Procedures For Bridgeport Connecticut Driver Licensing and Online Driver Education
The State of Bridgeport Connecticut is delighted that you have chosen to start the process of applying for your Bridgeport Connecticut learner's permit or first Bridgeport Connecticut driver license. Bridgeport Connecticut has a graduated driver license program that is especially designed for younger Bridgeport Connecticut drivers (16-18 years of age), and there are a few things to keep in mind to make sure that you don't run into any problems while striving for your Bridgeport Connecticut driver's license. So what are we waiting for?
Bridgeport Connecticut Instructional Permit or Bridgeport Connecticut Learner Permit
When you turn 16, you can finally apply for a Bridgeport Connecticut instructional permit, otherwise known as a Bridgeport Connecticut learner permit. You'll need to gather these documents in order to apply for your Bridgeport Connecticut learner's permit:
After you have had your Bridgeport Connecticut learner permit for 6 months (or 4 months if you've taken a Bridgeport Connecticut approved driver education course), you'll have the green light to apply for the Bridgeport Connecticut license exam.
Your First Bridgeport Connecticut Driver's License
In order to apply for your first Bridgeport Connecticut provisional driver license, you'll need to do the following:
- Complete 40 hours of on-road practice as well as a driver education course (see last paragraph, "Bridgeport Connecticut Online Driver Education")
- Bring a birth certificate
- Provide a piece of mail or identification to verify your address
- Bring one other form of proper identification
- Provide proof of car insurance
- Complete a two hour teen driving course with your parent or guardian
- Bring the license fee of $66 to $77, depending on how many years the license is valid for
- Bring your learner's permit (to be surrendered)
- Provide a valid passport-sized photo
Then, if you can survive the following tests:
- Vision test, in which you must have 20/40 vision (with or without glasses)
- Written test, in which you must score at least an 80%
- The dreaded road test!
Congratulations, you've just earned your first Bridgeport Connecticut driver license!
Restrictions and Penalties Bridgeport Connecticut Teen Driver License
Unfortunately, as a newer driver, not every kind of driving will be open to you just yet. There are several restrictions you need to keep in mind regarding your Bridgeport Connecticut learner's license or Bridgeport Connecticut driver's license.
Bridgeport Connecticut Permit Restrictions: With a Bridgeport Connecticut learner's permit, you cannot drive unless accompanied by:
- a parent or guardian (who must have a driver's license)
- a licensed instructor
- someone 20 or older with a valid license for at least four years (holding no suspensions).
Bridgeport Connecticut Provisional License Restrictions:
- first six months: you must drive with parents/guardians or licensed driver over 20
- second six months: you may drive with members of your immediate family
- you may not drive a bus or any vehicle that requires a public passenger permit
- you may not drive between midnight and 5AM unless going to an approved school or church activity, or for emergencies
- you may not drive while talking on a cell phone (no exception for hands-free)
If you have your Bridgeport Connecticut provisional license and you're 16 or older you cannot drive a vehicle between 1:00AM and 5AM unless the following conditions are met:
- You're accompanied by a parent, legal guardian, or person over 21 who has at least 1 year of driving experience
- You are driving because of an emergency
- You are an emancipated minor
- You're going to or from your workplace, a school sponsored or religious event
The whole point of driver education is to give you the tools to acquire good driving habits. If you abuse the privilege of driving, you may not have your license for very long! Each time your license is suspended, there is a restoration fee of $125. Your Bridgeport Connecticut driver license may be suspended under the following circumstances:
- you use your cell phone while driving (texting or talking) - 30 day suspension
- you speed - 60 day suspension
- you drive recklessly - 6 month suspension
- you street race - 6 month suspension
Bridgeport Connecticut Auto Insurance Bridgeport Connecticut Financial Responsibility Laws
So you finally have your Bridgeport Connecticut drivers license. Think you're ready for the road? Hold your horses, your vehicle must be covered by liability insurance. If you ever get caught driving without proof of Bridgeport Connecticut mandatory liability insurance, you could be fined. Worse, if you are involved in an accident and cannot provide proof of insurance, your Bridgeport Connecticut learner's permit or Bridgeport Connecticut provisional license will be suspended.
The minimum required coverage is $20,000 for personal injury and $40,000 for total injury, and $10,000 for property damage.
Bridgeport Connecticut Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
As a new Bridgeport Connecticut driver, nothing is more important than for you to understand the Bridgeport Connecticut drunk driving, cell phone, and text messaging laws. In Bridgeport Connecticut, the standard of DUI is lower for teens, and you only need to have a BAC of 0.02 (instead of 0.08) to be convicted. Upon your first conviction of a Bridgeport Connecticut DUI, you face the following penalties:
- your Bridgeport Connecticut license will be suspended for 3 months
- a $500 to $1000 fine
- 100 hours of community service
- mandatory alcohol education programs that adults face for DUI convictions
And of course, further Bridgeport Connecticut DUI convictions will result in increased jail time, community service, fines, and Bridgeport Connecticut license suspension or even Bridgeport Connecticut license revocation.
A distracted driver is a dangerous driver. Thus, Bridgeport Connecticut bans teen drivers from using a cell phone or text messaging while driving. As tempting as it may be to call or text friends and family, driving while using a cell phone carries a 30 day license suspension and a $125 license restoration fee plus court fines. A second conviction carries a 6 month suspension.
Bridgeport Connecticut Online Driver Education
Anyone younger than 18 must provide proof of completion for a Bridgeport Connecticut approved driver's education course including at least 40 hours of behind the wheel training and 22 hours of home-based classroom training. If you take a Bridgeport Connecticut approved driver's education course, you will be able to take your license road test 2 months earlier. The Bridgeport Connecticut DMV maintains a list of the many Bridgeport Connecticut approved driver education courses .