Ohio Online Driver Education
Canton Ohio teen drivers are required to take an Canton Ohio approved driver education course. You can find more information on approved Canton Ohio online driver education courses at the Canton Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles search page.